Nanook , Reporting in

Good tools are important to me. I take care of mine and keep them a long time and in that way I justify having top notch ones. I had a small pair of Gingher sewing scissors in a leather case for 20-some years and at some point, before I completely understood the new rules, TSA took them away from me at airport security. Made me so very very cranky. I loved those small shears. Just recently I decided I deserved a new pair. I love them for knitting and embroidery and, right now, for the little kiragami Christmas trees I’m making, so I was excited when the national news reported last week that TSA had lightened up and I could carry them again.

Things did not get off to a good start this morning when I arrived at the airport  for an early flight (after 8 inches of overnight snow) and the TSA agent said, “Oh, that doesn’t go into effect until the 22nd.” What the??? I begged and whined and sniffled and then , when I realized those scissors were not departing with me (Merry Christmas, Mrs. TSA!) I got as testy as I dared, muttering something about what difference did two weeks make if I decided to charge the cockpit for want of peanuts? I saw his eyebrow go up and as he glanced over his shoulder in the direction of the supervisor I threw in the towel on that battle.

(These little shake downs always strike me as ironic ever since Abby unwittingly left her shark knife sheathed in the back of her dive computer, instead of removing it and putting it in her checked luggage. She carried it through in her backpack, no problems. 8 inch double edged serrated shark knife. But she did have to take off her flip flops.)

So, I’m in the air, seated next to a nice pilot, deadheading to Minneapolis. During takeoff he was surreptitiously trying to catch the attention of the flight attendant- I thought maybe to flirt- but when she came by after takeoff and asked him what he needed he said he was just going to point out that the wing was loaded down with snow and maybe the pilot who is flying this thing hadn’t noticed. I wonder if it’s still there?

In Minneapolis I yell Hi, Keri! I got those gorgeous Relay for Life Truffles and the check is in the mail! (the rest of you would be well-advised to order quick before she runs out) and then I sprint a good 1.3 miles to the gate that has that tiny SAAB parked and waiting. I guess because the Bud and Jan Show is at the ends of the earth it makes sense to put the gate as far away as possible, too

Okay. EGG DUMP.
You actually know this one, but probably have some hi-falutin’ name for it. This is our version, using Detroit’s finest, Wonder Bread. Remember- it builds strong bodies 12 or 13 ways, I forget which.

1 9 x 13 x 3 casserole.
I big loaf of Wonder Bread
1 dozen eggs
1cup of milk
1 stick of butter (that’s spelled b-u-t-t-e-r, not margarine)
1/4 tsp. Nutmeg
1/4 tsp. Dry mustard
1/2 tsp. Salt
Crumbled bacon if you want it (who doesn’t? I cook and crumble 1 pound, since I can remember all “ones”

Melt the butter in the pan. Cut up the Wonder Bread in cubes and throw it into the butter and toss. Some people cut off the crusts but that’s where the vitamins are and this is a dump.

Beat all the other ingredients together with a whisk and pour it on top.
Cover, refrigerate overnight (essential part), and bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until it’s all poufed up, golden brown- and a knife comes out clean. Sticking a knife in it deflates it so it’s better to make a good guess.

If you want to change this from a dump to a recipe, cut off the crusts and throw in a little well drained chopped spinach and a handful of finely shredded Gruyere cheese.

We always have this and fresh grapefruit for Christmas morning breakfast. We could have Eggs Benedict because I’m really good at that but it’s just tradition to have this instead. So we have Eggs Benedict on New Years Day.
______________________________________
Poop Cookies

These you also know. They are chocolate cookie press cookies. The Snarl just observed a resemblance in the making when she was two and ever after asked for “those poop cookies” I have my grandmother’s old cookie press and I use that end that looks like this: ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^     I also use her original recipe and it goes like this:

2 squares melted Baker’s Chocolate. (Hopefully, by now, you have realized that no matter how good it smells, no matter how good it looks-it tastes bad. It took me- oh, about 23 trials as a child to learn this lesson. I just couldn’t believe my mother would have such a cruel trick in the cupboard. I should have known; if it tasted good, Bruce would have eaten it. I digress.)
1 cup butter (1/2#)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 TBL milk
1 beaten egg
2 cups flour
1 tsp. vanilla

Mix in order given. Put through cookie press. Add sprinkles or colored sugar as you like. Bake on greased cookie sheet at 375 for 10 minutes. These come out thin and crispy- like chocolate wafer cookies-so watch closely that they don’t burn.
___________________________________________________________
Nanook Experiences a DELAY

So now I am on board a SAAB F-340 which is winging it’s way towards the Keweenaw Peninsula where Bud is anxiously waiting, worried that the plane has crashed because it’s late. Wait until he finds out why it was late.Bud

Personally, I think aircraft ought to be allowed to take off in order of which one gets hottest inside on the runway. That would be the SAAB F-340. Talk about your hot flashes. But no, today we’re all set to take off and we have a to sit. And wait. And sit. And wait. And the pilot announces that all traffic is “temporarily suspended.” What? What does that mean? And I notice that now there are no baggage carts or little meal trucks running around out there either (not that they serve meals anymore. Make those Red Snack Box For Five Dollars trucks. None of those.)

Apparently, SOMEONE decided to go pick up some Christmas Gifts at Mall of America. I took the picture out of the plane window and I had to climb into the lap of some cute Air Force young man so it’s not very good. But you get the idea. This Airborne kid (he is, he’s a kid) is coming home for good from Iraq. I bet his folks are waiting more anxiously than even Bud.

(Okay- I’ve arrived. There are between 4 and 5 feet of snow piled around the house. Contrary to rumors, there is no WiFi at Lost Loon Lodge- this connection is p-a-i-n-f-u-l-l-y slow. Rich is stranded in Minneapolis. As Bud’s new friend says: So it goes.)Airforceone

Leave a Reply

