Introduction

2005_participant_trans_2It was precisely because she was so small, living in such rocky terrain surrounded by people who were so much larger than life, that she was usually searching for meaning outside herself rather than in. She was too often certain that the hidden raison d’etre could be found and it merely eluded her, not others. They had found the key to the map while seasons, years and lifetimes later she was still looking. Looking for signs in everyday objects was her usual recourse. This approach appealed to her because answers readily at hand would be so much easier than those that might be secreted away in an esoteric tome or awaiting deep excavation far below the surface of mind or matter. And, being of such small stature and average mind, she always opted for the easiest path to enlightenment.

She read the falling autumn leaves as reliably as the soothsayer/desk clerk at Shaman Drum Bookstore read tea leaves. She pondered the significance of the various places the tail-less squirrel buried his hickory nuts he would soon forget. What did it mean that she had failed to brush her teeth that morning and she would choose to spend the day worrying that people would judge her foul breath when she could simply go and brush them?Bread

This day Marta was concerned with discerning the meaning of the loaf of bread on her kitchen counter. What did it mean that it easily weighed 3 pounds and yet was not much larger than a dinner roll? Was it like the grilled cheese sandwich sold on eBay for 24,000.00? The one with Jesus clearly burned supernaturally into the top slice? Wonder Bread! Was there something she should be seeing here, in her bread? Perhaps a Holy impression? It was, after all, All Saint’s Day. She wondered if she went away and came back in an hour would stigmata be seeping from the cracks? She was fairly certain doubters would dismiss it as red dye # 2 and then she’d have to turn it over to some authority for further scrutiny. But in all those craters and ridges there had to be more to this bread than just expired dead yeast, yes?

She spent the few moments she felt she could spare and then, thinking her time would be better spent brushing her teeth, she pitched the sorry loaf across the yard, striking a glancing blow to the squirrel without the tail. What did it mean that now he also sported a small bald patch on the left side of his head, just behind the ear? This didn’t bode well for the cold times ahead.

And thus began her day.
____________________________________________________________
unrelated: Dan and AlexisDan_1
Dan2

22 responses to “Introduction

  1. St. Vicki writes again!

  2. I made that bread once; only, it was potato rolls and each one could have been used by David to kill Goliath.

  3. Question? Does this introduction mean that a monkey flew out of your butt? Assuming I translated the line in the previous post correctly.

  4. Nice intro Vicki…I’m still waiting for the spirit to move me between now and the time I get home!

  5. Nice intro Vicki…I’m still waiting for the spirit to move me between now and the time I get home!

  6. It’s going to be a VERY long month. Unless I see the light and quit tonight to watch Surface. There’s a relationship between the bread failure and this novel- at the very least there’s nothing rising. I’m looking forward to seeing what you, Angie and Poopie, have to write for yourselves. Roxanne- just keep putting up that great eye candy and inspiring quotes to sooth my muse. Bonnie! Hello! Hello!

  7. I have often wondered whether the Great American Novel should not be about some average person with no particularly reedeeming qualities and no bad habits. Just “average.” It would not be very interesting, but would be be interesting for precisely that. I could never get started on it because I am not average. Semi-quirky is the best I ever rated.

  8. When monkeys fly out of your a.. Vicki! Hmmm–interesting imagery and ouch. Giving birth was bad enough and they didn’t exactly fly. I love the dad/daughter photos; they are priceless. Great start to your tome.

  9. Oh my gosh. Yours is going to be SO much more entertaining than mine.

    And what IS the meaning of that loaf?

    Vicki, how do I sign up to be your writing buddy and what does a writing buddy do? Will you be posting all your entries here or do you have some other plan? Tell me do.

  10. I hesitate to say that Dan looks like a natural with that baby. This may scare him, might scare his girlfriend, will most likely scare you (it would me if he were my son). In fact Alexis is probably the only one not scared. She looks perfectly happy to be the center of attention, as babies should. She is definitely a cutie pie.

  11. What a gorgeous baby! Since my youngest grandkid is nearly 6, I am baby-starved. Can’t somebody get me a baby to hold??

    Good start to the story!

  12. Real life has put a cramp in my blog style lately and I haven’t made it around to say “hello” in a while. So glad I came today. I enjoyed your introduction and am looking forward to reading more!

  13. Michele sent me this time, you glorious writer you.

    And I signed up as your buddy and even left you a silly little message.

  14. Michele sent me this time, you glorious writer you.

    And I signed up as your buddy and even left you a silly little message.

  15. Hi there…Michele sent me. Great writing and cute baby!!!

  16. Hi there, you’re Michele’s site of the day! Sounds like the squirrel deserved everything you can pitch at him, including density defying bread. Lovely baby!

  17. Congrats on being Michele’s Site of the Day! Great intro…keep going!

    Michele sent me….

  18. Good morning Ms. Vicki. My, my, what an interesting read you have going on here. I’m not sure what it all means but that bread is sure making my tummy grumble. It looks almost as delicious as the precious baby below it. I can’t wait for the next chapter & batch πŸ˜‰ Great job!!

    Happy Michele Sent Me Day:)

  19. Good morning Ms. Vicki. My, my, what an interesting read you have going on here. I’m not sure what it all means but that bread is sure making my tummy grumble. It looks almost as delicious as the precious baby below it. I can’t wait for the next chapter & batch πŸ˜‰ Great job!!

    Happy Michele Sent Me Day:)

  20. Michele sent me by today. Great start on your NaNoWriMo project. I admire everyone participating.

  21. That’s one scary-ass loaf of bread. Consume with caution.

  22. Bad blog friend here. OMG, the baby and Daddy are adorable. And you are a brave soul to take on NANOMOWRI. I’ve sworn to do it next year. My goal for this year is to EDIT 2,000 words per day.

Leave a Reply

