Fuzzy thinking, wine and cheese

Last night I had one of those dreams that goes on and on, in great detail, and manages to encompass just about every worrisome aspect of your life, past, present and future. I’ll spare you all the details except this one: At some point I was visiting my parents to try and help them get their aging, out-of-control house in shape only to discover that Bud had hired a work crew that consisted of two college age social work students and 275 seven year old children from a home for delinquents. When I asked him why he said that the sheriff’s fund had called asking for a donation and that was what he had agreed to do.

All that by way of saying life is happily out of control around here. I spent the last year worrying that if I really decided to try and market my felted works I’d be rejected at every turn. Last week I went bravely out into the world, feeling quite sick to my stomach, and approached the best gallery and then the nicest knitting store in St. Petersburg and came home with orders for over a 125 items for holiday sales- all due by October 31. What’s that odd thing people type online for great bursts of laughter? MWAHAHAHA!

And so, the house is hopelessly awash in wool, fuzzies on and under everything and we’re all choking on hairballs.

needle holder1(Ya, they’re really nice, all hand dyed merino top, silk bombyx and lovely batik fabric linings. Seamless.)needleholder2(every knitter needs a set, don’t you think?)ornament2(the sparkle in these doesn’t photograph all that well, but they DO sparkle)

And so now the question is, what to charge? I tend to ask too little, always thinking it somehow “isn’t nice” to ask very much. The problem of course is materials, time, commission, etc. means that for a mere 483.00 per item I could earn 10.00/hr. Kidding. But you get the idea. If I price the ornaments in the 20-25.00 range which seems about right for the gallery setting it’s a certainty that I remain Rich’s chattel for a few more years. And that means, every time I ask him if he would do the litter box he still has that snappy comeback: “Sure, if you want to run these 40 pages of statistical analysis for me…” But, IT’S ALL GOOD.

Thanks for all your support around the Lincoln Park Zoo docent issue. I rarely get all up and political here but that one leaves me steaming. Really steaming. So, thanks.

On Friday I whipped out the vacuum and we took a break to have some friends over for a wine and cheese party. That was more entertaining fun than I can remember. A fine, funny and uniquely different lot, everyone got along famously. We have been getting some foods from Rosas Farm near Ocala- all organic, local, artisanal- and we’ve been very pleased. We ordered ground beef- about 5 pounds will last the month in spaghetti and burgers- and it was incredibly juicy, tender, flavorful and had very little fat content. And of course, it all came from one cow, as opposed to a thousand standing in a pen full of manure.

The cheeses were a real hit. We had six total and paired each one with exactly the right wine, champagne or Oktoberfest beer. I printed out the description and origin of each and put it next to the tray. I added a big tossed salad of microgreens, grapes, some fresh ciabatta bread, crackers (not Ritz), two sorbets and some organic dark chocolate. It was a lovely table, really simple and elegant. And fortunately, I forgot to put out the chocolate. Oops.

cheese

I am really sorry to hit and run like this but I have to make 4 felt penguins by the end of the day…I agree with Mary’s note on Facebook this morning: I expect you all to keep entertaining me with your news and photos.

12 responses to “Fuzzy thinking, wine and cheese

  1. I am so jealous for everything in those photos!!! I love your work, Vicki!

  2. Beautiful. But you have to either open an Etsy store or tell us where we can shop for your stuff online … I have a friend that knits and this would be a great idea for her.

  3. I love your work, too. I predict that by this time next year, it will be a full-fledged industry and you’ll be hiring helpers!!

  4. Very creative, vicki, and totally cute. I want to see the penguins when you’re done.

  5. Wow! Feltmoguldom here you come!!

    My Bro is having his first Mohs this Friday. I’m steering him towards your series!

  6. Yep. If you’re going to spend the money on those wonderful Lantern Moon knitting needles, the felted pockets are quite appropriate. I love them.

  7. Make sure you charge no just what the materials cost, but your time as well. Love your work. Everyone who has seen my pumpkin wants a bowl for Christmas. They have been so bold as to give me their color choices! Akk! I am sorry I haven’t gotten you your sunglasses yet. This week spun out of control. Will call you about them soon.

  8. Yes, every knitter deserves one.
    Market them on Etsy and you’ll have even more work.

  9. And now we will never find you beneath the wool and felting!!!!!
    Are you going to start a business and … you know… employ people too?

  10. Open for business?? I would like to place an order for a fuzzy wol please. Really, you do need an Etsy. I agree with Wren.

    PS..the wols have been very busy acting grown up in the back yard. I’ve got to stop being so lazy and post some video!

  11. So pretty! So many to make!

    And “happily out of control” sounds lovely.

    And that’s all I got. My brain is all full of school stuff and elderly parent stuff and it seems I have no room for anything else.

  12. Gorgeous. Simply gorgeous. Let me know when the store is open.

Leave a Reply

