Nothing Says Happy Holidays like SUET

Ask me? Don’t do this at home. Ever. Period. I had 8 supervisors screaming advice from the safety of the house, a snow shovel (how was that going to help if the whole thing exploded?), and enough padding against flying grease and the cold to star in Chef Busters (wouldn’t that be a great new series for the Food Network?).In the end, Muhallah announced that it didn’t taste as good as the last Cajun fried goat turkey he had and we all ate the roasted turkey.

Today? I’m faced with 35# of frozen Cajun peanut oil. 10# of it has to be scraped off the cement; the rest is in the kettle right where we left it, passed out on tryptophan and Le Beaujolais Nouveau.

What to do, what to do? Here’s my plan: armed with 50 small salad bar containers swiped from Whole Paycheck (hey! They OWE me!), 50 pounds of black oil sunflower and the Cajun peanut oil…we’re playing Martha Stewart! The added bonus here is that squirrels are averse to Cajun but birds are not. So my only question is this: do you think once this stuff gets solid it will stay solid? Or, under the Christmas tree wrapped up with a bow, will it revert to liquid red oil with floating sunflower seeds?

BTW, my keyboard is greasy, my glasses are greasy, every surface in the kitchen is greasy, McCloud is greasy (I think he went out and rolled in it)- in other words: EEEUUUWWWW. Hope you had a  super day and the rest of the weekend is filled with wonderful leftovers .Fry1Fry2Fry3Fry4

10 responses to “Nothing Says Happy Holidays like SUET

  1. You are a brave woman! TWO houses in my area burned to the ground yesterday courtesy of the deep fryer.

    We have a deep fried turkey every year, but we order it from a Cajun guy who’s the most popular dude in town the week before Thanksgiving, and we pick it up the day before Thanksgiving. I’ve fallen in love with having my oven free. I’ll probably never make my own turkey again if I can avoid it…

    I loved the pictures! Too funny! 🙂

  2. You are SO CUTE in your snow suit.

    Did the relish have any takers this year?

    I used to live next to a wooded park, and kept the birds liberally plied with homemade suet. I’d buy a bunch of fat-hock (or whatever it’s called) from Safeway, fry it up, then pour it into little cups. An acorn woodpecker lived off me for two-three years.

  3. LOL! We fried our turkey this year for the very first time. However, ours is indoor (scared the S**t out of me!) and electric. Best turkey I’ve ever had!

    You look like you had fun! Enjoy the leftovers!

  4. I’m sure the birds will love you. About this squirrel above on your header, chowing down on pumpkin? Fat little fellow isn’t he. It looks as if all the critters over your way will be well fed. Do the birds, squirrels and other animals just gather at the edge of your yard waiting to see what wonderful concoctions you have for them?

    We took the easy way out. Slept in. Watched the Macy’s balloon go haywire. Dressed. Took out about 1:30 for the cafeteria. Dad and I had the traditional Thanksgiving special of turkey and dressing. Mom decided on a flounder, her favorite and better for the diabetes. She had a sugar free pumpkin pie, Dad had his favorite custard pie and I decided on pecan. No clean up. No left overs. The best thing was that Mom’s blood sugar never got over 120 yesterday, even with the pie.

    Nyssa is in Texas. I’m not sure if they had the dinner at her aunt’s house in Fort Worth or if everybody went to Graham to the grandparents.

    Am avoiding all shopping centers like the plague. I remember when stores opened at 8AM the day after Thanksgiving and this was considered early. Here they opened at 5AM today, give me a break. Why would you want to be in a store at 5AM?

  5. you are very brave and certainly have earned your gold star for making the effort! i got freaked just WATCHING one being fried. it was a fairly non-chaotic day … and that’s a whole LOT to be thankful for right there!

  6. I love the pics!! I hope to get mine up soon and we can be the turkey fryin’ twins 😉

  7. Hi, Vicki, sounds like the racoons and squirrels and birds will have thanksgiving at your house for a long time! I don’t know if the fat will stay congealed or not, but I wouldn’t trust it to.

    Turducken: a de-boned chicken, inside a de-boned duck, inside a de-boned turkey, stuffed with cajun stuffing. My daughter’s husband cooked it in their convection oven for 4 1/2 hours. It was delicious!

    Thanks for the kind comments about us; yes, we do take turns being the beast!

  8. Hi, Vicki, sounds like the racoons and squirrels and birds will have thanksgiving at your house for a long time! I don’t know if the fat will stay congealed or not, but I wouldn’t trust it to.

    Turducken: a de-boned chicken, inside a de-boned duck, inside a de-boned turkey, stuffed with cajun stuffing. My daughter’s husband cooked it in their convection oven for 4 1/2 hours. It was delicious!

    Thanks for the kind comments about us; yes, we do take turns being the beast!

  9. What an adventure, but I do so hate greasy surfaces. I would be a maniac trying to clean it up. (I’m enough of a maniac already!)I love the snow–we have had oppressive fog and now rain.

  10. You’re a braver soul than I! My stepdad cooks all of his turkeys this way. I must confess, it scares the hell out of me. I’ve read too much about people burning down their houses cooking dinner. Still, I’m glad you enjoyed the holiday!

    RCS

Leave a Reply

