Rainy with a chance of peeps

peeps1.jpeg

Well, Peep Saturday has been sort of a bust. Did you know that peeps don’t hold up well in pouring rain? Huh. Who would have thought. The other reason I wasn’t able to really put myself into peep art, heart and soul, was that I had a higher calling today.

You know how I’ve mentioned that this is a lovely historic neighborhood here, The Old Northeast area of St. Petersburg? We have a strong neighborhood association that insures architectural integrity and promotes all variety of fun and good works. A lot of energy goes into things like the Christmas candlelight tour and the garden stroll and then funds raised from those events are donated to causes like Family Village and Tampa Bay Watch. Recently we also used some of the proceeds from the Candlelight Tour to put up attractive “acorn” street lights that are in keeping with the age of the neighborhood. Today was the annual Easter Egg Hunt at Coffee Pot Bayou Park, sponsored by one of the local real estate companies and organized and run by the same group of women (this event in particular is the inspiration of Cynthia, one of the first women to befriend me a few years ago) who go to yoga together, garden together and help keep the neighborhood association on track. Back in Ann Arbor we had a neighborhood association that made me crazy with their constant busy body-ness and mountain out of molehill type behavior. This group here is a fun-loving lot who epitomize the very best attributes of volunteerism.

honnaladies1.jpeg

About a week ago some of us met to stuff well over a thousand eggs with goodies. This morning early, before the rain set in for the day, we met at the park and hid all those eggs plus as many other little treats and treasures around the park. About ten minutes before 10 am, families began to arrive and sat along the seawall until the children were given the signal to go. The signal was the arrival of the Easter Bunny himself and with that they were off and running. An effort of countless hours was done and over in less than ten minutes but I have to say, it was worth every second. Most of the children were dressed up in their Easter best and so many of them were little tots- it was just great.

kidsegghunt11.jpeg

The rain held off until just after the egg hunt and it’s been gray and steady rain ever since. It’s made for a relatively quiet afternoon and tomorrow we’ll have just a couple friends and Abby and Misha for Easter dinner. We ordered our ham from Honey Bear back in Chicago and they shipped it down in a cold pack for us. This is not the same as Honey Baked ham; that pales in comparison to this fine ham from a small specialty store near the old meat packing district. The rest of the meal will be Pommes Anna, spinach pie, golden pennies (do you have those sliced baby carrots for Easter?) and a baby lettuce salad from the earth boxes out back. Pineapple upside down cake for dessert.

Hopefully, the weather will be clear enough for us to walk down to the sunrise service at the bay early in the morning. I hope you have a wonderful day, sans rain or snow and with your loved ones. Happy Easter.

findingegg11.jpeg

15 responses to “Rainy with a chance of peeps

  1. Vicki, you never cease to amaze me by your willingness to share yourself with others and enrich their lives beyond measure. The photos are wonderful, colorful and heart-warming! Happy Easter to you and your family.

  2. Thanks for the visit. My bunny/cat is one of those “cloned animals” I have been posting. I wondered who would notice, since this is one of the most subtle ones I have seen.

  3. Same to you, Vicki! I will be cooking salmon and asparagus for my parents, with strawberry shortcake for dessert. I may even haul my skeptical ass to church.

  4. My mother-in-law wanted to go out to dinner since she is sick from her cancer treatment, but now she is even too sick to do that. So I’ll be cooking roast and tofurky, baked potatoes, beans, making salad and Ashley and Dan will make a vegan dessert. It is a change in tradition, but we’ll try to make it work–while being sad that people get old and sick.

  5. I love this post, Vicki. It hugged my heart.

    I still do an Easter basket for my son. He’s an 18 yr old HS Senior, but c’est la vie. I can’t help myself, I love that stuff.

    I’m doing a pork loin rib roast as the entree for dinner today. We usually have ham, though. I like tradition, if possible.

    Happy Easter to you and your gang.

  6. Happy Easter to you, Vicki.

    We’re having our Easter Egg hunt in Ella’s back yard. Then, on Monday I’m leaving for Florida.

  7. I assume the other Ann Arborites are sending you the results of the AA News’s annual peeps photo contest? I liked last year’s better, but that’s just me.

    Enjoy your day!

  8. I’m not sure what makes me love you more – the peep cactus or the egg hunt you provided for the tots. Either way, I feel blessed for knowing you, dear Vicki, and I know you are a blessing to each life you touch.

    Wishing you the happiest of Easters.
    xo

  9. That last photo? Precious.

    And I loved the peeps. Speaking of… this was the winner in the local diorama contest in our area. Not my favorite of the hundreds of entries, but darned cute!

  10. Nice crowd!
    Sounds like a fun day.

  11. Hey, isn’t that last photo of the winsome little girl looking at an egg Abby? Surely looks like her.

  12. Oh! I’m so sorry your peeps got rained out. Looks like you made up for it with true spirit of the season. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Next year, right? ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. Happy Belated Easter Vicki.

    I made a ham…with all the trimmings. And there was a lemon bundt cake and a peach cobbler ๐Ÿ™‚

    It was delicious. Now I just need to find some place with a big enough freezer to hold some of these leftovers.

  14. here via Wende, and glad to see you’re doing all of these fun things in my neck of the woods (i live in Tampa).

    so very awesome. i’ve added you to my Must Reads so i don’t miss out on anymore local fun!!

  15. Nice women sure can improve the quality of life. I also have been very lucky here in the SW of England. Everybody looks to be enjoying life.

Leave a Reply

