It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas!

MusicThe children are home! Noise, crumbs, instruments, shoes, dishes piled high, more noise. And in the middle of the noise is this: Jill and Dan are playing Christmas carols.

We started last night with a lovely fireside dinner of sushi and champagne but by the second bottle the kids were recollecting wild times in middle school and rolling around on the floor giddy with silliness. They calmed down a bit and after a couple hours Abby took off with friends, Dan and Jill used the hot tub and Rich and I called it quits on the day. Now, it’s 9 am and I have a light day in the office and the kids are up already making music. I want you to know that a concert cellist and a jazz saxophonist play the most beautiful rendition of Oh, Come All Ye Faithful ever. I’m in heaven over here. Ah- they just switched to Up on the Rooftop in a minor chord. I wish you could hear this. Angels We Have Heard on High.
_______________________________________________________

Spartan_1Today, tomorrow and Friday are days to tie up loose ends. I had this cockamamie idea it would be fun to knit eleven hats and pair of mittens in green and white. After six I thought I would puke if I ever saw these Spartan colors again. And I just don’t have what it takes to do a set in blue and maize in the spirit of bad sportsmanship. So, this little project is going out the door half done. Some of us are not cut out for  reproduction on a large scale.

After I finished Rich’s gray tweed alpaca sweater, I started another- a real beauty out of Mountain Colors hand dyed wool in shades of grays, heather, plum and a dark dusty blue. That will also be unfinished so someone will have a box of wool and half a sweater under the tree and I’ll finish it up in Florida.
__________________________________________________
Here at OutsideIn, Sophie has a small following of one. But he’s faithful andRhett_1 persistent and incredibly handsome. Sophie has a pin-up of Rhett right by her bed. Isn’t that where you always hang the picture of the hunk?
______________________
"WHERE’S MY STUFF?"
I love the way Amazon.com has a link by this name so I can go see that the Clapper (shhh!) that I bought for Bud is still in Maumee, Ohio. I can also see that three other gifts that I ordered in plenty of time and originally had shipping dates of the 16th now have shipping dates of Dec. 22 and the estimated delivery date of Dec. 23 remains ever constant. And I only paid for standard shipping. So, I figure either Amazon.com has Santa Claus on the payroll or they’re lying to me about when things will actually arrive. Curiously, they have no customer service phone number which is problematic. It means I can’t call them and scream, "WHERE’S MY STUFF?????"

The thing is, I suspect trouble with this Clapper gift anyway. Rude Cactus noted that his baby, Mia, got their Clapper to go off and on with crying. Up at the  Bud and Jan Show everything is way too loud. Secondary to hearing issues they yell all the time and then, because they are political hotheads, CNN is cranked up to fever pitch 24/7. I suspect this may turn into a case of Chris Matthews- ON; Chris Matthews-OFF.
___________________________________________
News Flash from Audrey of BCMA: She wants to know why I’m so busy knitting and making kirigami Christmas trees when I could thrill my friends with gift items like these. If you’ve made it this far in the post, this link will tip you over the edge and make it all worth while. Promise.

13 responses to “It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas!

  1. I followed your link; and was ever so grateful that the string of lights were ******* and not shot gun shells. I think that they just forgot the artillery. Merry Christmas. Roberta

  2. They really aren’t kidding about those “crafts”, I just cannot bring myself to say it. I’m all for recycling but…wait, that is just too gross to consider, recycling. They must WASTE them…..this is just… I am just….speechless.

    The next time you want to do a major mass production, try dishrags. Mom knit 40 dishrags for the people in Dad’s Sunday School class. Nyssa and I wrote a short stupid poem to go with them. The class members went wild about both and decided the poem fit the tune “I’m a Little Teapot”; so they sang it. Totally embarrassing. The dishrags are great though. She did make them out of different colors and with different patterns to break up the monotony. I do not knit.

    Rhett only has the picture of Sophie I printed off of the computer. He sleeps on the picture during the day. Here, my brother arrived this morning from NYC.

  3. Great times! Things are messy, but nice around here too. Ashley, the artist, is working on some homemade cards(all over the family room) and making some vegan fudge. It’s actually quite good. Someone has a website devoted to how to get in touch with Amazon, since they don’t put their customer service number on their site. How suspiciously strange.

  4. Great times! Things are messy, but nice around here too. Ashley, the artist, is working on some homemade cards(all over the family room) and making some vegan fudge. It’s actually quite good. Someone has a website devoted to how to get in touch with Amazon, since they don’t put their customer service number on their site. How suspiciously strange.

  5. EWWWWW! I love to recycle, but this takes the cake….or not. Anyway, I am all past that period of life (no pun intended) and would have to buy new ones. Never again.

  6. P.S. I love the new photo above.

    My music today is a new CD I got from an incredibly wonderful woman in the northern mid-west….can’t say who….but she knows. I Love it!!

  7. I’m back and I must say, I’ve really enjoyed playing catch-up on your site. I’ll skip the uh, “craft link” (LOL!) in favor of checking out your recipes and photos instead. Hope their music is loud and often. 🙂
    Merry Christmas!

  8. I don’t think it’s ever bad sportsmanship to give maize ‘n blue. I dropped down last night to a downtown giftshop and picked up a plush hanging dog wearing a Michigan t-shirt. I’m giving it to the two-year-old daughter of my nephew who is a die hard Michigan State fan. Although I’m sure he would love to use it for target practice of some kind, my guess is that his daughter will fall in love with it at first sight. It’s so cute. He wouldn’t have the heart to take it from her. At least I hope not.

    Looking down here . . . The Chop House is the finest A2 restaurant? Hmmmmm, maybe.

  9. I tried to stay away, but cello-sax, Spartan garb, and the Bud and Jan Show roped me in. You made all of those green and white hats and mittens for me and my little platoon?! I’m shouting out with glee! I’m not cut out for that kind of reproduction either, Vicki, but it sure is fun at Christmastime! You didn’t sneak in a single U. of M. hat?! You are indeed a saint! Keep trying to find your inner Spartan, Big Dave.

    No champagne to toast in your direction here, but one of my Music History student’s mothers gave me a bottle of Chopin Vodka from Poland as a teacher gift today. I love homeschooling!

  10. That link…what will those wiley crafters think of next?

  11. My sister and I decided this year that we’d only give each other and our families homemade gifts. To think I spent all that time putting up preserves this summer when I could’ve been making little angels out of… *shudder*

    Tonight I’ll be tucking a dozen or more pints of jam, marmalade and pickles into my carry-on luggage. Fortunately the security folks at the airport don’t bat an eyelash when my jar-laden suitcase goes through the scanner.

  12. oh man. I have GOT to come back here and catch up. love to you, dear. I got your check and tree in the mail and loved loved LOVED it. Thank you so much for buying the truffles. From the bottom of my Relay-Addicted heart. Hope you enjoyed them. Smooches!

  13. oh man. I have GOT to come back here and catch up. love to you, dear. I got your check and tree in the mail and loved loved LOVED it. Thank you so much for buying the truffles. From the bottom of my Relay-Addicted heart. Hope you enjoyed them. Smooches!

Leave a Reply

