Genghis Khan Has Just Left the Building…

I’m having a swell time in Miami, although it’s taking a little effort to enjoy the deco architecture while sidestepping the conspicuous consumerism. Ack, ack, ack. Never saw so many stores selling 500.00 sunglasses and skimpy bathing suits. The bathing suits are a reminder of way back when and my current age which necessitates a solid state Speedo tank but it doesn’t hurt quite so much today when the high temp was 59 f. Everyone was bundled up in wads of towels around the pool; still, when the sun was out it was that nice kind of chilly warmth. I read a lot, napped some, hunted down some good Chinese food for lunch…I’ll have a lengthy update with photos soon. Right now I’m still suffering intermittent connection failures so I’m going to make this short.

This cold weather is just perfect for making, altogether now, FELT. On Saturday, at the Morean Art Center in downtown St. Petersburg, I’ll be leading a family art day as we make a real Mongolian Felt Yurt. We’ve ordered in a giant load of raw wool and trusty Russ, one of the great crew working at the Morean, has constructed a rockin’ yurt frame. I have giant mats and I mixed up a gallon of olive oil soap gel before coming to Miami. I have my industrial sprayer ready and a big bag of brightly colored wool odds and ends for design and embellishment. This, my friends, is going to be fun.

What’s that? A yurt? You don’t know what that is? Ah, well, watch THIS and then if you’re anywhere near, come by between 1 and 4 pm on Saturday to help us build a felt yurt!(alright. so it won’t be THIS big but it will be big enough and you can stomp and roll all the wool you want.)

7 responses to “Genghis Khan Has Just Left the Building…

  1. Where is the place? I’m having lunch over in St. Pete on Saturday. I’d like to see what all this felting craze is about…and see you to say hello, of course.

  2. I wish I could be there to help with the yurt!

  3. I read “I have giant mats” as “I have giant nuts” (hey, it’s early here).

  4. I’m glad you added the caption. My first reaction was “that doesn’t look like any part of florida that I know!” FC, call your office.

  5. At least get some good Cuban coffee while you are down there.

    I know Wren, at first I thought they had cleared the Ocala National Forest.

  6. Riding’s been cancelled,
    There’ll be wind and sleet.
    We’re fair weather horseman,
    To stay home in the heat.

    I got all excited,
    Now I can felt!
    Alas, I won’t be there.
    ‘Tis the hand I’ve been dealt.

    My nose is all stuffy,
    My throat very hurt.
    I’m so disappointed.
    I can’t help with the yurt!

    I’ll stay home in my jammies,
    But, you can bet I will pout.
    I’m so very sorry.
    I can’t help you out.

    Pooh and double pooh!

  7. My heart’s only desire is a backyard yurt for yoga and meditation and cello practice, which is one reason why I have always FELT that you are my kindred spirit, friend.
    xo

Leave a Reply

