FESTIVUS!

I don’t know any way to break this to you gently but the fact of the matter is I’m going to have more fun this week than you are. I’m sorry but it’s just that simple and clear.

It’s true that I have to work, I have to bake, I have to wrap, box , schlep and mail packages and I have to clean this place on my hands and knees. Nevertheless, I’m  going to have one heck of a fine time this week.

Tonight we will drive to Grosse Pointe and join long time friends of Rich’s for dinner. I really like this couple: he is a widower with many children and she is a school teacher and they met late in life, happy to find each other.  Both of them are sailors and both of them are well traveled and interested in the natural world. There will be several other like-minded couples at dinner. Also, these two are fine cooks. They have a lovely home right on the Detroit River next to the Grosse Pointe Yacht Club and everything will be decorated up with lights. This will be our first holiday social event of the season and I’m looking forward to being dressed up, well fed and engaged in interesting conversation.

Wednesday and Thursday Rich’s friend from Anheuser-Busch will be in town.Burtontower_1 Usually Rich goes to St. Louis to do his consulting but this friend really enjoys the white Christmas aspect of our town. I like this guy so much; he’s good people. Wednesday night we will go out to The Chop House, Ann Arbor’s finest restaurant. (this is a place where we would never take ourselves, but, sshhh, Augie treats us to this one.) I’ll start with a Mojito and then I’ll have Crab Louie, Caesar salad, au-gratin potatoes and a piece of Kobe beef that will be enough for four. I will dine on the leftovers both Thursday and Friday. After dinner, we’ll crank up the Festivus music in the car and drive around town rating people’s light displays on a scale of 1-10. And we’ll go by the Burton Memorial Tower with it’s grand carillon- the world’s fourth heaviest with 55 bells, weighing 43 tons. There will be a Christmas carol bell concert!

Saturday is the annual Book Club My Ass and Friends Black Tie or Pajama Poker Party (phew!) and it’s here at our house. My menu will be shockingly decadent, including crab meat cocktails in martini glasses and Zingerman’s pastrami. I’ll get more organized around blogging that event later in the week. Stay tuned- it’s a hoot.

Okay, I’ve got laundry to do before I start my appointments for the day. But you do see what I mean, right? I’m having more fun this week than you are. Next week, we’re pretty much done with the partying and I’ll settle down and practice my faith and observe the true meaning. In most ways that will be far more pleasurable and rewarding but for this week- IT’S FESTIVUS!

(As I look closely at that photo of Burton Tower it’s odd. It would appear that the entire University of Michigan has one student and one corpse on it’s campus. Hmm. I’ll go check that out.)
_______________________________________________________
Max and Buddah may not know how much we enjoy their antics because PsychoKitty is one blog where Sophie only leaves the occasional comment.  Rather than succumb to cutesy, Max stays loyal to his feline instincts and more often than not he’s considering where to deposit his next hairball because the canned food is late.

"Did I Mention That I Type All Of My Blog Entries with a Prosthetic Hand Fashioned From Hillshire Farms Lit’l Smokies?"  If I ever need a brain transplant I hope there’s a spare just like Esther Wilberforce-Packard’s available. It would be ever so much fun and very curious to boot. In the meantime, I read Topic Drift. And I laugh and laugh and laugh.

17 responses to “FESTIVUS!

  1. I wonder if anybody in the U.S. is raising “Kobe” beef. After all, it ain’t so much where, but technique.

    I vote with you on Esther. Topic Drift is zaniest place on the Internet.

  2. I’ve got a little o’ this-and-that fun stuff going on, but nowhere near as much as you. I SO wish I were coming to the BCMA/Black Tie/Pajama party. Have fun!

  3. You really are going to have more fun than me! Except on Friday which is when I’ll be having birthday celebrations (even though it’s today) because almost everyone’s exams will be over by then.

    I don’t think our food will be as lovely as yours though. And definitely no martini glasses (filled with cocktails of any kind). Enjoy!

  4. I’d love the Book club my ass party. Tonight I am going to a women’s pot luck dinner and ornament exchange in my neighborhood. We will have a good time, and the food will be wonderful, but the company at your parties sounds more interesting!

  5. Definitely more fun than me.

  6. Ditto, Florida Cracker.
    On tap this week:
    1. Tomorrow – dentist, joy (SARCASM)
    2. Hopefully the girl comes home. (YEAH)
    3. Thursday – men here to fix attic over garage and garage ceiling. The garage ceiling started falling down about two months ago and is currently propped up with long 2X4’s. It should be all fixed tomorrow. I think we are invited somewhere for “finger food” that night…but I really don’t like fingers.
    4. Doctors appointments….Rehab appointments
    5. Hair color (grey, grey, go away) and cut – Friday
    6. More CME – continuous
    7. Still trying to finish with decorating
    8. Potica bread making.
    Yes, you will definitely have more fun there.

    I stopped by over at Topic Drift. Hysterical. Her post make me a bit dizzy. I don’t know if it is because I just can’t keep up with her or if it is because they made a lot of sense to me. That is a scary thought.

    Eat a little of the gourmet food for me. This way I can live gratuitously without having to put on the pounds. 🙂

  7. Ditto, Florida Cracker.
    On tap this week:
    1. Tomorrow – dentist, joy (SARCASM)
    2. Hopefully the girl comes home. (YEAH)
    3. Thursday – men here to fix attic over garage and garage ceiling. The garage ceiling started falling down about two months ago and is currently propped up with long 2X4’s. It should be all fixed tomorrow. I think we are invited somewhere for “finger food” that night…but I really don’t like fingers.
    4. Doctors appointments….Rehab appointments
    5. Hair color (grey, grey, go away) and cut – Friday
    6. More CME – continuous
    7. Still trying to finish with decorating
    8. Potica bread making.
    Yes, you will definitely have more fun there.

    I stopped by over at Topic Drift. Hysterical. Her post make me a bit dizzy. I don’t know if it is because I just can’t keep up with her or if it is because they made a lot of sense to me. That is a scary thought.

    Eat a little of the gourmet food for me. This way I can live gratuitously without having to put on the pounds. 🙂

  8. OH! NO! I JUST FOUND OUT I HAVE TO GO TO WALMART! NOW! DEAR LORD, PLEASE HELP ME! JUST GO AHEAD AND SHOOT ME AND PUT ME OUT OF MY MISERY! I HATE TO GO TO WALMART AT ANY TIME, DAY OR NIGHT, THIS CLOSE TO CHRISTMAS!

  9. Definitely more fun than me. Any of those party people single 😉

  10. O fun! I think I’ll have a black tie and pajama party–but sexy pajamas preferred.

  11. O fun! I think I’ll have a black tie and pajama party–but sexy pajamas preferred.

  12. I found the corpse in the Burton Tower picture, but I can’t find the student. See you Saturday.

  13. I am envious. Can I come visit for the week?

  14. All I can say is after that sneak peak of your menu, I wish I could just invite myself over. 😉 Sounds divine.

  15. I’ve got some rum but no mint for a mojito. ahh, who needs mint? hey! could I use mint syrup?

    Topic Drift is something else. I needed a laugh too.

  16. LOL! Were you drunk when you wrote this? Hilarious!

    Especially the last part about the prosthetic hand. I am still laughing about that.

Leave a Reply

