Shopping

There’s a lot of that going on right about now. Well, not NOW, exactly. We’re snowed in; it’s been coming down an inch an hour all day. I have no interest in going to the mall in any case so it’s just as well. In fact, I take a certain amount of pride in seeing if I can go from year to year without going near a mall. About every third year it’s the eleventh hour and there’s some gift item that we can only find there so I find myself in the madhouse- but, by and large, I avoid it like the plague.

Today, this is where I would like to be shopping: at the downtown St. Petersburg open air market. Come New Year’s Eve day, I’m there. I’m going to buy a mess of giant snow crab claws, get us some nice bubbly and go watch the fireworks off the pier. Until then, I’ll just remember this dapper fellow who sells the best produce ever.(submitted for Thursday Challenge: Shopping.)Saturday_morning_market_03

12 responses to “Shopping

  1. Selling produce in a tuxedo, now that is something you don’t see every day. Here it is just rain, rain, drizzle, drizzle, and more rain. Just to the west it is ice, but here today it was warmer at 6AM than it was all day yesterday.

    I haven’t been in a mall for almost a year. I don’t count the PetsMarts and the Barnes & Nobles as being malls. Yesterday while getting cat food I saw the most beautiful cat for adoption. Caramel with incomplete, fragmented black stripes, medium length hair, perfectly symmetrical white around her pink nose and fanning out onto her chest. She mewed when I walked up. Her sign said she was good with kids, dogs and other cats and had been spayed. She was described as a “lonely stray looking for a warm lap.” Someone obviously owned her and turned her out on the street when they moved or got tired of her. She was about four years old. I hope someone will take her home soon. If I knew I wouldn’t get killed for bringing another one into this crew, I would have in an instant. Almost forgot, light green eyes. I should not go to PetsMart.

    The Nys is home!!!!!

  2. No snow here – just a wintry mix of sleet and freezing rain. Love the St Petersburg dude.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful New Year’s Eve!

  4. I hate snow. I hate it. It’s making me actually focus on things that need to be done INSIDE…i hate snow. Did I mention how much I hate this white stuff?

  5. I will have to come back when the photo is back up. sorry I missed it the first time around.

    You and I must have been joined at birth and separated. I hate malls with a passion and I avoid them too. I had to go recently with my hubby, when his glasses broke, and that was the place he HAD to go to get them repaired. Drat!

  6. Awww…man! Can I spend New Year’s Eve with you???? I’ve got a bottle of bubbly I’ve been saving since my birthday for a special occasion.

  7. I suffer from that mallaise, as well. The photo of the produce man in the tux is a fine antidote!

  8. Wowzers! I’d totally buy his bananas!!!!!!

  9. I havent been to the mall in, well, I dont even know how long. Ever since Earl spent three times too much there that one year Christmas Shopping – although I did appreciate the candles from the Body Shop, I knew he didnt have to pay what he did for them – I have declared that the mall is off limits for holiday shopping. We go to Walmart, which has a Home Depot, Fashion Bug, TJMaxx, Kaybee Toys, and a jewelry store all right next to it. No need for a mall. Nope. No need. Although, I do understand that some stores can only be found in the mall and then in that case, off you go and I wish you luck. You’ll need it.

    I did ALL my shopping online through Amazon.com. They have EVERYTHING. Love that store. Love that store.

  10. I havent been to the mall in, well, I dont even know how long. Ever since Earl spent three times too much there that one year Christmas Shopping – although I did appreciate the candles from the Body Shop, I knew he didnt have to pay what he did for them – I have declared that the mall is off limits for holiday shopping. We go to Walmart, which has a Home Depot, Fashion Bug, TJMaxx, Kaybee Toys, and a jewelry store all right next to it. No need for a mall. Nope. No need. Although, I do understand that some stores can only be found in the mall and then in that case, off you go and I wish you luck. You’ll need it.

    I did ALL my shopping online through Amazon.com. They have EVERYTHING. Love that store. Love that store.

  11. That is the best dressed produce professional I have ever seen. As for shopping,I’m not done even though I started early, somehow I dropped the ball after a strong start.

  12. I love the ambience of the market, but it would be too cold here. It has warmed up about 10 degrees though. We are not used to the teens and twenties here in WA. (and it actually snowed a little again-twice in one year!!)

Leave a Reply

