What goes on top of your Christmas tree?

Liz4

(The background to this post is below the Thursday Challenge post below)

I know I wrote before about Rich’s lizard and how attached he was to it. I know because it generated memorable comments. You would think we would get over our excitement at these little anoles since they are absolutely everywhere down here but we like them a lot and I still take silly pictures of them. We have favorites that live behind moldings and the mailbox and so forth.

Well, I’m very, very sorry sad to report that Rich’s lizard has dried up and died. It was living in the small sunroom down here. I couldn’t figure out how and one day I set it free outside. Rich was really annoyed but, not to worry, because within a day his lizard was back. Rich sometimes is down here without me on business and he said his lizard kept him good company in my absence. (What can I say?)

Yesterday, as I was dusting the wood floors under furniture on the sun porch I found his lizard. I felt terrible, mostly at the prospect of breaking it to Rich, that his lizard had died. He was still sound asleep. And then, as I tidied up further I found more evidence of this little guy’s life before death that is, on the one hand, insignificant and on the other hand, delightful.

Sunroom_1We keep the place modestly and simply furnished but I have this neat little glass top table that I filled with white sand from the Bay and shells we’ve picked up along the beaches down here. The glass is held up from the table rim by about a quarter inch because the glass has little plastic bumpers on the four corners to grip it in place. When I looked closely I realized that Rich’s little guy had been living inside the table, among the shells. Everywhere there are the most delicate little tracks in the sand of lizard feet and tail. You can actually see which shells he got under and which ones he moved around.Tracks2

When Rich got up I pointed out his dead lizard. Yeesh- I thought he was going to cry. He picked up the sorry drooping thing, sighed- and then did the unthinkable. Yes, people, the fake Christmas tree, sans any ornaments, now has the tree topper to beat all tree toppers. (Enlarge to fully appreciate.)Tree_topper

16 responses to “What goes on top of your Christmas tree?

  1. Ahhh, a dead lizard on the tree. Just like tradition dictates!

  2. Nothing says Christmas like a dead lizard!

  3. That is hilarious! I guess everyone deals with death in their own way.

  4. LOL, LOL. Poor little lizard. Yes, I think it would be acceptable for Friday’s Ark. They put the picture I had of the dinosaur hood ornament in their “exceptions” category. This would certainly fit in that or more likely in the “Other”. I’ve seen pictures of cockroaches there and now the nasty beast has it’s own Carnival.

    I don’t know about the tree topper idea, but the tracks in the sand table are great. The little lizard had a posh home for his last days.

  5. I hope Lois Lane sees this. She will probably demand to be allowed to come over with her resucitative powers and bring it back to life. Who knows, maybe she can….

  6. Now this is just wrong!

    CAn I give you some tree decorating lessons?

  7. Well, not a lizard. It’s an angel made out of some stiff fabric. (although I do think the lizard looks interesting) We don’t have them here, but have many frogs who like to croak in the middle of the night, and I wish they would.

  8. Friday Ark #61

    We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, beer, coffee cups, and….? We will add you…

  9. I am chuckling, rolling on the floor laughing now. Friday’s Ark put the lizard in the “In Memoriam” group. Very appropriate.

  10. This is a riot! I found your blog via Old Horsetail. I really enjoy reading your posts – very entertaining. I’ll be back.

  11. This is a riot! I found your blog via Old Horsetail. I really enjoy reading your posts – very entertaining. I’ll be back.

  12. Eeeeeuuuuuwwwww!

    And, what would the Baby Jesus say? Hmmmmmm, missy?

  13. gold….spraypaint….

  14. I would rank that one right up there with Sara’s toilet-paper-tube angels, and her “Oh come holy spit” card.

    How are you going to ‘preserve’ it, though? Because you CAN’T just let it rot up there! And, and, and, there’s next year to think of, too.

  15. That is fricking wonderful. Wow. I found a dead bird in my daughter’s room this morning (cats). Damn, I should have saved it for the tree!

  16. This kills me! You need to bring more attention to it though.

Leave a Reply

