In the beginning…

I wrote my first post March 11, 2005 and titled it "Egg Tooth." That’s one of the categories I use sometimes, from the list in my sidebar. Some of those in the list I never use; they are put there automatically by typepad. Those are the generic ones: Food and Drink, Science, Travel, Web/Tech. Never will you see a "web/tech" post here. If I knew anything about web/tech those useless categories wouldn’t be in my sidebar. Sometimes I write about food or something vaguely scientific but I don’t tend to use those categories at all. Lost Loon Lodge, Wit’s End, Cast of Characters (usually Starter People), It’s All Happening At the Zoo- those are the categories that have to do with me. And Egg Tooth. Posts in that category are as likely as not to have something to do a thought or two I’m mulling over.

Wikipedia says: An egg tooth is a small protuberance on the beak or nose of vertebrates that are hatched from eggs, i.e., birds and reptiles. Some lizards and snakes develop a true tooth
that is shed after use; birds and other reptiles generally develop an
analogous epidermal horn that is reabsorbed or falls off. Both
varieties of egg tooth assist in the breaking or tearing of the eggshell, a process known as pipping.
 

Hatchlingeggtoothpreserve_2
But I didn’t find it there back when I wrote my first post; I already knew about egg teeth because we had hatched ducklings and we love turtles and so forth and so on. Here’s a picture of one of those gopher tortoises (Gopherus polypnemus), native to Florida, that FC wrote about. This one is brand new and still with egg tooth, just beginning to find his/her way.

________________________________________
Virginia Woolf wrote a short book called The Mark on The Wall and it’s mostly about stream of consciousness. On one level, "The Mark on the Wall" is a humorous record of one mildly eccentric woman’s thoughts as she sits by the fire on a winter’s day. Yet on another level, the thoughts this woman thinks and—more importantly—the way she thinks them amount to a manifesto for modern literature. In Woolf’s view, traditional narrative form cannot do justice to the tumultuous randomness of life.

My blog has nothing remotely to do with "literature" but it does sometimes seem to me that the blogs I read and the stuff of my blog often do justice to that tumultuous randomness. So, for a while, in honor of a new year, clean slates, stream-of-consciousness, etc., I’m going to call this place A Mark on My Wall.
___________________________________
Sweater_1
Here are two things:

The sweater I am going to finish within the week. It’s nice sweater weather around here in St. Petersburg today and it probably will be again over the next couple months and I like these bright colors. It’s in cashmerino dk/ Debbie Bliss yarns and it’s softer than soft with merino, cashmere and just enough microfiber to keep it’s shape and not pill. I don’t know what microfiber is. Huh.

And here is a picture of my kitchen drawer pulls here in my new kitchen. Are they gorgeous or what? This is a very modest little arts and crafts bungalow that dates back to the 1930s and I undertook to expand it while trying to keep the old part of the house and the new addition relatively "seamless." I also was on a budget and over the years I’ve learned that sometimes really nice small touches can go a long ways.

The cabinets themselves are solid, mid-range and plain. The main backsplash tile was downright cheap inexpensive. Tomorrow I’ll show you what I did with the addition of a few Motawi Arts and Crafts tiles.Pull

________________________________
I wish I knew a really good joke. Some of my favorite neighbors are the ones who make me laugh. They make life itself seem laughable. Jane, Mary, Momma K- those friends, for example. I don’t think my life has been all that laughable lately, not that I’m complaining mind you, because it’s plenty rich, just not particularily funny. But I’m getting there. In the meantime I’ll look for a good joke.

12 responses to “In the beginning…

  1. I heard one yesterday but it’s one that could have gone on for hours. No way to reconstruct it in print.

    A real shaggy dog story.

  2. Well, here’s a good one for you:

    Bessie, the town gossip and supervisor of the town’s morals, recently accused George, a local man, of being an alcoholic because she saw his pickup truck parked outside the town’s only bar.

    George stared at her for a moment, and said nothing.

    Later that evening, he parked his pickup truck in front of her house and left it there all night.

  3. Those drawer pulls are gorgeous. You’re absolutely right, it’s the small details that make the difference. My husband and I are on the downhill side of 3+ years of building a new house ourselves, and it still amazes me how the details make it ours.

  4. Here’s one the boys came up with when I was tucking them into bed the other night …

    Why did the chicken cross the road?

    Because Mommy was getting the mail.
    (I had to laugh because it’s true – my “peeps” follow me around the yard all the time!)

    Miss you!

  5. Oh, I love gopher tortoises. I hope with all of the development in Florida that they don’t get buried alive. That seemed to be what was happening there for a while.

    I can hardly wait to see pictures of your house.

  6. I’m not feeling at all funny tonight. I am as cross as a bear. A certain Starter Person around here got on my last nerve tonight.

  7. I only know one joke, and I’ve probably told it to you before. But just in case, here it is.

    Where did Hitler keep his armies?

    Up his sleevies!

    If that didn’t make you laugh, I know where you can get a good picture of Godzilla with some peeps…

  8. Starter People are hard to live with! (or without) I wondered about the egg tooth category, but came to the party late–so was sure I had missed reading something carefully enough. I do guilt SO WELL! The drawer is gorgeous, and the place sounds cozy. Are we still on for early March when I’m in Tampa? I would love to see you.

  9. The Mark on the Wall is like a yoga drishti, oui?

    Q: Why did the Philharmonic disband?
    A: Excessive sax and violins

    You are a good egg – toothsome, too.

  10. Vicki,

    Honestly, don’t change a thing about yoru writing. You HAS been funny lately, and beautifun, and stunning really. Your writing is beautifully honest and calming and yet, funny, all at the same time. In fact, when I look back on overall posts (not just yours) that have made me laugh in the past, some of yours are tops.

    Stay the course.

    Or maybe I’m just saying that because I never have any good jokes either.

    Nah. I just like you, Vicki, the way you are.

  11. But I understand your need to laugh. My mom only wanted to watch comedies after my Dad died.

  12. I’m with Raehan, Vicki, I wouldn’t change a thing.

    Those are Frank Lloyd Wright handles, even if he didn’t design them. He guided the hand of the one who did.I love them. I want to redo my kitchen, paint the cabinets and put on new pulls. Those would surely be at the top of my list.

Leave a Reply

