Let’s Play Post Office

Closesoph
It’s Friday and that’s Ark day; Sophie says she would like to board quickly and get out of the chaos around here. No, I didn’t disappear again, except into the hinterlands of the basement. Remember that movie, The Never Ending Story, where the young protagonist and his horse are mired in the quicksands of the Sea of Despair? Well, it’s not that bad, but Amy is cheering me on, "Get up! Get up! You can do it! Have hope!" and I’m the horse, drowning in stuff.

If nothing else, I am determined. It’s become abundantly clear to me that I spent way too many years as the magpie of children’s toys, books, shiny pieces of glass and stone and bits of string. I have padded my nest way too well. This has become an opportunity to streamline, simplify and shrink our footprint. We will no longer be taking up quite so much more than our fair share of space on this precious planet.

Say! WHO had beautiful babies?!?! I know, I know, every blog features baby pictures at some point, but my babies are pretty much grown. These photos were taken precisely 26 years ago today, with a newly purchased 20.00 camera. Dan was the first reason for me to ever take photographs. Great dimple, huh? Please click to enlarge it!Babydan

I’ve had this fantasy that the kids would someday want all this stuff. Surely, the time would come when they would need that spare set of dishes, the double four poster bed of their childhood, beautiful baby clothes and every report card they ever got. Well, no. They don’t want it and can’t anticipate wanting it. So each child now has only a file box with school pictures, a clay art project, noteworthy certificates, a hand knit baby sweater, a christening gown. They will still stay with me but when the time comes and they are ready, that’s what they will have. I trust they will be appropriately grateful that their mother left them tidy packages rather than houses full of life’s miscellany.

Legos
One exception to the "this has to disappear" rule is the Legos. Dan wants me to hang on to the Brio train and the Legos. This 20 gallon bin is the stuff of his happy childhood memories. He and his daddy played for countless hours, every evening for years, just building and chatting about the day. So, these I will store for him.

The Re-Discovered Item of the Day: Picker Stickers! That’s what we have always called them, from my childhood on. This is the classic set of Colorforms with a billion geometric shapes but over the years there have been cartoon Picker Stickers, weather Picker Stickers and garden Picker Stickers. We never stooped to Barbie Picker Stickers although if we had they would fetch a lot at the YARD SALE Big Dave is planning to attend. That will be two weeks from now and you can see from Amy’s comment on the last post, it promises to be a good one. Do you think Meeta or Big Dave would like some beautiful little finches in a fine aviary? Please go convince them.Colorforms

The POTLATCH does indeed continue. I’m building a science corner for a certain first grade teacher, I found a couple of fine frogs that need a home and I have a few field guides with someone in mind. I’m trying to get Sophie to relinquish one of her ball track toys and she says, "NO! Never! Well, maybe for Rhett…" Amy and I have these items all sorted and I’ve made labels so we’ll do our first major post office run next Wednesday. As Edgy Mama pointed out to me, I don’t have the time for daily runs; this will be a weekly thing. That means you still have time to join and spread the word.

Last night I wandered through the neighborhood and peeked in your windows but I didn’t make any noise; I’m on the move. M’Kay– next month, I promise. And I felt beautiful when I was pregnant, but not THAT beautiful. My holiday weekend treat will be taking time out to read all of those Perfect Posts. Gene, please don’t quit while you’re a head. Oh, har de har har.

Next up: getting rid of world globes. Anybody need a vintage world globe?

14 responses to “Let’s Play Post Office

  1. Indeed, Dan was a beautiful baby. And I absolutely love that he wants you to hang on to the legos. Actually, it makes me tear up a little bit.

    Vicki, you will feel so light and free after this is all over. I wish I could come and help you.

  2. Have you thought about contacting the Antique Road Show for some of your things? What if there is a rare, unique, vintage world globe that is in fabulous condition and only three have ever survived and you have one and at auction it would bring enough to pay off your new house in Chicago and even let you keep Wits End and the birds and such? OK, stop and take a breath. Well, what if?

    OOOO, I remember colorforms. When I was a little girl I had a set of the weather ones. It was the dress the little boy and girl for the weather of the day. Those were really great ideas, sort of like paper dolls that didn’t tear. Since my folks had to move so much my toys went away. I do wish Mom had saved a few of my dolls, especially my Barbies, if only because of the handmade wardrobe my grandmother made them. But, some other well deserving little girl with much less than I had gave them a loving home.

    Don’t you just love the toothless grins on babies? And that tiny bit of drool that can’t help showing up? What a cutie pie. I can see him now, turning red and saying “AWWWW Mom!”

    Mr. Rhett made me let him board the Ark today just to see if Sophie was there.

  3. Wow! I have my sons baby pictures from around the same age as yours in the same frame! How odd is that. He is now 13. In my family it is the wives of these grown boys who love to have bits of their husbands past to look at. I think it is very nice that you are saving them. I have all the same stuff, legos, brio, and every Thomas the tank engine wooden train, all from my sons earlier years. There are stacks of bins in the cellar that I will have to go through one day. I am sure some of the things you are finding are bringing back some very wonderful memories…
    *^_^
    (=’:’=) meow hugs
    (“)_ (“)Š from da Raggedy one

    .

  4. Strangely, I have an old world globe – it doubles as a lamp, so I can tell my husband “turn that lamp on and light up my world, honey”… okay, so maybe it was funnier in my head.

  5. Finches, eh. Are they alive or dead? Well, doesn’t matter–either way I doubt whether the missus would allow another pet in the house. I did see something about tools. I’ve given my boys the fatherly advice that they can never go wrong buying tools. They’ll always come in handy some day.

  6. Well, you’re a cute little horse and a sentimental one, too.

    The christening dresses remind me of Luther’s elegant quotation: Get the little heathen baptized.

    Dan must have been a beautiful baby, cause baby, look at him now!

    A little bird told me that Dave sometimes has a difficult time appreciating the finer things in life, like 3 SPARTAN basketball recruits in yesterday’s NBA draft, for instance. I bet that Meeta is embracing her inner Spartan right about now.

    You have the gift of taking great care of your belongings and your friends, Vicki!

  7. For the reason that the first picture IS of Dan, I can see Dan in it. (Does that make sense?) Really, it is almost like a 26 year old baby.

    I have an old world globe here, but it is not for Potlatch. I don’t want young people to know where the Belgian Congo is.

  8. Friday Ark #93

    We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, beer, coffee cups, and….? We will add you…

  9. Vicki's sister, Betsy

    Picker stickers. Mom said the only gift she ever needed to give me was those. All else (but especially the Betsy Wetsy doll when I was five — what was Grandma Aller thinking of for someone who already was experiencing this lovely nickname on a daily basis?!?) was immaterial once the picker stickers were located and opened. That weather version must have gotten around; I remember it well, with a smile.

  10. Good luck whittling the pile down. Cute baby pics…of course!
    Glad it’s you moving and not me…

  11. Friday Ark #93

    We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, beer, coffee cups, and….? We will add you…

  12. You are inspiring me to go through my junk-even though I’m not moving. But first I have to get out of PA.

  13. Vicki, we are a lot alike. I have had 4-5 garage sales over the past 30 years, but I still have enough stuff to fuel a few more. You may be inspiring me to clean out and have another one.

  14. My kids are now playing with Legos that were their Dad’s when he was a kid. I mean, they don’t decompose, you might as well save them for your grandkids.

Leave a Reply

