In the place where we will live

The mountains are beautiful.newhome

The pumpkins are ready.pumpkins Jimmy the calf lives right down the road, along with wrestling young pigs.

jimmy

I might get a chicken tractor.

vickichick

I got a lot accomplished in short order in Asheville, meeting with the draftsman, the contractor, the kitchen guy. Apparently I didn’t win the Wolf/SubZero Dream Kitchen Sweepstakes this year so I’m taming my hopes and expectations a bit but it is still very exciting. The best part? I hadn’t been back there in almost a year and I was worried that, in my imagination, I had transformed the place into more than it is in that time. I hadn’t. It is more than I imagined. The couple renting the house- a musician and a woman not altogether unlike myself- have made a beautiful temporary home for themselves there this year and are caring for the house in the best of fashion. It’s the same spectacular vista. And the garden is just waiting.

Okay. I have to go back to felting. I met the deadline for turning in my inventory list last week; now I need to finish the inventory. Happy Monday!

11 responses to “In the place where we will live

  1. What beautiful scenery you will have there. I would be champing at the bit to get in there!!

    Two cute chicks in the photo!

  2. How exciting! I’d love to have chickens. I am not sure if Ruby is up to the task of fending off raccoons but I know she’d love to try! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you had a successful and inspirational trip!

  3. Oh this is so exciting. Will we get more pics along the journey.
    I want a chick too. Hen or rooster?

  4. What a beautiful place to plan a future around. Yes to chickens!

  5. Gorgeous. I love the photo of you holding the chick. You need a small coop not just a tractor. Trust me on this one. I could even hatch you some stock or you can hatch your own from my eggs? Maybe one day we can visit each others ‘farms’.

  6. That is gonna be great!
    If I can find my chicken tractor book I will send it to you!

  7. You KNOW I’d be thrilled for you to have chickens. I’d have to come down there to photograph them on every step of the way! Woohoo! ๐Ÿ˜‰ So exciting. Glad to hear it is everything and more than you remember.

  8. Aw, it’s beautiful. And you are wearing a jacket. Sigh. It was 95 degrees here today.

  9. Excuse me, I just got back from Google. And now I know what a chicken tractor is.

  10. I’m so glad you will be coming to the NC mountains. There’s just no better place to live. Of course, you will have to endure the bible-thumping conservatives, but they have good hearts and are a friendly lot.

  11. The Asheville City Chickens blog: http://www.ashevillecitychickens.com/.
    For your new home perusal!

Leave a Reply

