A short but curious post

I’m shy on words today, not because they aren’t streaming across the drive-in movie screen of my brain (complete with merry-go-round down in front where you can ride in just your jammies before the main event- ya, that’s all in there) but because I did something vicious to my right rotator cuff. This is not the first time and apparently there’s so much clutter in my head it’s messing up new learning, which in this case would be: Say! There’s that twinge and pull again! Now might be a good time to stop knitting, typing and pulling weeds for a day!"  Nah- I go until there are shooting pains into my fingers and my head is torqued over like Lon Chaney’s. Marci from BCMA is going to work on it tomorrow morning but until then- yeeeoooww!

So the brief word for today is about taxes and auctions. Although Bill  can’t get baby powder or dust masks to ease his tour in Iraq, it’s a relief to know that the U.S. Department of Treasury is hard at work rounding up goods for their Seized and Forfeited Goods  auctions where you might find that one item you really need at bargain prices.

Yes, they have beautiful sports cars, light aircraft, boats and villas formerly owned by inept drug dealers. But if you’re looking for something more affordable, they have a great selection. I’m curious about why they would be selling some of the items they do but it may be that they have a higher understanding of entropy than I do:

-GUN PARTS, ASST., 27 CTNS, 1374 PCS
-GAMBLING MACHINES, OPERATION UNKNOWN, APPROX 3 UNITS, 3 CRTS
-SNEAK-A-PILL DEVICES, TUBES/CAPS/BOXES/CAPSULE MIXER/249 CTNS

For Hoss  they have:
-WORK SUSPENDERS, HEAVY DUTY, ELASTIC, MCGUIRE-NICHOLAS, WORK WEAR, RED/WHITE/BLUE, 48 CTNS, 1400 PCS.

For the next Genuine Bash  there’s this:
-RUM SAMPLES, 75.5% ALC VOL, 151 PROOF, APPROX 6 BOTTLES (EXPORT ONLY), 1 CTN
*    WINE PRODUCTS, ASSTD, C/O SOUTH AFRICA, APPROX 270 BTLS (EXPORT ONLY), 1 CRT
*    WINE, CASTILLO DE MOLINA, 2002, 13.5% ALC VOL, 750ML, C/O CHILE, NO SURGEON GENERAL   WARNING LABELS, APPROX 200 PCS (EXPORT ONLY), 19 CTNS
*    WINE, RED, CUREE DE L’OISILLON BEAUJOLAIS-VILLAGES, 2004, 12.5% ALC VOL, 750ML, C/O FRANCE, NO SURGEON GENERAL WARNING LABELS (EXPORT ONLY), 10 CTNS
*    WINE, WHITE, ASSTD BRANDS/PROOFS/VOLUMES/FLUID CONTENT, C/O GERMANY, NOT ALL BOTTLES HAVE SURGEON GENERAL WARNING LABELS (EXPORT ONLY), 1 CTN
*    WINES/LIQUOR/BEER, C/O GERMANY, NO SURGEON GENERAL WARNING LABELS, APPROX 7 CTNS W/12 BTLS PER CTN (EXPORT ONLY), 1 PLT

Bonnie  might be able to use these:
-PLANTAIN CHIPS, SAMPLE @ EG&G/MIAMI, STORED @ CHALLENGE WAREHOUSE, FT. LAUDERDALE, FL, 596 CTNS

And, of course, tacky is never out of season:
-CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS, C/O CHINA, POINSETTIA BUSHES/CRYSTAL BERRY SPRAYED/GOLD,1,900 PCS, 55 CTNS

Anyway, there’s a little something for everyone at the U.S. Treasury Auctions. In fact, about the only thing I didn’t find this month was what I was looking for: 200 cases of baby powder and 4,000 cotton face masks. Please do me a favor and don’t breathe a word of this to FG. Anyone who loves Sam’s Club the way he does could do some serious damage at one of these affairs.

I’m reading away but not posting so many comments until my shoulder is less cranky. I’ll make it up to you, promise. I did put up a little guest post at Meeta’s  in her absence. Oh- and tomorrow I take T.D. to balmy Florida for 24 hours so she can get "oriented" at college. Yippee! Two more plane rides, another rental car, and a couple more rolls of the dice for a TSA frisk.

6 responses to “A short but curious post

  1. Ahhh I hope your shoulder feels better soon!

    I think I’ll have to fight with Genuine Bash for some of that all-key-hall… Yumyum beer from Germany – better ye, with no Surgeon General warning lables to make you feel guilty! Bonus! Share people, we must share!

  2. Ow. Stop typing. Be sensible. Have fun at the college orientation.

  3. Vicki, no time to read right now; but funny you should mention the dress. I had several very similar to this when I was in high school and college, and “chemise” dresses werein fashion yet again. I loved them – and I think everything should be made of linen!

  4. Sold! Enough suspenders there to outfit all the middle schools in Salem, Or., with some left over for my neighbor down the hall.

    Sorry about your cuff, Vicki. This not a nice day for bloggers: Jamie Dawn got throat probs. again.

  5. Yikes. Hope you manage to rest that rotator cuff. Feel better!

  6. Why would anyone forfeit plantain chips??

Leave a Reply

