Leaves of Grass

A child said What is the grass? fetching it to me with full hands;

How could I answer the child? I do not know what it is any more

than he.

I guess it must be the flag of my disposition, out of hopeful green

stuff woven.

Or I guess it is the handkerchief of the Lord,

A scented gift and remembrancer designedly dropt,

Bearing the owner’s name someway in the corners, that we may see

and remark, and say Whose?

Or I guess the grass is itself a child, the produced babe of the

vegetation.

Or I guess it is a uniform hieroglyphic,

And it means, Sprouting alike in broad zones and narrow zones,

Growing among black folks as among white,

Kanuck, Tuckahoe, Congressman, Cuff, I give them the same, I

receive them the same.

And now it seems to me the beautiful uncut hair of graves. (Walt Whitman)

____________________________________________________

This week I have been enjoying the Lurie Grass Garden in the heart of the city. In the middle of all of those grasses there was a large patch of fall blooming anemones, just like the ones I had in my garden in Ann Arbor. Living here, reducing our possessions and simultaneously, our footprint, is teaching me that I don’t necessarily need to own something to take pleasure in it. (click all photos to enlarge).

It turned cold over night as predicted but the winds haven’t really picked up yet to an impressive level- when they do, there’s a photo request for “wind.” And the Lyric Opera is still in the wings. Also, that little expectant sweet snip, Mrs. S, tagged me for a meme about where we live- one where you short answer about the best/worst features of your home town. I’m hoping she’ll deliver and get distracted shortly. But it did make me think about something I struggle with here in Chicago (beyond boxes and sparrows). A philosophical/value/world view sort of dilemma. So, I’m working on that.

In the meantime, I’m taking three wonderful days off with Rich. This is a big treat for us; between move and work we haven’t had enough time to fight with gay abandon, have make-up sex, just relax and be close. Today we’re flying to St. Louis for one of the last Chihuly Nights at the Missouri Botanical Gardens. I’ve never been to St. Louis so tomorrow he will show me the city where he has his other family, works diligently so much of the time. We’ll stay at the Westin- no big deal for him but for me? Hotel soap!! Except the TSA has taken all the pleasure out of that now, haven’t they?

On Saturday morning early, I signed up for a special photographer’s hour that is limited to 25 and allows tripods. Pictures! Some of my favorite bloggers are such good photographers that they do great work with much older (Roxanne) or non-digital (FC) cameras. I’m lusting after one of those new image stabilizing telephoto lens for my digital but the price will have to drop first. What do you use?

Sweet husband, soaring art glass, beautiful gardens, hotel soap- what more could a woman possibly want?

Anemone

Leaves_of_grass2

Leaves_of_grass1
Leavesofgrass

12 responses to “Leaves of Grass

  1. I see nothing wrong with your photos at all…. but that workshop sounds like fun. St. Louis…. I think that is about an hour and a half from where we will be having the family get together. As I told Beverly, who we will pass on our way, I will wave.

    Have you seen those flexible tripods that will wrap around almost anything. Something for my Christmas list for sure. Have a great trip!

  2. Did you see the Chiluly glass when it was in St. Pete? That was two or three years ago. I was in St. Louis in February a year or two ago. Downtown was not too exciting…did go up in the arch, and walked around Busch stadium and saw the statues of all the Cardinals from years gone by.

    Have a good time. I’m enjoying your photos of Chicago. Stay warm.

  3. Yeah, you and your camera are one of the reasons I hate to post pictures of my own (I mentioned this in my latest blog). I have an old Nikon 35mm, buy regular film, then have digital photos made along with prints. Ironically, the digital pix usually turn out better.

    Off to harrass our mutual Spartan blogging buddy.

  4. Beautiful, beautiful, as always. The words and the photos!

  5. Hi, I did my 13 thursday on blogg hoping and some how your blogg came up.
    Like the different grass picture. What grass I see now is pretty light brown our neighbors cow pasture. plus our yard is surly not bright green.
    Stop by and have a good day

  6. I have those same fall-blooming anemones, and I love them. Hardy as hell, aren’t they?

  7. If you send a damned fool to St. Louis, and you don’t tell them he’s a damned fool, they’ll never find out.
    ~Mark Twain/Life on the Mississippi

    J’adore the Botanical Gardens. Dine at Dominic’s on The Hill, if you have time. Ted Drewes Frozen Custard is not overrated. Main Street St. Charles is the place that made historic preservationists out two of my daughters.

    Your photos look great to me!

    Someone sounds strangely serene and satisfied. Should we suspect that she savily secured special stabilizing stuff or that she secretly scrubbed spouse with said soap?

  8. You sound happy.
    Have a great time in St. Louis and bring back some pics.

  9. Hi, hope you have a wonderful time on your three day get away. I would love to go to St. Louis especially to see the Catholic Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis. It houses the largest collection of mosaics in the world. From what I have seen on the Internet it is gorgeous.

  10. Chihuly is amazing; we have been to the Glass museum, the art museum where he had some of his amazing work, and the Union Station with its chandelier. I’m sure you know that he is from my area, so I am very familiar with his work. I am in awe of his gift. I hope you have a wonderful time away!

  11. Snip or not, I still think it’ll be good for you 😉

    As for cameras, I use the Sony CyberShot from two years ago with no accessories or attachments. Then again, I don’t take many fabulous pictures, so for a point-and-click camera is more than covers my needs. Plus, it’s red – and everybody knows that red is best.

  12. Chihuly does amazing work, and, like Margaret, I’m lucky enough to see his installations frequently. Have a wonderful weekend, Vicki. At least you can enjoy the hotel toiletries while you’re there.

Leave a Reply

