Heading south

I know. You thought I was already south but it’s awfully darn nippy around here. There’s another blanket on the bed and Sophie is literally cramping my style by tucking up tight against the back curl of my knees as I position myself for sleep and then she spends the rest of the night sending me those intense telepathic messages: “Do not move. Do not move. Do not move.” They work, too and then when I wake up it takes me 10 minutes to unfold.

So Rich has business in Miami and believe it or not, I’ve never been. It will have him on South Beach at a very fancy hotel and when he said, “Can you get away for a couple days? Other than one nice dinner you’ll be mostly on your own…” I thought, “This is the mini-vacation designed for me.” It’s been hectic gearing up for felting classes and workshops and getting ready to spread my wings on a new juried exhibition in February. I intend to be the ‘mixed media artist extreme” for that show, stepping outside my usual boundaries of  nice and useful felted artwork. Look out.

Miami is only looking at highs of 70 and lows of 45 for the next few days but it’s warmer than here where all the outdoor plants are looking limp and hanging on for dear life. Funny how your tolerance for extremes narrows as you narrow your exposure to life’s extremes. There’s a message in there.

You’ll find me by the pool in a hooded sweatshirt or walking along the ocean these next couple days. The internet connection has got to be better than what’s been going on here at home with BRIGHT HOUSE. (BH, you thought I was kidding when I said I was going to launch a public campaign against your weak signal and crummy service. This is only the beginning…Big Love should not be cutting out on me every 8 minutes. I don’t deserve that. Next step? Take one months service bill and spend it on a newspaper ad instead. And you know, around here, people still avidly read the St. Petersburg Times.) I’m going to read, knit, plan extreme felt and get caught up on correspondence. That means here in the blog ‘hood, too.

Abby and Misha arrived home at 3 am after numerous airport delays. They still swear by Singapore Air and say it’s real luxurious flying. They unpacked all their souvenirs for friends and family (I got premium vodka and a Matryoshka kitty doll- she repeatedly holds birds and cooking utensils. Both fitting gifts.), did their laundry and and promptly got sick, possibly H1N1. True to form, Abby also immediately got a full time job offer working for the government and she starts today, sick or no, over my objections. She’s looking forward to a semester of work while she waits to hear on grad school application).

Even Shadow and Thinman were cold yesterday when I went down to feed. So, now that I’ve blathered on, here are Wordless Wednesday photos. I’ll check in tomorrow with ocean pix- taking the camera.(Thinman looks so proud and dignified. I call him Whineman because he spends the entire time I’m feeding Shadow, whining for his supper.)(Think they look alike? To me, they are as different as two children. I took this moments after Shadow got her beak trimmed with the dremel tool. We catch her up in a towel with a hole for her beak, put her on her back and file away. It was getting too long so meal time was an ordeal. It was also disconcerting, carrying on a conversation with a raptor with a chick head impaled on her beak sitting on the glove 12 inches from my face. The trimming made a dramatic difference; dinner time after was a piece of cake. Well, actually, it was a piece of beef heart but it went down much easier.)(Here you can see the differences in this beautiful pair. She is the larger-true for raptor females- and redder morph; he is lean and sharp-eyed. They are waiting for dinner in their standard places: She’s on top, hops to the glove from this branch and eats first (or else Thinny will snag her dinner) and he sits there and starts to whine. Her bad eye is the left one so you can’t see it here but when she’s on the glove and stares at me I empathize with the vision issue. Avatar in 3D would be wasted on her, too.)

Stay warm. And, Bonnie? All 12 points, amen! and Om Shanthi. Shanthi. Shanthi, too. A blessed Epiphany to you!

8 responses to “Heading south

  1. Those birds are truly magnificent! I would love to see them in person someday.

    I haven’t been in Miami for about 15 years, but you should love South Beach’s art deco hotels, etc. and the color of the water is gorgeous most of the time. Enjoy!!

    Sorry about the flu for the kids, but how about that girl getting a job so quickly!

  2. A short vacation in a luxury hotel on the beach sounds perfect. I could use one of those myself.

    Very impressive that Abby got a job right away. In this market that’s pretty amazing. Bummer about that flu though. I hope they both recover quickly.

    You sure do hang out with some magnificent birds, Vicki. Those close ups are gorgeous.

    Bon Voyage!

  3. I’m smiling as I read this post since last year, or the year before, you were making fun of the true Floridians who were bundled up for the cold when you thought it was a mere cool breeze coming through.

    Have fun in Miami. That would be the vacation for me…on my own. The birds are magnificent, true beauties.

  4. As I’ve said before, you’re a regular Anne Morrow Lindberg. “Patience, patience, patience, is what the sea teaches. Patience and faith. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach waiting for a gift from the sea.” ~ Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift from the Sea, 1956

    The bean is hidden in the cake and the Magi have been placed in the creche. Blessed Epiphany to you too, dear Vicki! Perhaps you’ll have an epiphany on the beach?

    xo

  5. Hope it’s not the flu!
    Have fun at the beach. Please share your impressions.

  6. I’ve only been to Miami Beach, not the city.

    I didn’t like it.

    I was there in August.

    The last two sentences may be related.

  7. Congats to Abby! Do they know that she will only be here a short while as she is a shoe in for Duke? Enjoy the southeast part of the state. It is very different from the Gulf Coast as you will soon find out! FYI, Verizon’s promise by Friday of DSL restoration was worst case scenario I think. Surprise when I came home, a dial tone and internet!

  8. Wow, Vicki! Sounds like you are in for a real treat! I hope you have a wonderful time.

    Congrats to Abby on her new job! Hope she feels better. Chick got sick New Year’s Eve and is still sick. Probably another week to go before he is really over it.

    The Rafters are gorgeous birds! Incidently, Chick and I saw two red tailed hawks sitting side by side on a limb yesterday. It was something we never saw before. Usually they are alone.

    Enjoy your time in Miami. Let us know how it goes.

    Expectantly waiting,
    Judy

Leave a Reply

