All Creatures, Great and Small. redux

B000040jnm01_scmzzzzzzz__1I get out the Christmas music the day after Thanksgiving. I just finished writing a review for Amazon of this album which is, sadly, out of print. (Audioblog at end of post)

The Animal’s Christmas with Art Garfunkel, Amy Grant, The Kings College School Choir and The London Symphony Orchestra is my all time favorite. Every single reviewer, bar none, gives this album five stars. I have no idea why they don’t re-issue it, especially with used copies bringing up to 20.00.

Art Garfunkel and Jimmy Webb, who have collaborated on several critically acclaimed projects over the last twenty years, have joined together with Amy Grant and The London Symphony Orchestra to perform this Christmas cantata. Set against the Nativity story as told from the perspective of the animals who were there, this CD contains magnificent production values and wonderful vocal performances by Garfunkel and Grant. In addition, the Kings College School Choir provides beautiful backing. Other performers include Jimmy Webb on piano, Eric Weissberg (dueling banjo fame) on banjo and acoustic guitar, and Steve Gadd on drums. Geoff Emerick (engineer on The Beatles "Sgt. Pepper") co-produces the album.

This Christmas album sounds like THE best Christmas pageant ever and although you probably can’t find it, buy it if you can. Or ask a good blog friend to make you a copy. You will love it, guaranteed. If you’re anything like me, you’ll pour yourself a nice glass of wine last thing before bed on Christmas Eve, turn off all the lights except the ones on the tree and smile, smile, smile.

The thing I like best about this album? It reminds me of when I was in the Sunday School pageant in a starring role: "I said the sheep, with the curly horn, I gave Him my wool for a blanket warm…"

5 responses to “All Creatures, Great and Small. redux

  1. I still remember my lines from our Christmas pagent. I was an angel who said “The Baby is born. The Baby is born!”. I think Christmas memories are some of my favorite things:)

  2. I believe I said, “And Mary pounded them in her heart”. Whoops. Well I guess she would have if she had had a hammer.

  3. You’ve sold me! I know I would like it.

  4. I couldn’t get the audioblog to work, but I like Art Garfunkel and Amy Grant so I know I’d love this. Hey, I like all Christmas music. Particularly fond of a couple of songs on the John Denver and the Muppets and Mannheim Steamroller Christmas Albums.

  5. It’s nice! I am a big Mannheim Steamroller fan and love Christmas music,except the pop variety.

Leave a Reply

