Just to be clear

It’s true that I have a little thing for taxidermy but the disclaimer that I’ve made before stands: I don’t kill poor little minkies and pose them in fishing creels or shoot squirrels so I can dress them up in Santa clothes. These furry shadows of their former selves find me. Really, they do. I go into an antique store looking for a small Staffordshire teacup (well, not really but that’s for example) and then I look up and there’s a dusty old pheasant staring down at me. He’s whispering, "please, please, get me out of here! I want to live where I will be loved and mauled snuffled by cats!" so I bring him home. And then another to keep him company and then I find the Santa Squirrel of Christmas Past and then a red fox with his tail falling off and then Minkie in a basket and so on. They just come to me.

Nevertheless, Touc is not a piece of taxidermy. Contrary to Bernadette’s opinion. Touc was carved in Belize, where I found him at a roadside stand for 4.00. I thought the detail on his feathers quite wonderful and his bill covered with some kind of thin tree bark very cool. The tree bark has dried out and separated a bit. He was colored with plant dyes and he’s faded a bit over time. Touc keeps me company above my wicker chair. He’s sort of like a muse. Sometimes. But he’s not stuffed.Tuc

8 responses to “Just to be clear

  1. At least your Muse is stationary and doesn’t have penchant for guzzling cheap booze and leaving home without her undies. 😀

  2. Does Touc attract other small animals? Not cat, cats are much to smart to mistake Touc for a real bird. Whew! Wanted to make sure I didn’t insult Sophie there.

  3. That’s beautiful. If I could find something like that toucan, I’d hang it in my sunroom to view the pond. My eyes would be drawn to it everytime I’d walk by. You have very good taste in home beauty.

  4. What superb craftsmanship–a beautiful addition to your very restful looking porch.

  5. Love Touc!

    E-spouse teases me about all the random animal statues and representations I have around the house. Glad I’m not the only one!

    Maybe we should photograph bunches of them and post them!

  6. Love Touc!

    E-spouse teases me about all the random animal statues and representations I have around the house. Glad I’m not the only one!

    Maybe we should photograph bunches of them and post them!

  7. He is gorgeous. I would have bought him too.

Leave a Reply

