A Day for Football

When I was a youngster- 19 to be precise- I worked nights at the old St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor. During the day I attended the University. At night I was an ECG technician and in the dark hours we did emergencies and also “routine” electrocardiograms on surgical patients. Back then a coronary bypass meant two to three weeks in the hospital (nowadays, you get dumped out after 48 hours). I liked getting to know some of the patients who were there day after day, doing their nightly ECGs. Bo Schlembecher was one of those people. He had just gotten a triple bypass. Over a two week period we chatted most evenings for about 20 minutes; he was a warm and delightful man who seemed to care much more about what classes I was taking and he didn’t mind at all that I knew not one wit about football. Years later, we would meet again, around community charity events and I had the pleasure of doing a couple of fund raisers with his wife.

Bo Schlembecher died yesterday. I am sad. I knew him, not only as a great football coach, but as a pretty fine human being. GO BLUE!

12 responses to “A Day for Football

  1. It’s really lovely to read your words and to see a personal glimpse into a man who had a public face. I don’t follow football either, so his name did not ring a bell for me, but I can tell it rang for a lot of people who remembered with great affection.

  2. I am very sorry for your loss and the loss to Michigan on this day.

  3. Great piece, Vicki. He was something good. And good luck for today: ABC!!

  4. I’m all bummed out about it too. Loved him. And if he’s got anything to do with it, we’re going to kick Ohio’s ass. That’d be cool. 🙂

  5. OK, Oklahoma handled Baylor so now it is time for Michigan to take Ohio State. I have never been that fond of Ohio State so “good luck”!

    I do hope the memory of such a great man will inspire those players today.

  6. I thought of you when I heard that he had died, Vicki. I am sorry.

  7. And I read that his doctor thinks that it might have been the excitement of the game that was too much for him. He sounds like a wonderful man.

  8. Sorry that your team lost, Vicki, I was rooting for them.

  9. Sorry about the loss of the coach. That’s tough.

    As for the football loss, I was rooting for UofM, partly because I thought it would give ND a better chance at the finals, but I also was thinking of you.

  10. That was quite a game…. I thought several times that Michigan would pull it out. I think we might as well go ahead and give it to Ohio State because I don’t think there is a team out there that could beat them.

  11. I wasn’t home to see the game, but by the score, it sounds like Michigan surely put up a good fight.

  12. yeah I sat here and debated whether I should go to the funeral service today….and then thought, well…I didn’t know the man personally, but I’ve heard from many who knew him like yourself, he was a great man.

    I might be around your new woods in December. Perhaps if we have time we could grab some grub.

Leave a Reply

