PCMA

The final Ann Arbor meeting of PCMA (Poker Club My Ass, which is a subcommittee of BCMA- Book Club My Ass) was moving along nicely until FG upped the ante. Normally, we play for chips or small change but seeing as the moving van arrives tomorrow morning at 8 AM this gathering was partly a ruse for one last tidy-up.

Because we were completely bogged down with packing we convened at our place but we didn’t do any of the food. Patti brought meatballs in a crock pot, a delicious salute to Rich’s Lutheran roots, and plenty of potables. Audrey made her chocolate cloud cake and Kristen roasted summer vegetables to go with a great garlic and Spanish olive oil dip. So we ate well and began playing Texas Hold’em with home canned tomatoes, the remaining contents of my pantry and plants too large for the new place as prizes. Everyone was delighted and the betting was bold. Until FG upped the ante. At some point, he decided the time was right to bring up the miscellany from his office and plonk it in the middle of the table. He seemed to have an endless supply.

On this particular hand the winner got:

The Book, KJV, "in Spectacular Stereo" on 12 audio cassettes
A 12 year old Brita water dispenser
2 Burt Bacharach and 1 Andy Williams "Greatest Hits" on vinyl.
A SuperBowl XXXIII gym bag
QuickBooks for MS-DOS
A faux wood mini cabinet for audio cassettes
The TeleZapper, a device that, when your land line is routed through, zaps telemarketers??
The oldest cell phone ever made, by Blaupunkt
Half of an intercom set
And an ESPN water bottle

You can see that the flop was good- 2 Kings and an Ace. When a third King showed on the river, Patti dumped her pocket King as fast as she could. In fact, it took less than 10 seconds for the entire table to fold, leaving Kristen the winner. We didn’t make her take that pile of schlock.Pcma

Instead FG offered to help her load the giant peace lily she had won earlier in the evening- and that was when we discovered that the inner pot was sitting in a large outer pot of the most stagnant water any of us had ever smelled- ever. The stench, when the pots were separated, was so unbelievably bad everyone collapsed in hysterical laughter. This sodden disaster weighed easily 40 pounds but FG was determined and loaded it into several large black plastic bags. It was still truly awful. Then two of the guys wrestled it into her car where Kristen seatlbelted it snug lest it spill or drip.

The smell in her car was as foul as anything you can imagine but Kristen left, all windows down, optimistic that she could turn this horticultural nightmare around with a little sunshine and fresh air. Everyone else packed up their canned goods, plants and spices and we said our tearful goodbyes. We have been good friends for many many years, as much as 30 and it’s hard to imagine not seeing these people on a frequent and regular basis. The first Chicago meeting of PCMA will be in early November.

15 responses to “PCMA

  1. I think that you guys could make even a city council meeting fun and exciting!! I know it must be hard for you to leave those friends – but surely they will visit you in Chicago, and the plant may just live with proper care and attention…..LOL. Obviously it got none where it was.

  2. I love gatherings like that and have actually played Texas Hold em once. I prefer regular poker though; I understand it better. I could find lots around here to “bet” with!

  3. I can see how happy you all are! What a wonderful night!
    hahaha at plant smell..I had one like that once and I could not believe it smelled that bad…
    Have a wonderful day!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=) hugs
    (“)_ (“)Š from da Raggedy one

  4. Oh, that was fun! Wit, charm and good food. Perfect, bittersweet night. Did Audrey have any trouble loading that 6 X 6 foot split leaf?

  5. No, Roberta, I think Roy and Rich wrestled that plant into the van without much trouble. It was when I got home, and tried to fit the GIANT PLANT through my not-as-giant back door (with the help of one chocolate lab and one small black cat) that the fun began! Fret not! The GP (GIANT PLANT) is now happily settled in the eastern facing bay window area of our front room.
    😉 audrey

  6. The OutsideIns truly know how to ring off the old in preparation for the new. FG is super wise to unload fetid dirt. And to keep the gym bag.

    Have a nice trip, Vicki. Don’t be lonely.

  7. I left a wish for you at my place.
    Have a wonderful day!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=) hugs
    (“)_ (“)Š from da Raggedy one

  8. I recognize that cassette holder. I think there may be two, or three, or four of those in my storage unit. Good luck with the moving van… remember to wear the extra deoderant, don’t put the two cats in the same box, and duct tape should never be used to play practical jokes.

    Our trip is over… flew back from New York this morning but I still have many, many pictures and posts from the adventures there. Am also anticipating pictures from the friends there who adventured with my brother in Germany.

    Will be looking forward to more pictures, more news and that excitement that only a new home, new city and new opportunities can bring.

    Now I am going to bed, since I fell asleep three times just while typing this.

  9. Aww..I love that shit 😉 As the old Romeo would say “Good on’ya ”

  10. Poker Club My Derriere! Was the ESPN bottle a Nalgene? KJV Bible – even better news!

    Still praying for you, Vicki, moreso after reading about your having to leave those fine friends!

  11. LMAO, Quickbooks for DOS!!!

    This is why I consider you the anti-Patrisde: the light to my dark. When it comes to poker, I’m SAVAGE and not satisfies until I fleece everyone at the table. So you’ve been warned…

  12. You guys look like such a wonderful bunch. Such fun!!

    I’ve been thinking of you, Vicki. I hope your move is going well. You new home looks divine and I can’t wait to see more pictures.

    xoxox

  13. OMG! When did Rich sneak into my storage and clean it out for me! WOohoo! and here I thought I was going to have so much unloading to do. ROFL…

    In all seriousness, it looks like a great group of people. Wish I could have been there to join in the party, and been in Chicago to be on the welcoming committee. I’d love to hit the windy city in November for the first meeting, but I haven’t a clue how to play poker. 🙂

  14. What a great looking circle of pals. It has to be tough to leave such old friends.

  15. Have a wonderful day!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=) hugs
    (“)_ (“)Š from da Raggedy one

Leave a Reply

