Saturday in the park*

After a fairly moody and difficult week, Rich is home to encourage me up and out. (And thank you so much for all the kind comments to that last mopey post. You folks are good people.) I have a little update on the job situation that I’ll post on Monday.

We got up early and bicycled down to the original Breadsmith of Chicago bakery where we picked up a mini loaf of their sourdough- just the right size for two for a few days- and while they were slicing it we sampled some other breads and spreads out on the counter. They make a mean jalapeno cream cheese that’s worth it’s weight in gold. You should check out the link and see the extensive list of delicious breads.
(Sourdough: The quintessential American bread, golden brown with a thick, crisp, blistered crust. We use a sourdough starter made with organic flour. There are no commercial yeasts, starters or flavorings used. It is truly a Breadsmith original.)
Then we rode the few blocks over to the Green City Market, the city’s only sustainable green market, a 501(c)(3) organization. I suspect they are able to sustain themselves because a small bunch of deep red lilacs cost 7.00. Gone are the days when I could gather them by the bushelful, gratis, back in Ann Arbor but these are brightening up the dining room table nicely. Then over to Gepperth’s meat market, Chicago’s oldest and finest and only a couple blocks from the brickhouse. Is there anything missing on that list that you can think of, short of kudu? We got a couple of links of the best homemade Italian sweet sausage you can imagine; I’ll mix that with roasted sweet red peppers, some fresh garlic, sweet vermouth, a couple handfuls of parmesan reggiano and a splash of cream and simmer it all down for a fresh pasta sauce tonight.

On the way back we noticed that Oz Park (home of the Emerald City gardens, Cowardly Lion, Tin Man, Dorothy and the rest of the gang) was even busier than usual for a Saturday morning so we put away the bikes and walked the four houses down to see what was up.

It was the 3rd Annual Chalk Festival presented by the Art Therapy Connection.(click for an amazing short video about this organization) Local businesses, private citizens and government agencies buy marked off squares and volunteer artists provide the visuals and it all adds up to a beautiful fund raiser for a wonderful organization. All the children get free smaller squares and Blick Art Supplies donates a ton of chalk. There was live music and the internationally known Jessie White Tumblers were on hand for entertainment. This group of young people has been on Letterman, Leno and Good Morning America; it’s a juvenile

delinquency prevention program and many of the members have grown up in the housing projects of Cabrini Green and Henry Horner. They were SO good and so inspiring. You know, if a person were going to change from a country mouse to a city mouse, Chicago is a pretty good place to start.

I’m going to post lots of smaller pictures; definitely click to enlarge. I found chalk art especially for Babette, FC, Roxanne, Robin Andrea and all of my other good neighbors.

____________________________________________________

*Saturday in the park
You’d think it was the fourth of july
People talking, really smiling
A man playing guitar
Singing for us all
Will you help him change the world
Can you dig it (yes, I can)
And I’ve been waiting such a long time
For today

Slow motion riders fly the colors of the day
A bronze man still can tell stories his own way
Listen children all is not lost
All is not lost

Funny days in the park
Every days the fourth of july
People reaching, people touching
A real celebration
Waiting for us all
If we want it, really want it
Can you dig it (yes, I can)
And Ive been waiting such a long time
For the day (Chicago)

________________________________________________________
Chalk2

ChalkcowChalkenvironTumblersChalkday

Chalkbonnie

Chalkfish

ChalkcatChalkart

14 responses to “Saturday in the park*

  1. We have a sidewalk art festival every summer here, too. We all made a square together last year. So fun!

    Nothing like good husband to pull up one’s spirits.

  2. Makes you want to jump into those chalk paintings like in Mary Poppins! Gorgeous! Glad you are feeling cheerier. Hope it continues.

  3. My gosh, what a grand adventure! What amazing artistry. My fav’s the cat!

  4. I miss the chalk walk in Marin. And red lilacs? MUST SEE.

    And I was thinking about you today, when at a garage sale I bumped into a vintage Finnish spinning wheel painted yellow and blue. DIVINE. Alas, I don’t spin wool. 😀

  5. Vermeer – my favorite artist! He was a prolific father (11 children), but only painted 36 paintings. If a walk in that glorious Chicago park doesn’t completely cure your blues, may I recommend the art theft documentary, STOLEN?

    Hoss will not like the chalk artist in the background of THE GIRL WITH A PEARL EARRING.

    Art therapy? Whatever is is, I’m for it.

    Any molasses cookies left?

  6. Oh, that sounds like a good day. I love that chalk art. The shops sound great too.

  7. The chalk art is neat! I too would like to see the red lilacs.

  8. You be careful of those molasses cookies that Babette is always recommending.

  9. I LOVE the girl with the pearl earring!! You have the best of both worlds, don’t you, Vicki? Chicago for all the art and animals and interesting people – and Florida for the weather and….whatever else.

  10. I think I slept through art history class, so I don’t recognize any famous works unlike Babette, but as a sometime user of chalk, I am way impressed with these artists.
    Who knew chalk came in colors?

  11. How did I miss this post? Great chalk art, and a fine day you had too.

  12. Oh, look a big kitty….. and less comatose than the crew here too! I also figure the “purple cow” is for me too… I have a purple cow butter dish that Nyssa made one summer. Mom took her to a ceramics place here during our vacation. She chose to paint her cow purple with black spots… because she could and she loved the poem… it is in storage….

    Aren’t you tired of that phrase from me? I am. But, with this house hunting deal, I have come to realize that we still have more than will fit in a house.. even one bigger than 4000 square feet. Sigh!

  13. Oh, I am so tempted to come to Chicago early and have you give me the grand tour!!!

  14. What a colorful day! That sidewalk art is wonderful and I especially like the fish and fun face.

    Glad you hear you are feeling UP again :o)

Leave a Reply

