I love Mirenete

I’m married to sort of a media guru and he told me the other day that 280 billion dollars are spent on advertising in this country each year. Over 60 billion is spent on junk mail that people immediately throw away. 60 billion dollars worth of paper pulp that came from trees that would look a lot nicer in your or my backyard. Meanwhile, you and I are spending more money and time trying to get AWAY from advertising than ever before. I don’t know about you, but I’m willing to pay for HBO and TIVO so I don’t have to watch commercials.

Okay, that’s just sort of a rant with some real figures for you to consider. My husband, incidentally, is not in the advertising business. He has something to do with things like event sponsorship for NCAA Division II sports, Indy racing, triathlons, Olympic games and so forth. Actually, I’m not sure exactly what he does but it’s sort of like that. He says, now that people don’t come together as a community around their work the way they did when we were an agricultural economy or even a manufacturing economy, now they have less ‘community’. We are largely a service based economy now and that’s an economy of individuals. So, people are trying to find community in other ways. He helps universities and sports leagues and, um, ESPN activate community events. Does that make any sense? All I know is one time, about a month before we moved, a thousand (8 giant crates) of childrens yoga mats showed up in our driveway and Rich asked me to find homes for them as part of a program to engage youth who wouldn’t otherwise being doing yoga to do yoga. So I parceled them out to the children’s PT department at the hospital and a couple of early intervention programs. Whatever. It was annoying having those blue mats all over the place while I was getting ready to move but the therapists and teachers were happy to get them. Lou, you’ve known him forever. Do you understand what he does? Send me an email and let me know, okay?

Mirinete
Rambling, rambling, rambling. HERE is an ad campaign I like, one I would watch if they let it run on TV. But you didn’t see this as a Super Bowl commercial did you? I love Mirenete. I think she’s just so sweet and full of life in this photograph. Yes, she could probably do to lose a few for health reasons, but she looks like a spunky and beautiful version of the majority of women over fifty. I think the ad campaign makes sense. I mean, after all, it’s about you and me, right? Some women are really against this campaign on the grounds that it’s too "in your face" and "women don’t want people to see them as they are after the age of 50."  What? We just become vapors? What do you think of this commercial?

19 responses to “I love Mirenete

  1. The same response is provoked as when I accidentally meet my teenage boys walking around in their boxers: “When I said I wanted to see more of you, this is not what I had in mind.”

    I may have been more open-minded had she worn a crown of leaves around her head. ;~)

  2. P.S. What do you think of OLD LUTHERAN’S sale on 2XL and larger sized “Fat Tuesday” shirts, just in time for Lent?

  3. Fastnachts! Paczki! Yippee!

  4. I LOVE this ad campaign. I see images of naked or half-naked women all the time in magazines, on TV, and on the Internet. Most of them look to be under 30. Or, more likely, under 23. No matter how sensible one is, it’s hard not to absorb some of that media message and feel apologetic for the way one’s body looks as time goes by.

  5. I love the truth of it. I saw her and some of the other women in the ad campaign on TV recently, and it was very nice to see women who all had a few fat rolls, or warts, or some other minor problem being willing to “let it all hang out” for the cause.

  6. I love it. And I’ve loved the past Dove campaigns. “Love the skin you’re in,” or something like that. Working with teenage girls on a daily basis makes me super aware that they need to be accepted. Period. And when I saw an interview with some young model and she said they airbrushed her 15 year old face!??$#@!!! No wonder we have issues! So, I think Mirenete is beautiful. Bring on the ads.

  7. So, why does DOVE peddle firming/cellulite cream?

    Yoga brings confidence and acceptance and appreciation of a teen-aged young woman’s inherent and unique beauty, (and children’s, women’s, and men’s), by the way.

    Blessed Shrovetide! Pass some of those Hamtramck doughnuts, please.

  8. I think she’s beautiful. Real. Naked. Rolls of flesh and a smile that would light an arena. Still, advertising does not create community. Our nation has become, as you say, an economy of individuals. That’s because if you sell something to every one of us, you’ve made a fortune, you get to buy a politician and move to the next chakra of fortune nirvana. We can not recover what has been lost, but Mirenete’s face is reminder of it. That’s why we love it.

  9. I have mixed emotions about this. On the one hand I love the idea that Dove is using “real” people to sell its products. On the other hand, they want me to be impressed by this move of theirs. I mean, they’re selling beauty products–so, their motives aren’t as pure as their soap purports to be.

    On a completely different front… I hate the liturgical calendar. I’m so so so tired of this. I’m giving up Lent for Lent this year.

  10. Call me a prude, but it is too much skin for me. I don’t care if they are 20 something or 50 something. I don’t know if my feelings come from the fact that I’m not that comfortable ‘with the skin I’m in’ or if I have an oversized sense of modesty. I think all adverstisers could show women of all ages as sexy and alluring with clothes.

  11. I love her so much.
    A few hundred years ago, SHE would be the “desirable” one, not the twiggies we see on the cover of magazines.
    Skinny people are boring. Give me curves ANY DAY.

  12. I’ve seen a lot of bodies… come on, mind out of the gutter now… you know, for my work. And I must tell you that there isn’t one that has skin that smooth and even in color and texture… I’m not talking about the curves or folds or face. They had to have airbrushed the skin. I think the idea behind the ad is good… we are too obsessed with youth. Why? Youth are impulsive, reckless, unwise, selfish… they haven’t learned how to compromise, put another first, weigh choices based on what is best for all… Even our children who seem perfectly behaved, sweet, caring and absolutely wonderful….they don’t have the wisdom gained by years on this earth. They haven’t experienced the circumstances that lead to that wisdom and that inevitably lead to those wisdom lines around the eyes. Frankly, I wouldn’t want to be 20 again unless I could have my 50+ year wisdom to go with it.

    Besides, the youth worship the sun, the everlasting tan…. and haven’t figured out that the BEST way to keep that skin looking young is to AVOID tanning beds, AVOID suntans by using the highest possible block and AVOID dangerous UV reflected rays proven to be a prominent cause of cataracts.

    The Victorian age of the rounded womanly curves, the lily white creamy skin protected by wide brimmed hats and long gloves was the best age to keep one’s skin young. Oh well!

  13. I read your post on FC’s and raced right over here to see what all the fuss was about. “Oh, I saw that in the newspaper. Ick,” was my first thought. I chalked my reaction up to my background, Southern Baptist born and bred. But, as I read the other comments, understood it is due to being uncomfortable in my own middle aged skin. My new year’s resolution was to lose 50 pounds. That was completely unrealistic as I now realize seven weeks later and only 3 pounds lighter. That is after hiring Attila the Hun in a size 0 sweat suit to be my personal trainer and going one solid week with only eating salad before I gave up and ate an entire bag of cookies. She fusses at me when I eat any carbs or a portion of meat larger than the size of my palm. Why does weight have to be the deciding factor in all this, I want to know. No matter that I am down 2 pants sizes, that I can climb a flight of stairs without losing my breath, that my knees don’t crack any more and my back is now strong enough to lift a bale of hay without wincing. I have invested at least 40 hours at that gym and a gazillion dollars. Being healthy, feeling better are good pay offs yet I feel like a loser simply because I haven’t lost. I have to find some balance here between living, allowing myself some indulgences (granted an entire box of cookies was not a good choice) and keeping focused on what really counts. Not calories, but feeling good about me. Thanks for the thought provoking message.

  14. I love these ads. I don’t mind that they’re selling stuff, that’s what ads are for. But I think they try to sell us stuff by making us feel good about ourselves instead of bad about ourselves, and that’s a good thing. A very good thing, compared to what ads directed at women usually do.

  15. Love the ad. And she has great legs! Wow! I feel more beautiful seeing her in this ad, because I think SHE is beautiful.

  16. She is a beautiful woman, and obviously comfortable in her skin. (unlike moi)

  17. I suppose it’s a sign of my cultural ignorance that I don’t have a clue as to who that lady is, but she’s very beautiful.

    Hang in there Cathy S,
    it’s about being healthy, not skinny.

  18. I like it. What’s wrong with wise women and their beauty?

  19. Dove/Unilever is making out like their ad campaigns are for the betterment of girls, women, and society. We know that it is really for the betterment of their stockholders. What’s wrong with that? Because they’ll drop/revise this campaign faster than you can say “new social issue.” It’s what you see happening with kids’ advertising and programming now — since the public finally became aware (through research) and accepted that junk food isn’t good for kids, marketers are jumping on the bandwagon to sell “healthy” alternatives. They didn’t care before.

    And if nothing else, remember that Unilever (Dove’s parent company) also makes Slim-Fast.

Leave a Reply

