Yes, it was THAT beautiful.

(way down there in the sunny part of the clearing you can see the fenced corner of my future garden.)

I’m almost afraid to write about it. As though maybe we were blessed by mistake. I’m telling you, this future home is a piece of heaven and nothing short. Exactly as planned, we slogged through Walmart and bought two sleeping bags, one giant aero bed, two small oak TV tables, two folding chairs, two candle thingies, and a bottle of champagne. And then we hunkered down to christen our new, future home.

(I took this picture at the same time of day I took the urban dusk photo in the previous post)

In the morning, we awoke to the haze burning off the mountains and by 10 am, I used the zoom, just a little, and took this photo of our view from the stone patio right outside the kitchen door.

(the nearest peak is Mt. Pisgah; the furthest is almost 50 miles away, Cold Mountain)

We had to go to town a couple times for basics: broom and mop and vinegar and Dawn and the world’s cheapest floor lamp. We also got hung up in the curtain department at Target because I had to put up some kind of inexpensive window coverings for the time when we get the house rented. I searched through racks of nondescript curtains, never finding exactly the right number of the right length and I also kept coming up short on curtain rods. I used the tension kind because I don’t want any holes in the perfect, unmarked woodwork window frames. The whole time, Rich sort of stood in the store aisle moaning feebly like a woman in the mid-stages of labor. It was annoying and pathetic. Then we headed into Asheville for a great dinner at Doc Chey’s Noodle House (click the link and watch until you see the sumo wrestles in PEACE LOVE NOODLES outfits.)

Most all our time we spent camped around our lovely fireplace (it draws perfectly, no smoke or soot!), hiked some lovely mountain trails, bought one each of 12 different kinds of apples at the nearby orchard, and took in the beauty and wonder of our new (unmortgaged) home. On Sunday, we met some of our new neighbors. One of them, a delightfully spry woman of about 80, took us on a glorious 2 mile hike and then called a half dozen other neighbors to alert them to our arrival. One woman goes back and forth between her place near us in Sugar Hollow and, guess where? Chicago! I missed her call but I have her number so I’m planning on calling her tomorrow to get acquainted.

(This little clearing might some day house a studio or guesthouse.)

Now we need to find a renter. This makes me a little sad. The house is so impeccably fine and perfect that I want to live there now, but we have to wait a couple years. As a result, I’m trying to look selectively for the just right person or couple to be there until we can be. I’m mostly trying the word of mouth approach so if you know of anyone who might want to live in paradise for a year or so, be sure and send them my way. The price is right for people who will love it and care for it until we can.

Back here in the windy city, Chicago is living up to it’s name today- cold and blustery. Although, really, Chicago was nick-named the ‘windy city’ for her blustery politicians rather than her bitter winter clime. That’s true. Which reminds me. Tomorrow, I’m making my Halloween pumpkin. Yes We Carve.

14 responses to “Yes, it was THAT beautiful.

  1. Oh, I really want to come see you in Asheville. That is absolutely God’s country. We used to vacation in Maggie Valley, pretty high up, and I told Don that I wanted my room in heaven to be in the mountains with the cool air. Someone else could have the beach. Many, many fond family memories come from our times in North Carolina.

    Yes, isn’t Ella lovely! I think she’s going to be as smart as Abby. She was siging tonight, “Hush little baby, don’t say a word” and substituting Mommy and Daddy and Grammy, and then animals and nonsense syllables. I tell you she’s a genius. Comes by it naturally. LOL

    Oh, the Rays, at least theytied it before they called the game. I assume it’s susupended to be finished another day. Where there’s breath, there’s hope.

  2. Vicki, you are one of God’s chosen. That place is a little slice of Heaven, I think. I can’t wait to visit you there either, and maybe Beverly and I can come together. The view and the floors are worth the trip!

    My son and his wife will be traveling to Chicago this weekend for her high school reunion; to be held in some guy’s back yard in a tent. Please tell me there is a warm-up coming…..LOL

  3. Beautiful is an understatement–what an amazing place. The scenery is breathtaking. I would love to be set up to take a year sabbatical so that I could be your renter. (damn bills)

  4. Nice digs. Where will you put the golf course?

    Mt. Pisgah?! You are Moses in the Promised Land!

    I refuse to shop at Walmart since they started stocking the morning after pill. I know it isn’t their fault; Planned Parenthood sued them into it. I prefer unplanned parenthood.

    And, “moaning feebly like a woman in the mid-stages of labor?!?” Homebirth empowers women! Peace on earth begins with birth!

    I should try
    Not to go awry.

    For wouldn’t it be loverly
    To be more like our Beverly?

  5. Absolutely spectacular. Your scenery is vaguely homelike (with shorter trees! 🙂 ). I don’t know how you will wait until you can live there.

  6. Oh Vicki. It is so lovely. I don’t know how you can bear to wait 2 years. My God, that view from your patio…

  7. I thought you had a renter?

    It is beautiful. Absolutely. Wonder if Keith can work remotely from there…..

  8. That is some fine viewin’.

    Will you keep the FL home too?

    I love the floors!

  9. What a lovely home. Somehow, I can imagine you in this one more than the one in Chicago. 😀

  10. Have you ever read Catherine?
    yorkiedog.blogspot.com

    She’s currently stuck in Orlando but dreaming of moving to Asheville…

  11. Sigh. I want to rent your house. I really do. But I’m sort of stuck with TWO houses in FL I need to get out from under somehow. (To those wondering – I’m not rich, I’m borderline broke. I live in one with a hefty mortgage and just inherited the other.) And I’m 10 years from even semi-retirement, on a good day. Oh, btw, I have a gray cat that is a dead ringer for the cat in your earlier post. This is like a parallel universe version of my life; without all the death and destruction and the Florida economy, I could be you! I don’t know whether to thank CM for introducing us, or cry.

  12. I hate buying curtains. It is my least favorite part of decorating; just for the reasons you mentioned. I am still looking for some light filtering, not too long valances for our cottage windows. Found some nice ones at Linens and Things for the front room. Your place is beautiful…I really love it. It must be so peaceful and quiet there. I hope you find just the perfect renters. I wish we were available…hmmmm.
    Thanks so much for your comment on my site. I appreciate it.

  13. I dunno. Maybe I’ve been watching too many scary movies this Halloween but you look a little isolated there. You do know that there is a Transylvania County around there somewhere, right?

  14. Saturday night we stopped in Maggie Valley/Waynesville as the midway point en route to Myrtle Beach and passed Ashville on Sunday. The drive from Cincinnati down through the mountains of Kentucky, Tennessee, North and South Carolina lifted our spirits thanks to the glowing color on the hillsides.

    Your house looks so very cozy and well loved.

Leave a Reply

