Memorial Day- again

A little more than a year ago I posted the first picture here. It is my brother-in-law, Bill, receiving the American flag from the chaplain at Arlington National Cemetery when we had his father interred there a year ago last March. My Rich is on the far end in that photo and one brother is only visible by the tip of his nose. I am adding one of the four brothers walking behind the caisson. They were all born within four and a half years. Two have served in Vietnam, one in Panama. The final photo is part of the honor guard for Rich’s father: a soldier, a decorated hero, a Lt. Colonel who lead soldiers. Behind the guard you see- well, thousands of markers. There are thousands upon thousands more there at Arlington. And all around the world. Bill is still in Iraq this Memorial Day, concluding over 35 years of service to his country. We are getting down to the end; he is due home next month. This feels like the scariest time.

You no more win a war than you can win an earthquake.
Jeannette Rankin (1880-1973)

Our only hope today lies in our
ability to recapture the revolutionary spirit and go into a sometimes
hostile world declaring eternal hostility to poverty, racism, and
militarism.
Martin Luther King, Jr.(1929-1968)Arlington_51_1

Arlington_34

Arlington_52

 

12 responses to “Memorial Day- again

  1. Beautiful post Vicki. I’m so glad Bill will be home soon. Keep the faith. ^j^

  2. Until recently I never knew how a soldier came to be buried in Arlington National Cemetery. It is an honor available to all those who have served this nation so well in the military. I want to visit some day, perhap lay a wreath to show personal gratitude to each one.

    Glad to hear your brother-in-law will be home soon.

    Glad you’re back.

  3. The girls and I will be doing our own small tribute here later today.

    Beautiful post.

  4. A day to honor heroes!

    So great to find you here today!

    xoxoxo

  5. Too personal, I bet, to mention your Mom…I remembered her for you, Vicki.

    And I will be VERY GLAD when BIL is home.

  6. Inspiring photos, Vicki, and sobering.

  7. What a relief it will be for Bill’s family when he returns home. Keeping my fingers and toes crossed for him.

  8. Wow…great post. You have a true understanding of the meaning behind the holiday. It’s not all about BBQs and a day off work. Thanks.

  9. Beautiful Memorial Day post, it makes me ashamed – all I got is MOOBS!!! 😀

  10. I remember an awe-inspiring feeling of reverence when our family visited Arlington several years ago. It is as if you are standing on a cornerstone of America when you visit those hallowed grounds.

    It was hot in Ann Arbor yesterday. And the way you mentioned it in your comment on my blog made me believe you had something to do with turning on the heat here. We need more spring weather before summer.

    Think I saw your son’s band playing in the top of the park series. Maybe I can catch them there, schedule permitting.

  11. Safe Journey home to Bill and to all who are waiting.

  12. Thank you for your wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

