Life Cycles

Where did you come from, baby dear? Out of the everywhere into here.
Where did you get your eyes so blue? Out of the sky as I came through.

                                                                        George MacDonald

BabybedThis is the baby bed that Daniel and Abby slept in for the first months of their lives. They were certainly not the first; this sturdy walnut crib is over 150 years old. Three babies have slept here since mine and now I am bringing it out again for another new life. This baby will be most welcome: (s)he is the child of our dear friends, Chris and Juanita.

Juanita came into my life as a child patient when she was taken by child welfare services from her mother, a Native American woman with many limitations. I saw her up into her teens and when her living situation with relatives became difficult she came into foster care with me. Juanita was the babysitter of choice for Abby and Dan and they still turn to her today, especially when they have complaints about mom.

When Juanita and Chris began to date in high school I chased him away on more than one occasion. But they stuck and now, after eight years of marriage, they are having their first child. Over all this time, they are a constant in our lives. When we leave they care lovingly for our animals and home and throughout the year Chris, a forestry expert, helps out with landscaping and tree care. All of life’s major milestones are marked by celebrations that include this wonderful couple.

I’m in a good space to spend time with their baby right now. I’m done with my own but still far from being a grandmother. This weekend Juanita will have one of two baby showers but I will be with my parents in the Upper Peninsula so I will miss it. The next one is scheduled for October 9th- and I am scheduled to be in Florida with Abigail. We’ve both been disappointed about this bad timing so yesterday I called Northworst and changed my flight so I’ll scoot into town moments before the shower begins. I think I’ll keep that to myself so unless Juanita lurks here she’ll be surprised.

The quilt in the bed is the one my mother made for Daniel. She made one for Abby as well and gave them to me as gifts at my baby showers. Each square was designed with her grandchild in mind and some of the themes have been constants in their lives. The bed will be loaned and the quilts will stay here but over this long weekend I’ll be knitting away, trying to finish the blanket and sweater for this new baby, who is scheduled to arrive on my birthday!
(submitted for Thursday Challenge : furniture)

19 responses to “Life Cycles

  1. I love having family heirlooms that are used for generations. Congrats! That babe will be lucky to have you!

  2. When is your birthday?

  3. When is your birthday?

  4. Lovely piece! The crib is pretty, too.

  5. I want to be Juanita now!! Beautiful. I love handmade quilts. My daughters each have one.

  6. I want to be Juanita now!! Beautiful. I love handmade quilts. My daughters each have one.

  7. Raehan, you are so funny and sweet.

    Vicki, I love the people in your life.

  8. What a nice baby bed that is. Juanita is lucky to have you for a friend and mentor.

  9. What a nice baby bed that is. Juanita is lucky to have you for a friend and mentor.

  10. What a wonderful crib and a very lucky baby to continue such a tradition. I love homemade quilts and afghans. While I sew, and smock, I don’t knit or crochet but my grandmother did. I have several quilts and afghans that she made and these are some of my most prized possessions. If we ever have to evacuate from a hurricane here in Va. Bch. I will most certainly take them with us.

  11. What a lovely crib, and a wonderful story. I would love to see Juanita’s face when you arrive at the shower.

  12. few things in life are as unequivocably wonderful as babies- yours, mine, and those belonging to the people we love. surprsing mothers to be is one of life’s true unspoiled joys. (i got to photograph the birth of one our babysitter’s children this year- a memory i will always cherish.) best wishes all around!

  13. Don’t forget that on your next birthday, you turn 30. After that, all the birthdays are not birthdays. They are milestones. And you can go backwards.

    Neat to read about your swell pals. You live a loving life.

  14. Few things have the history that a baby’s crib does. Bravo to you for handing it down yet again. Many people would have kept it “in the family.”

    RCS

  15. So long without a post…hope you aren’t too depressed over the U of M loss to Wisconsin. We Spartans are savoring our stomping of the Fighting Illini!

  16. Some of us — not everybody, but some of us — can accept 14 Bps. So, if you get a chance….

    Hug/pats,
    Hoss

  17. Some of us — not everybody, but some of us — can accept 14 Bps. So, if you get a chance….

    Hug/pats,
    Hoss

  18. But TD’s school University of South Florida beat a top ten school in Louisville.

Leave a Reply

