BIG WEATHER

Rain1
You know I love it. I can’t help it; I’m in awe of big weather. We had it last night, and while it’s easy for me to say it was the best thunder and lightening storm ever, it was horribly devastating for Florida residents a couple counties north of us. That will be the ongoing news story of today, on CNN and elsewhere. It was a bad storm that included killer tornadoes for some parts of central Florida.Rain

Here, I woke up about 4 AM to torrential downpouring and  McCloud crying pitifully and peeing in terror when lightening shook the house. I put this giant rubbermaid tub out on the deck and it took less than 1 minute for it to fill completely. I watched from the cover of the porch and Sophie found a safe spot under the screen porch table. She likes big weather, too.Sophie_watches

On a more charitable note, I signed up yesterday to start volunteer work with the YWCA Family Village where I will be helping with some of the children’s programs. Family Village is an alternative to foster care for children as they provide residential housing and support while homeless women and children get organized around jobs, housing and school. Meanwhile, for the folks in tent city, St. Petersburg’s controversial homeless encampment, it was surely not the place to be last night.

18 responses to “BIG WEATHER

  1. I saw the watches out earlier in the day but those overnight tornadoes can really be scary. I hope Touc didn’t get wet or your beautiful wicker. Here when it blows and rains we have to get stuff off the front porch. We just have rain now. Still. Ongoing. Cold, drizzle. My picture showed the extent of the snow, but just north and west in Williamsburg, they had two inches before it turned to rain and melted.

    About the “curb appeal”… the borborygmi is rolling right along over here, with fountain art (could you call it and art deco bidet?)and reports of people keeping these fixtures as an act of historical preservation (personally I think the 60’s were nothing to write home about). I guess you could say our minds are in the toilet today. The only item missing from the composition which would have made it perfect is a roll of toilet paper.. on a stand.

    Haven’t seen Bonnie around the neighborhood yet today but I’m sure she could come up with something more profound than I could ever hope to think of. You and she should get together and invent a game for ages 18 and up.

  2. Glad your kitties are o.k. and you too. I had to drive to Sarasota for an eye appointment this morning, and I wasn’t looking forward to that, but it wasn’t too bad.

    Such devastation. Oh, my. Not mobile homes this time.

  3. My husband loves big weather, too. We don’t get it here much. No thunder and lightening.

    Good for you for volunteering. Any alternative to the foster care system sounds good.

  4. Well with the report out of Paris on Global Climate Change, those of us who like big weather will probably have all we want and then some. Glad you made it through the storms. Love your egret shots in the previous post. One question: Where do you get all of your energy?

  5. Busy as a bee, you are. The Family Village sounds like a place where you could put your many talents to good use.

    Poor McCloud.

  6. Vicki, I thought of you this evening while watching Charles Gibson tell the story in Florida. How devastating. I’m glad you are OK. You will probably thrive at The Family Village very well. You are a great person with much to share.

  7. As busy as you are, you never seem to be too busy to carve out another niche for yourself. I am sure that the YWCA Family Village will be all the richer for it!

  8. Well, golly. I thought you would volunteer at the hospital where your talents are much needed. In any case, congratulations on your new gig, and don’t spread yourself too thinly.

    Do you live in “the meanest city in the nation,” or somewhere else?

    Seems like somebody could have negotiated a better solution….

    Thanks for the neat pix, Vickster.

  9. I am not a fan of big weather unless I am safe in my house. And definitely not when I’m flying in a plane a little over a month from now to that area. BAH.

  10. Thought of you watching the weather channel this morning. Good grief.
    Tornadoes in Florida, in FEBRUARY? What’s next.
    Glad you are okay.
    Jeepers, that was some rain! Remind me, who is McCloud?

  11. Whether the weather be fine
    Or whether the weather be not
    Whether the weather be cold
    Or whether the weather be hot
    We’ll weather the weather
    Whatever the weather,
    Whether we like it or not.

    I try not to think about the wether when listening to Handel’s “All We Like Sheep Have Gone Astray.”

    Your altruism knows no bounds, dear Vicki.

  12. I’m glad you weathered the storm. Being in the mid-west I like to watch lightning, though I always hope I won’t be a headline in the newspaper: “Freak accident. Woman hit by lightning while standing on front porch.” I can hear the experts being interviewed!
    The YWCA Family Village sounds wonderful.

  13. I am so glad that you are Rich are OK. That was quite a storm!

  14. I love big thunder storms. There is some so primal that stirs in me but they make me happy too. I read about the devastation, it was so sad. Please do not send us any rain we have had enough over the holidays.

  15. Are you freezing in Chicago? Or are you in St. Pete?

  16. You are okay, right?

Leave a Reply

