Friday. I promise. Consider yourself forewarned.

This is the reason I didn’t finish NaNoWriMo. Life is too distracting. I’ve been trying to finish my Christmas Story, the one where Buckminster Fuller comes to dinner. It will either be a smashing success or end my career as a blogger. In any case, it will be long so consider yourself forewarned; starting tomorrow you may want to just wait until the New Year before checking in here again. Jen was nice and wacky enough to nominate my blog for BoB’s annual whatever and I’m both seriously, overwhelmingly flattered and laughing myself silly. Especially when I think of the likes of you. Anyway, in honor of that, I’m determined to do the buckyballs bit and I’ll take the response as a sign, an omen if you will. Blog or weave.

Hey! Did you know that R. Buckminster Fuller was the original and ultimate blogger? Fuller documented his life every 15 minutes from 1915 to 1983, leaving behind 270 feet worth of journals. He called this the Dymaxion Chronofile. His is said to be the most documented human life in history.San_diego_80_1

I was planning on getting this story up today but between my house-turned-practice-room for musicians and the kitchen horror- well, you know. Abby and Melissa are working for Rich over the break, doing demographic studies. His office is here and so are they and demographic studies require frequent fuel stops. Same for practicing. The underexposed Kodak.com Christmas cards are still sitting on the desk smirking at me. Literally. They have this complacent pinneped I snapped at Children’s Beach in San Diego on them, but Kodak sent them back to me so dark I’m too steamed to write them. (In lieu of that, this happy seal is going over to Friday’s Ark, where she will probably be the only one of her ilk in evidence.)

As if all of the above isn’t enough, I think Rich just went out to buy a new car.
Really. He walked by my office door and said, "I’m going to go buy a car." I mumbled ‘kay and typed for another few minutes until that seeped in. Granted our car situation is dire. Both Dan and Abby are driving (on a good day) beaters with over 200,000 miles on them. Also, a deer came through the driver’s side window of Dan’s and smashed the door in and the window out so he can’t replace the window and at 12 degrees, it’s gotten a tad drafty in that old Honda. Last time I looked the car was full of snow. Melissa’s car needs a whole new coolant system.Rich’s car is 11 years old and has just plain lost all it’s charm since Abby backed into it a couple times and none of the little power switches work on anything.

As a result, on any given day, there’s a scramble to find a functional vehicle, especially when the kids are all here. I have a nice newer Honda Accord; in almost two years I’ve put less than 5,000 miles on it. I don’t mind sharing it with Rich but I guarantee you I’m not letting it into the current game of musical cars.  And so, I think Rich went out to buy a new car. Since I deplore debt and undermine any attempts to buy anything on credit, it will be interesting to see what he can get for what’s in his pocket.

Finally- what kind of person would steal a baby penguin anyway? For heaven’s sake! Return Toga to his mother and father!

7 responses to “Friday. I promise. Consider yourself forewarned.

  1. What the heck is a “jackass” penguin? Poor baby needs his mom, even if he IS a jackass.

    I will be delighted to read your Bucky F. story and it will NOT end your blogging career! Let us know what kind of car Rich gets with what is in his pocket. With what is in my pocket right now, I couldn’t buy a scooter!

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Once Josh bought a 1971 Nova for $27. He put $200 into it, and it ran like a champ for many years. Can’t wait to hear what Rich finds.

    As for your nomination–it’s well-deserved. I will vote early and often.

  3. Take photos of the new car! At least Rich tells you he’s going to; my husband just comes home with it! Only a sick person would steal a baby penguin; they are so cute. Have you seen March of the Penguins? Those penguin parents go through h**.

  4. Congrats on the nomination! I too am eagerly awaiting the bucky story. Write on, my friend. Write on!

  5. The happy seal has such a sweet look of bliss on her face. I would just love to hug her. And whoever took the baby penguin should be stipped down, and stung up by his feet in 25 below weather for three days.

    I love Honda’s, am on my fifth one. Nyssa has a Civic and I have an Odyssey (yes the one with the still bad tire, the sale is in January). This year the Accord went hybrid. Next year (2007) models, the Odyssey is supposed to do so as well.

    Waiting for your story. I only have one more Colonial Williamsburg decoration entry. BTW, Rhett was in my lap when I visited yesterday’s post. He saw Sophie and it truly made his whole night. He didn’t even try to chew on the Christmas tree, just sat and stared off into space purring. Didn’t even hiss at Willow when she tried to sniff him.

  6. I can relate to the car musical chairs…we do some pretty creative juggling with our two teen drivers.
    I really hate buying cars. Looking forward to your story though!

  7. Dammit, *I* wanted to nominate you (honestly, it’s been on my agenda almost since I was first turned onto your blog!) but the BoB links I had were dead.

    So where do I vote as I intend to do so early and often!

Leave a Reply

