The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work.”

A number of months ago I went shopping at Wende’s Thrifty Goodness store and soon, along came my bright and comfy lounge pants that she crafted from some vintage floral fabric. These past ten days I’ve been living in these pants; they make me smile each time I get them out of the dryer and pull them on. They are the perfect thing for that place between sick in bed and not-quite-ready-for-primetime and I love them.

Today, when I got home from the zoo there was a little package on the doorstep- a care package from Wende. What could be better than dark chocolate with bits of tropical fruit and a beautifully wrought pillow of fragrant lavender? All the care and creativity that went into the exquisite packaging? Oops- I opened it and started eating before I thought about a picture.

I’ll get to see/meet Wende in little more than a week so I’ll let you know if she’s really a little Japanese elf. I wouldn’t be surprised; she’s a mistress of tsutsumi.

4 responses to “The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work.”

  1. Cool surprise! Enjoy! I would totally have eaten it before I thought of photographing it too. Priorities, after all!

  2. I bought a pack of truffles to take to a friend when I went out of town last week, but I forgot and left them in the car when I arrived. It was 101* that day. Need I say more? (It was truffle soup)

    Good thing your chocolate came unmelted!!

  3. Would Wende like my address? I’d be happy to send it. Such lovely gifts of love you receive.

  4. Dark chocolate rules.

    Oh, and it looks like hurricane season may finally be starting.
    I just looked at Accuweather.

    ‘Bout damn time 🙂

Leave a Reply

