Millie the pig, 1999-2007

There’s nothing worse than trying to go to sleep with a dead pet in the house. How am I going to tell the children?

Sophie told me, by refusing to come out from under the bed for most of the day. A couple minutes ago I looked under there and said, "Why are you staying under the bed all day?" and she looked back at me and said, telepathically, "Because the pig is dead, you nitwit." I knew in that instant she was right. I looked over in the corner and there she is, in her brand new cage, dead.

Okay, so now I’m weeping and wailing here. Rich is away on business until tomorrow evening, McCloud is on the kitchen counter, taking full advantage of the situation and thinking I won’t hear him eating Sophie’s food, Sophie is under
the bed and Millie is kaput.

Millie is the last in a line of undistinguished guinea pigs my children have had. When Abby asked me for another guinea pig in middle school I said sure because it was certain that I wouldn’t be stuck caring for it after she left home. They only live about about three years.

Millie has lived more than seven. Today is the first day in seven years that she did not eat her carrot. There is one little nibble off the end that she must have had early this morning when I first put it in there and said good day to her. She was quiet all day (I guess because she was probably, according to Sophie, dead for most of it) and now that I think of it, I guess she didn’t say "weep,weep,weep" much yesterday either.

In my wildest dreams I won’t get to die like Millie. Ancient, content and peaceful to the end. No way will I be allowed to just slow down in the final 2 days of my life, roll over on my side with my little feet stuck out and die. Millie gets to die like this because she has been an extraordinary, albeit undistinguished, creature of pure and simple heart. Millie has always been grateful for attention- delighted to be cuddled- but quite content to mind her own head of lettuce. She has never once, not one time, been a stitch of bother. She has always made happy sounds. She has been a hardcore vegetarian. She knew when Dan came in the house and called to greet him even when he had been gone for months. She let Sophie sleep with her when Sophie first came from the shelter and was lonely for her cage mates. She never bit once, never even nipped. She had beautiful black and butterscotch cowlicks.

Now I’m just sitting here dripping mucous into my keyboard. Dear Lord, that pig was easy to love. Let her have all the romaine and frisee she wants, please.

I have to go put her and her new cage in the other bedroom and shut the door. Tomorrow I’ll have to tell the kids and figure out what to do with her. This is terrible. Come to think of it, now for the first time, she’s a bit of a bother. I guess, under the circumstances, she’s excused.

Dear Millie. Bless your little heart. Rest in peace.Millie_1

24 responses to “Millie the pig, 1999-2007

  1. Farewell, Millie. You were loved.

  2. Rest in Peace, Millie. If ever a pig was loved, it was you. You were blessed to have been in such good hands.

    Our pets our so entwined in the story of our lives that when one dies it is like a part of our story dies too.

  3. Millie lived a full life, indeed.

    If you were here, I would give you tea and crumpets and take you to see MISS POTTER at the cinema.

    {{{hugs}}}

  4. Millie! It is a good day to die! I will write a poem for your viking klingon funeral!

  5. (strikethrough)viking(end strikethrough)

  6. Millie is dead. Long live Millie!

    I’m sorry, Vicki.

  7. Rest well, little pig. Sending you hugs, Vicki.

  8. She was beautiful and obviously well-loved. A gourmet of lettuces and carrots and what a loving creature to share her abode with a kitten! Rest in peace, Millie.

    Sophie, Mr. Rhett sends his deep condolences and if he were there you could cry on his shoulder and he would share his fleece pillow with you. He would also stare deeply into your mommy’s eyes and softly touch her hand with his paw to comfort her.

    MOURNING, MORNING ~ by Piggywig (Heather & John Morgan)

    I dreamt there was a field beyond the sky
    with rolling hills bathed golden by the sun.
    A place where all the souls of piggies fly
    when sleep and dreams on Earth to them have come.

    Long shadows of a leafy, spreading tree
    give comfort to the piggies heading past,
    and mama pig calls, “Please come home to me.
    Your journey’s destination’s here at last.”

    The smell of berries red ripe on the vine
    is veiled in clover and in baby’s breath.
    No sadness shall you feel at eventide.
    Just nestle next to mama and be at rest.

    I dreamed a thousand dreams of hope and then
    all piggies old shall be made new again.

  9. Coming from a person who attended formal burial services for my daughter’s gerbils, I understand completely. May Millie rest in peace.

  10. Millie was one lucky pig. If I ever come back as any kind of animal, I’d like to live with you, Vicki. (I’d live with you as a person too but that is not my point)

    We had pigs and it was not anything like your time with dear Millie – which is why I know how good you are. Do me (really you) a favor and don’t leave her in the bedroom too long, okay?

    You are so sweet. I wish I could come over there and give you a giant hug and a box of kleenex.

    xo

  11. So sorry to hear about your family pet…I know when I lost 4 cats in one week it was very hard.

  12. St. Petersburg-ite wannabe...

    Wishing you well in telling the entire family of Millie’s death. Having had a whole zoo of different pets in our family, at least 4 rabbits to bury and several cats, 5 parakeets, an adorable brown rat, I know how they are a wonderful addition to a family’s life and hard to see go. Love the photo, she did have an envious death. Goodbye Millie.
    PS Time to start a family plot in the back yard…?

  13. Having just seen Charlotte’s Web again (it’s delightful) I thought immediately of Wilbur when I saw the post title.
    However, the death of any pet is certainly a sad time for one’s family.
    This was a lovely tribute to your Millie!
    🙂

  14. Sorry to hear about Millie’s passing. She had a wonderful life, well-loved and cared for. What more could anyone ask for? My sympathies for your loss.

  15. So sorry.
    I haven’t had a Guinea Pig for awhile, but I always enjoyed their happy whistles when I walked in the room, and that little purry thing they do.
    She had a good Guinea Pig life.

  16. Rainbow Bridge

    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge.

    There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.

    There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.

    The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    Author unknown…

    I hope this brings a little comfort until you see Millie again.

  17. I am deeply sorry for your loss. Guinea pigs rule.

  18. What a sweet and faithful little creature she was.

    I am certain that our pets go to heaven.

    On my best days, I barely believe in God, but even on my worst days I believe that our pets are waiting for us in heaven.

  19. Vicki,

    Weird things happen in cyberspace. I just viewed my comment I left this morning (above from Mary) and those aren’t my words?!? I referred to burying gerbils in my comment. Is there perhaps another Mary’s View out there? Strange… Any clues as to how this happened?

  20. Vicki – never mind my previous comment. I’m a complete idiot. I was looking *below* my name – not above it. Silly me…

  21. Sorry Millie’s gone.

  22. What a beautiful tribute to the kind little soul that was Millie. I am weeping too, and I don’t even like guinea pigs. I’m very sorry for your loss.

  23. I came over here from Laura’s blog.
    Millie was a sweetie, and lived a long, happy life. Better that she died nibbling a carrot, instead of being neglected by some loser.

  24. It is one thing to cry over your own dearly departed GP. It’s another thing entirely to make other people cry over your DDGP! Or maybe I’m still having HRT issues. Anyway, sorry to hear that Mille has gone.

Leave a Reply

