A leap of faith- mystery revealed

The thing about amphibians is this: they are what is commonly referred to as indicator species. For people who care about and study the quality of the environment, amphibians offer the first signs of things run amok. Frogs are amphibians- they live both in and out of the water- and wonder of wonders- they can breathe through their skin. While humans are constrained in breath by their rib cages (except for certain yoginis), frogs are not. They are vertebrates who have only the most vestigial of ribs that do not encircle their lungs. That’s why they feel all flat and heavy about the midrif. Also they have thin and porous skin that absorbs oxygen. Fortunately or not, it also absorbs whatever pollution they encounter along the way and thus, they become “indicator species.” They are among the very first to suffer from toxins in the environment and scientists turn to frogs for signs of a healthy-or not- environment. Mutations, problems with egg development and other aberrations let them know that P (ollution) rhymes with T (rouble) and that means right here in the river city of life.

For me to go on like this it must be Monday and that means it’s all happening at the zoo. But also, you’ll recall that I was speaking about my very own mermaid (surely they are and she is amphibian?) in the last entry and I posted that excellent photo of- what??? Huh. You all fail biology 101 while I continue to pat myself on the back for that particular high speed image. Remember, I’m trying to master the art (and vision) of manual digital photography.

This:

leap1.jpeg

was this (Hyla squirella or squirrel tree frog), sitting on the edge of the Florida water fountain just a moment shy of when I snapped.

squirreltreefrog2.jpg

And speaking of things that are “now you see them-now you don’t” and things that bloom when you aren’t looking and least expect it- well, that bud (Epiphyllum oxypetalum) that grew so large from that very tiny start I stuck in the soil opened up in the middle of the night to this:

night-blooming.jpeg

Everything is shape shifting.

14 responses to “A leap of faith- mystery revealed

  1. I love the tree frog, except when he’s hopping around my bedroom in the middle of the night, knocking things off the window sill and scaring me to death. Did I ever tell you that story? Maybe I’ll have to post about it.

  2. I finally see the feet, after looking at the photo again.

  3. I like frogs. I even kind of like the sounds from their mating croaks in the spring as they raise a ruckus around our swimming pool and seem to be right in my bedroom, they get so loud.

  4. Good info. So having a frog in your house is a good thing, I gather. We had a frog squatter a while back and my wife panicked. She insisted he go back outside. But now I can tell her that our house must be cleaner than we thought it was.

  5. Yipes! I thought that was a stream of water as you filled the pond. I totally focused on the leaf and could not figure out what was the big deal.

    Beautiful nocturnal blossom.

  6. That shot is like a visual haiku. I love it. I couldn’t tell how it related to the post, but now it says it all. Poof, just like that.

  7. Well, I can understand how you might miss a photo. But what about my guess that WHAT’S LEFT is one-fourth of a hockey puck. I was right, wasn’t I? (Are those frog legs big enough to eat?)

  8. I LOVE the froggie photo. I have some somewhere that I’ve never posted. I’m not quite as close as you were, though.

  9. You know how I love frogs! He’s cute and Hoss, if you eat him, I’ll cry.

    The oxypetalum is gorgeous, and I like that extra anemone-looking thing at the edge of the petals.

  10. I love frogs; we have a tree frog living in our front flower bed. My husband dragged me out to admire him/her.

  11. do you give photography lessons??????
    and how to post ’em?????
    so, so wonderful are your shots……

  12. oops, again…i ‘enrolled’ in this blogging thing and chose the name ‘terramama’…but i’m ‘regina’ of yestertime….

  13. Vicki, I would like nothing better than one of those curved shower curtain rods, but the way that bathroom is configured, it isn’t practical. When I do replace the rods in the other bathrooms, they WILL be curved!!

  14. Tension in the hips
    Can make us feel blue.
    As I hold Bhekasana,
    I’ll think of you.

Leave a Reply

