Weekend update

I have WAY too much to do to be here. I’m one of those people who can’t leave home without having my whole universe in order. Since I normally procrastinate a far amount on things like insurance billing, case notes, and cleaning bird and pig cages there’s always a lot to get organized.

I don’t know why I feel compelled to clean every closet, re-write my will, set up trust funds for the kids and buy enough pet food and litter to last 14 years just to take a 7 day vacation, but I do. When I finally get on the plane I’m pretty frazzled and exhausted but Hawaii is a long way from here and we just got upgraded to first class (YES!) so I will truly relax and snooze and knit and have a free drink, thank you very much. And chuckle when they announce that, in the back, they are selling 3.00 snack boxes that have nine times your daily sodium allotment. (Kristen says it cuts down on people running to the bathroom; you just sit in your seat and swell up.) I’m bad in this gloating, I know it.

Anyway, today I need to clean the aviary and Millie, the guinea pig. I need to pack and that includes lining up reading material, planning my knitting projects and charging up the camera battery. Reassure the cats that the suitcase doesn’t mean End of Days. Go to church and lose this haughty "I get to go to Hawaii, nah, nah, nah, nah" attitude. I’m squeezing in an extra yoga class. Make a list for Chris and Juanita who will watch over things, unless Juanita has the baby. Then what? Hmm. I’ve scheduled new carpet for the office while I’m out of it and my new (better posture!) office chair is coming so I’m sort of hoping she holds off until I return. Yeesh! Me, me, me. Yak. I think I’ll go call my mother.
____________________________________________
AnemI like these Fall blooming anemones. They hang on until the very bitter end, enduring all but severe frost. They look like alien flowers with their little satellites rising up all around. And then I found this teeny tiny green insect hanging out on (eating) my orchid which took a year to get blooming but he’s kinda neat and seems to like it there; he’s been on the same flower for two days so I’ll leave him be.Bug
_____________________________________________
Gene wanted to know if I would post from Maui. The answer is yes. That’s too good an opportunity to pass up. I’m thinking I could do an Athlete of the Day photo for you. There are some incredible men and women who run this triathlon. I’ll try to get an interview with the woman who runs the 60-65 category and wins it each year. She’s great. I’ll scout out the youngest runners, too. And the best looking. Sound good? And then there’s food and flowers and snorkeling. Also, this is the one and only time in the whole year when Rich will get predictably tipsy- at the 19th hole award party after playing golf. He loves this tournament because it’s both competitive and all in fun. Last year his team dubbed themselves "Moons Over Maui" and there’s a photo held by the tournament organizers that could be, um, compromising if it found it’s way into the wrong hands. So yes, I’ll post from Maui. Just think, I’ll be one of the first up in the morning!

17 responses to “Weekend update

  1. I never owned an Airstream (campers, instead) but always admired same. A gaggle (herd? flock?) of them pass through Salem, Oregon, most years on their way to China or someplace. Airstreams have everything you need, and you never have to replace anything. Not even the flour, I’ve heard.

  2. That’s an amazing shot of the bug on the huge back-lit leaf.

  3. Have a great time! Oh, I am so envious right now. Steven doesn’t like to travel so if I ever want to go an adventure I know it will be alone. I can’t wait to read about your adventures!

  4. Gorgeous photos, Vicki, and I’m glad to hear that you have included practicing your yoga and calling your mother in your priorities. Bon voyage!

  5. Don’t worry about the obsessive compulsive behavior. It happens to the best of us. You could eat dinner off the floor of my garage right before I went on a trip. I compulsively cleaned it, shelves and scrubbing the floor the night before a 6 AM flight.

    Have fun. Try not to “nah nee nah nee boo boo” those of us left behind too much.

    Just got back from seeing my mom. She is coming home Wednesday. I have two Potica breads to make for her to give away to the therapy staff there.

  6. Don’t worry about the obsessive compulsive behavior. It happens to the best of us. You could eat dinner off the floor of my garage right before I went on a trip. I compulsively cleaned it, shelves and scrubbing the floor the night before a 6 AM flight.

    Have fun. Try not to “nah nee nah nee boo boo” those of us left behind too much.

    Just got back from seeing my mom. She is coming home Wednesday. I have two Potica breads to make for her to give away to the therapy staff there.

  7. Have a wonderful trip; I will think of Hawaii longingly. I do the same thing before leaving for a while; I have to have everything in order. It’s probably just another annoying aspect of my Type A personality. The flower pictures are beautiful; I especially love the orchid with the veins showing through.

  8. Why do we have to have clean houses? I think we fear that if we die on the plane, anyone who comes into our homes later will say “Whatever else she was, she was a superb housekeeper!” Actually, I like knowing I can come home to a clean house after a vacation where I will surely burn the candle at both ends, and be too tired to clean up AND do laundry! Hurray for 1st class. On our trip to Kauai in 2000 we had enough freq. flier points to go first class too – and it can’t be beat – especially on such a long flight. I am trying hard not to envy you – but if you post lots of photos – I might just acquiesce.

  9. Oh goodie!! I’ll make sure to check out your photos through out the week. I know you’ll have a wonderful time:)

  10. WOW! Hawaii AND first class tickets. First class tickets AND Hawaii. Tickets in FIRST CLASS going to Hawaii. I dont know if it gets any better than that!!

    You do get first class again on the way home… dont you?

  11. Ha! I put out the checkbook, bills, bank statements, and insurance papers when I left for a ONE day trip last Friday (not even a stay-over) AND cleaned the fridge. Also left the kitty litter out in plain sight.

    I was reminded of Elaine’s and Jerry’s coach-vs-first class episode (Seinfeld). I hope you get cookies and slippers. Have a great time!

  12. Ha! I put out the checkbook, bills, bank statements, and insurance papers when I left for a ONE day trip last Friday (not even a stay-over) AND cleaned the fridge. Also left the kitty litter out in plain sight.

    I was reminded of Elaine’s and Jerry’s coach-vs-first class episode (Seinfeld). I hope you get cookies and slippers. Have a great time!

  13. Have a fabulous trip! I do the cleaning thing, too! I guess it is a common reaction to travel stress. I also have the fall-blooming anemones, by the way, and I love them too. Not only because they bloom until the bitter end, but because they are easy spreaders and hard to kill. Perfect for a lazy gardener like me.

  14. Oooo, it’s getting chilly here and while I like it, I certainly wouldn’t mind being shuffled in with the cats and taken to Hawaii. Have a wonderful time.

  15. I’m so the same, Vicki. I cleaned out the magazine basket before leaving for the weekend recently. You know, in case I die in a horrible car accident, I want the mourners at my home to have only the most up-to-date mags to peruse while they’re eating fried chicken and talking about me.

    Have a great vacation!

  16. Oh, have fun! Enjoy your flight! I am flying tomorrow NOT first class, and I will sit there, swelling in my seat, and think of you.

  17. Oh, have fun! Enjoy your flight! I am flying tomorrow NOT first class, and I will sit there, swelling in my seat, and think of you.

Leave a Reply

