Busy, busy

I really can’t linger long enough to write much today. I’m busy on eBay. When the time is right, the iron is hot, the moment is now- I love eBay. I have gotten a few prize items there. I weaned myself off eBay by starting a b**g so it’s been almost a year since I bid on anything. I think this is akin to going from heroin to methadone but ah well…

Here are two cool things I got on eBay: Globe_1this giant vintage celestial globe and this 1965 Streamliner Airstream travel trailer. Her name is Priscilla. I bought Priscilla under the influence of PMS for the low low Buy It Now price of 4900.00, which was an excellent deal.
She is in mint condition (I mean MINT); she only had one owner who kept her parked in Estes Park, CO. When the owner died the kids listed her on eBay as a Buy-It Now item but unwisely for them and fortunately for me the auction started at 2 AM. I bought her at 2:01 AM. Ah, the joys of insomnia. Right after I hit the button I went to bed , slept like a baby, woke up and realized I needed to retrieve her from Colorado within 7days, cash in hand. Sigh. Anyway, today she serves as overflow housing out at Wit’s End and guests love her pink Formica charm.Priscilla2

Today I am watching a car for Dan. He is driving a 1985 Honda with 248,000 miles on it and he could have/would have driven it another good distance except a deer came through his driver’s side window. Busted out the glass, stuck her head in his lap, bounced out and raced off into the woods with his mirror. I’m thankful that he wasn’t hurt at all; I asked him what he did and he said, "I screamed like a girl." The front fender fell off shortly after that and he now has that tied on with rope and duct tape but with no side window, a bashed-in door, a hanging bumper and dangling headlights- he needs a new old car. So I’m watching one closely-so far the reserve price has not been met.

I strongly encourage you to click on this link while you listen to the audioblog: it certainly typifies the best of eBay.  Be sure to read the description.

11 responses to “Busy, busy

  1. Oh, Vicki, Priscilla is BEAUTIFUL! Those old Airstreams are wonderful. I just made my first eBay purchase this past week, and I can tell that I am but a grasshopper where eBay shopping is concerned. Good luck with the car shopping!

  2. I am a “Hondaphile”. I have been proud owner of a 1982 Honda Civic 4-door sedan, silver; a 1987 Honda Accord 4-door sedan, metallic blue, a 1994 Honda Accord LXi 4-door sedan, burgandy; a 2000 Honda Odyssey Van, silver (current); and a 2001 Honda Civic LX 4-door sedan, silver (Nyssa’s current). I will always have a Honda. If and when I get back to work I think a Honda Civic or Accord Hybrid is in the future and I await the day the Odyssey is hybrid as well. Great cars, if you can keep the deer out, the rarely break down and always start. My days of using an nail file on points to get the old Opal started are long gone.

  3. I am a “Hondaphile”. I have been proud owner of a 1982 Honda Civic 4-door sedan, silver; a 1987 Honda Accord 4-door sedan, metallic blue, a 1994 Honda Accord LXi 4-door sedan, burgandy; a 2000 Honda Odyssey Van, silver (current); and a 2001 Honda Civic LX 4-door sedan, silver (Nyssa’s current). I will always have a Honda. If and when I get back to work I think a Honda Civic or Accord Hybrid is in the future and I await the day the Odyssey is hybrid as well. Great cars, if you can keep the deer out, the rarely break down and always start. My days of using an nail file on points to get the old Opal started are long gone.

  4. I am a “Hondaphile”. I have been proud owner of a 1982 Honda Civic 4-door sedan, silver; a 1987 Honda Accord 4-door sedan, metallic blue, a 1994 Honda Accord LXi 4-door sedan, burgandy; a 2000 Honda Odyssey Van, silver (current); and a 2001 Honda Civic LX 4-door sedan, silver (Nyssa’s current). I will always have a Honda. If and when I get back to work I think a Honda Civic or Accord Hybrid is in the future and I await the day the Odyssey is hybrid as well. Great cars, if you can keep the deer out, the rarely break down and always start. My days of using an nail file on points to get the old Opal started are long gone.

  5. By the way I loved the ebay posting. And my computer had a hiccup and did this twice. Sorry.

  6. That is certainly a great price for that very retro trailer. I have never been into e-bay much.I actually would like my husband to list about 95% of his belongings on e-bay however.

  7. Thanks for stopping by. As a token of my appreciation I am prepared to offer you $4901 for dear ol’ Priscilla. I won’t hold my breath waiting for acceptance. 😉

  8. Vicki, Pricilla is beautiful and I would be proud to stay in her for a time. That ebay ad is hilarious and I bookmarked it to send to friends.

    Thanks for the comment on WV; and as to Michigan, I love Vernor’s gingerale the best and I love to hear the ya sure, you betcha on Garrison Keillor’s show sometimes. I met (when I was 16) a great guy in St. Johns, Michigan (who found me by email 3 years ago – but that’s a long, long story!) Anyway, your description is perfect.

  9. Heavenly globe!

    I’m thinking of going from methadone to Vernor’s.

  10. I am bonded with eBay, but I have never, ever read such a great item description. This guy is funny even answering the questions posted at the end. This is the second time in as many days that you made me really laugh. Thanks for that!

  11. Have you seen the cowgirl caravan? http://www.hgtv.com/hgtv/dc_design_other/article/0,1793,HGTV_3379_2472376,00.html

    This is the kind of trailer I want. But I don’t want to be a cowgirl. Think how much us blogging chicks could do if we were close enough to travel together on weekends.

    I love ebay. I have gotten the girls several beautiful old tea sets and pieces for Christmas in past years. I got the 2 youngest pc’s last year -excellent machines for kids for the low price $25. I could very easily become a junkey. LOL

    I love some of the best of ebays I have read over the years. One that still stands out for me is the guy selling his ex’s wedding dress.

Leave a Reply

