Things go haywire

Witsend
Problem: The internet has been down.

    Cause: The Mister, operating under the premise that the more electronic devices you plug in and wire up, the happier you’ll be, tried to add one more router for wireless reception, which was just fine already, thank you very much. Apparently, routers of different brands don’t get along and have power struggles.

Problem:  The cat has a flea or two and scratches during the night causing her collar to jingle and keep me awake.

    Cause: Top Spot is no match for Florida fleas. This is identical to the problem I have having with Florida mosquitoes. They are too small, too fast, too plentiful.

Problem: The Snarl and I are cranky with each other.

    Cause: This one is convoluted but it has to do with the Snarl having to take a large private educational loan to justify her self-supporting status so she can be a Florida resident for tuition purposes. This is not some slight of hand on our part; she is truly a self-supporting, established resident who lives, votes and works independently in the state of Florida after taking a year between high school and college to "get organized." She supports herself more than 51%. FAFSA said she had to prove 51% of her own support at the out-of-state level first and she couldn’t count money that was in one of those educational accounts established in her name when she was very little. So, in a great catch-22 situation, she took a private loan with the intent to pay it back a week later and right after she signed for the loan, they immediately made her an in-state resident so she didn’t NEED the loan anyway and now we’re trying to pay it back. Except Wachovia sold their educational loan processing to someone else. True to form, no one at Wachovia knows WHO exactly, the online autopay registration doesn’t work, and there is no phone number, name or customer help line. Wachovia says to contact her financial aid office and that office says talk to Wachovia. And although neither end knows which is up, you can be certain that some computerized bean counter- that doesn’t have her account in the system by either loan number or social security number- is continuing to add interest. So I’m pushing at the Snarl to handle it and she, understandably, wants to ignore the whole mess. So we’re snarly and cranky and not really at each other. But back in the late 60s they stopped putting large plate glass windows in banks, so, you know, we’re stuck with taking it out on each other.

Problem: For the past three days I have been, once again, mile high in packing boxes.

    Cause: We hired such meticulous movers that they wrapped every single light bulb in bubble wrap and then paper wrap. Also, we had way too much stuff. That has now, once and for all, been remedied. There is no way the IRS is going to believe we gave to shelters, Salvation Army, AAUW and Purple Heart as much as we did this year.

The good news here is that most of what showed up was useful: porch furniture, a juicer, bird feeders, queen bed size linens, garden tools. It’s not entirely clear to me why I sent the dekbed purchased in Amsterdam a couple years ago down here. In theory, this is winter time in Florida and I can’t anticipate needing a snap together double decker down comforter any time soon. Two things arrived that I was excited to see: The Wit’s End sign and my solid cherry Norwood floor loom that I haven’t used since the children were tots and life got too busy.

Bdrm Windows
The other thing that showed up was the set of leaded glass windows I designed for the new bedroom windows. Back in Chicago I had found some Luxfer Glass Prism tiles, designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. He originally designed these for commercial architecture, as transom lights. The glass tiles were clear when made but because they contain magnesium, they have turned amethyst color with age. I bought these tiles for 4.00 each and got three designs- a teardrop style, a wavy style and a ridged style. They are textured on both sides. I found a woman in Chicago who does leaded glass repair on old houses and she put these together for me. I got enough of them to do a large window for the Chicago house and with the remainder I had these three small windows made to fit.

Because of the prism cuts in the tiles, the afternoon sun comes sparkling through in rainbows that the cats chase and I like them a lot. Maybe I’ll find a bunch of these old tiles and go into business. Oh- and Momma K wanted to know if any taxidermy arrived on the truck. Yes. Heeeerrrreeee’s Minky!Minkie

   

27 responses to “Things go haywire

  1. I just crossed over from ‘Rurality’ where your comment about her stone-filled milk cannister had me smiling. You are a hoot! To whom or what do you credit your sense of humor? (The bedroom is so serene – your leaded glass windows lovely, just lovely. Minky? Awww.

  2. Well, the purple windows seal it for me, I will be there to take it over and move in any day now. What a nice find they were! Anything Frank Lloyd Wright is fine in my book.

    I know how frustrating banks and loans and mortgages can be. They don’t want you to pay it off so soon so they obscure the way. I hope you can get it figured out quickly.

  3. I know how you feel; I’ve been sitting here all day on the verge of frustrated tears. Yet another snow day. Cooped up in the house. Snarling at my own daughter. I’m just not happy with life right now. Your photos of the place are extraordinary. Maybe I won’t cry quite yet.

  4. I absolutely love the windows and the bright airy look to the bedroom, but Minky wouldn’t survive ten minutes here with our house full of attack cats.

    Cranky is the word. Did I ever say that I thoroughly despise going shopping with Nyssa? Even though her vacation is shorter than the other students because of her RA duties, it still feels too long. She is here until Friday although she has some business to take care of in Williamsburg on Thursday. And now I must go and ice cookies… put the W&M on the ones already iced. Another one of her projects that needed help.

    You might ask a vet down there what they recommend. I do believe they are giving heart worm medication to cats now, especially ones where the mosquito population doesn’t die off in the winter.

  5. I absolutely love the windows and the bright airy look to the bedroom, but Minky wouldn’t survive ten minutes here with our house full of attack cats.

    Cranky is the word. Did I ever say that I thoroughly despise going shopping with Nyssa? Even though her vacation is shorter than the other students because of her RA duties, it still feels too long. She is here until Friday although she has some business to take care of in Williamsburg on Thursday. And now I must go and ice cookies… put the W&M on the ones already iced. Another one of her projects that needed help.

    You might ask a vet down there what they recommend. I do believe they are giving heart worm medication to cats now, especially ones where the mosquito population doesn’t die off in the winter.

  6. Great, that posted twice… (much sarcasm there)
    Please get rid of that second one.

  7. The windows are lovely-
    Purplish, not long.
    But, I fear Mr. Wright
    Might find Minky
    Just wrong.

    What’s good for the mink is not good for the guinea pig?

  8. Wow… Vicki, your home is so lovely! I can’t get over the windows and the light they create. Florida is looking more and more appealing.

  9. Were it mine I think I could spend many a happy morning watching the designs on the walls from those windows. Very beautiful.

  10. Oooh. I love those window covers. They’re lovely.

  11. Vicki, I love the tray ceiling, the paint colors and the trim. I will admit I totally completely covet the leaded glass. Real Bad. They are beautiful.

    Jenny told me today, while I was buying her lunch, that MY TONE was not as supportive and encouraging as she would like. This is while I’m handing her 100 dollar bills! (not really, 20’s)

  12. You mothers of twenty and twenty-one year olds have it rough, don’t you. You, and SRP, and AC…I just want you to know that you all will survive, and things will change. I survived.

    Ooh, I love those windows. Absolutely gorgeous. If my kitty were alive, she would love those lights coming through.

    I’m glad you’re back online. You were on such a roll there.

  13. Lovely, lovely, loverly windows.

    Minky wants to chase the windows, too.

  14. ergh. Not chase the windows, chase the rainbows. If you have time, can you please fix that for me. I hate not being able to edit comments.

  15. What a beautiful room, Vicki! I love the pale aqua walls and buttery trim with the lavender glass. And the ceiling fan! Not much call for ceiling fans here (we have snow for the third time this winter!), but sometimes I miss sleeping under one.

  16. Good God, woman…your abode is so tempting! Is that an Everglades Mink? And stained glass? I don’t think you have any idea what that does to a guilty Catholic.

    Wit’s End looks like the very best place to be.

  17. Student loans. Shudder.

    But Oh. My. Goodness. Those stained glass panels are spectacular! WOW! I love the Wit’s End sign!

    And, Minky! We have a Minky too. Although ours is a floppy Minky, not a stand-up-on-his-own Minky. Very cool!

  18. Should I ask who or what is a Minky??? Your home is so so so lovely, Vicki. Even though it’s hard work, don’t you get pleasure from it?

    It’s very easy to look the other way instead of tackling FAFSA and banks. Eeeeks.

    Take a peek at this night I had with the husband and the new computer installation: http://marys-view.blogspot.com/2006/12/evening-to-remember.html

    Thanks for the laughs…

  19. Vicki, re: your ice machine comment at my place.. I emailed you (using the address found on your sidebar, hope it still works for you) with some repair/troubleshooting infor. Let me know if I can help.

  20. Vicki, thanks for the visit. I had to come and say “Ah, but you ARE beautiful…”

  21. Vicki, re your comment on my post today:

    Did I say that???? Can you hear me laughing all the way down there?

    Your link didn’t work – looks like it got cut off. Can you send again?

  22. What a beautiful and serene looking place you have there. Those windows are beautiful. I love the light and airiness of your environment. A great place to spend the winter.

  23. Those photos looks so restful. I want to curl up like a cat on that bed and sleep in the sunlight.

  24. Life there in Florida sounds too complicated to me. All I have to do here in Michigan is figure out what to wear when I get up in the morning. And my wife even helps with that. See, you should have stayed in Ann Arbor.

  25. As gorgeous as you have made Florida, Michigan still has its perks. She has decked out all of her trees with sparkling diamonds, days and days worth. Miss you.

  26. As gorgeous as you have made Florida, Michigan still has its perks. She has decked out all of her trees with sparkling diamonds, days and days worth. Miss you.

  27. I have bottles in my antique bottle collection that are SCA “sun colored amethyst” like your tiles. Mine are natural from lying in a Florida marsh since 1870, but some folks put them under the UV lights to enhance the change.

    Those rooms look very cozy.

Leave a Reply

