Simply perfect

dragonfly

(A pure Florida photo, taken by moi.)

Just when I was beginning to think this state is truly the armpit of the nation, you know, what with the heat and humidity, I saw a slice of Florida today that was absolutely stunning.  And I had as close to a perfect day as possible, with just a little background hum of anxiety about my NOSE. Cathy came by early and the first wonderful thing was that she brought several meals to carry us over the next few days. Really fine comfort food. How nice was that? Then we headed north, towards Crystal River. And just when I was starting to think that once I got off my street it was nothing but a blazing flat trail to the world’s largest flea market, complete with many many fleas, I find out they’ve been hiding bubbling, spring-fed fresh water swimming holes. Did you know that there are actually a few gently rolling hills here in Florida? And waterfalls? Amazing. I probably should have put more faith in that cracker over at PF headquarters but a lot of the time I’m trying to figure out what state he’s living in.

We met up with FC at Cracker’s restaurant in Crystal River and had a delightful time. We ate fresh fish, bragged on our children and talked about you. Ya, you. And Bear. I was hoping to meet Bear but apparently he can’t be trusted in restaurants. I don’t think FC cared much one way or the other about Sophie but he smiled politely when I talked about her. FC is just as nice as you think he is and even more interesting. We snagged some guy in the parking lot to take pictures of us but he was one of those obliging strangers who can’t figure out which button to push so you’ll have to take my word for it that the three of us stood there beaming in front of the Crackers sign.feedstore(Along the way, Cathy and I stopped at this feed store named Dumpies or something. It was part red-neck, part hippie and part I-don’t-know-what. I came this close to buying a baby chicken.)

After lunch Cathy and I moseyed on up to Rainbow Springs State Park and it was fantastic. Reminded me of upstate New York, except far more humid. Imagine the Finger Lakes in Costa Rica. I took lots and lots of pictures because it was just so beautiful and I also took some videos that might make FC jealous. YouTube is having regularly scheduled maintenance and I can’t figure out how to upload them but as soon as I do, you’ll see…rainbowriver(If I had known about this I would have brought my bathing suit. Appearances be damned.)gzebo(See? It was idyllic. Really. Thank you, Cathy.)

7 responses to “Simply perfect

  1. Oooh, that all looks wonderful, especially the swimming hole. I love meeting fellow bloggers, so I’m glad you got to do that. The dragonfly photo is unreal!

  2. That IS beautiful! I’m one of those weird people who think that every state is lovely in its own way. I’m still working on Nevada though…

  3. I spent every summer as a kid in a car traveling to Fla for vacation. Florida holds very little secrets for me. I am glad you had a great time with your friends!

  4. Color me green with envy that you spent quality time with FC.

    I’ll be thinking about you today, and I may even shoot you a text message in the evening if you haven’t posted anything. Don’t reply if you aren’t feeling up to it, just know that I’m thinking about you.

  5. Wow, I can’t believe you met FC and there are no pics. You just made Florida look beautiful, vicki. Thinking of you this morning.

  6. Who knew? I expect there are places full of wonder here, that I simply haven’t found yet…. perhaps you could come and explore with me.

  7. Looks gorgeous and wonderful. Glad you explored and found it.

Leave a Reply

