On the wing

YogapeliThis is as close as this pelican can get to Bakasana position, but then he’s not a crow. And I promised the Coopers hawk. All week long he’s been ki-ki-ki-ki-ki-ing at me while I sit on my bee infested park bench and either I didn’t have the telephoto on or at hand or I just plain couldn’t locate him by sight. But this morning I snagged him, just in time to throw him aboard Friday’s Ark.

I always say "he" but there is a he and a she and who knows what’s in the oven nest?  I don’t think she’s actually sitting yet but I do think she’s laying. She’ll lay one every day or two until she has 4-5 and then they’ll take turns sitting for about 24 days. It seems to me that only 3-4 hatch so perhaps a couple of the eggs don’t develop. Come to think of it, I haven’t seen both off the nest together for a few days so it’s possible they’ve just started the incubation process.

PerspectiveOnce they hatch the fun begins: on average a six week old Coopers hawk eats 9 English sparrows and a mouse or two per day. All that gets ripped up and served in bite size pieces and the dining table is usually over the neighbor’s Mercedes. They keep threatening to "shoot that damn bird."

I’ll be back down again at the end of the month so I’ll be able to tell whether there are hatchlings or not and I’ll post again about the growth and development of these raptors. These pictures are the "he"- he is smaller than the female and his "leggings" are not nearly as pronounced. For your perspective, he sits at the top of this very tall tree so it’s hard to get a good clear shot…HawkHawk2

7 responses to “On the wing

  1. Friday Ark #76

    We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, beer, coffee cups, and….? We will add you…

  2. Of course you knew I would appreciate a pelican in crow pose. But, bird poo on a Mercedes – that mental image is worse than the photo at Hoss’s place to me! MAKE BIODIESEL NOT WAR! ;~)

  3. I thought sure that was the Bellican position.

    Great pix of the Cooper’s, Vickster. Take that, digital cameras.

  4. OK, so telling everyone that you can’t get a good shot and then coming up with fantastic shots? What’s this? LOL. The Pelican looks like he has tried to tie himself in a knot.

    What kind of camera do you have? I dream of the “big” one some day.

    We have these blue skies here today but cold. It was 81 degrees here at the beach yesterday. I sat on the ground and took macro shots of daffodils and budding plum trees. Walked around in short sleaves and felt downright hot. Then in the space of three hours the temperature “plummeted” from 81 at 5:30 PM to 47 at 8:00 PM. This is why my head feels like a basketball ready to explode.

    What flowers are blooming down in Florida right now? Any pictures?

    Do you think the hawks would consider eating nine mice and perhaps only one sparrow? They could really help with any mouse infestation that way. Advice to the neighbors: move the Mercedes.

  5. That is such an impressive hawk shot! I had to laugh when I saw the Botantical Gardens pictures. I live about 3 miles from there! It’s my favorite place to veg out and walk in peace. And best of all, it’s FREE! 😉

  6. Amazing shot of the Cooper’s. I want a telephoto lens!

  7. Great shots of the hawks. Mine never sit still long enough to get a photo.

Leave a Reply

