Idle Hands

Sometime during my last appointment of the day I tipped over the 25,000 mark on my site meter. Sept. 11, purely by coincidence, will be the 6 month anniversary of this blog. That means that 136 and a half people a day come waltzing by here. How silly is that? And I would like that half-a-folk to stop lurking and say something, now!

The members of BCMA are regular readers but they tend to send their comments to me directly rather than post them. Don’t ask me why. It’s not like these ladies are shy. Toni, out in Napa, was up early today I’ll tell you, because my remarks about her poker skills did not go unnoticed. She wrote: Not true, not, not, not!  I remember one night I won some tomato stuff for my expert playing!
Did I mention that, although we play with clay chips we have prizes every few hands? The game is generally Texas Hold ‘Em and canned tomatoes, in some form, are usually the prize. The hot sauce is a big hit. Also, we have chocolate covered macadamia nuts for big winners.

Toni has been having a hard time meeting people and making friends since moving to California. This is clearly the fault of California people because she’s incredibly smart, nice and fun. We took a great road trip a few years back in her BMW Rooster- that’s what we called the Roadster. We drove around rural Northern Michigan with the top down on the the convertible, played REALLY LOUD Laurie Anderson music and stopped at township halls to play Bingo. We even bought our own markers. We played Bingo the way Toni plays poker but the most fun was causing a ruckus in the hen house since, at 50-ish, we were about 25 years younger than the rest of the chicks.  We got a lot of good attention from their guys. They were falling all over themselves to help us learn the ropes, refill our punch glasses (not necessary since we brought our own "punch") and bring us egg salad sandwiches. If looks could kill, Toni and I would have been dead ducks fifteen minutes in, what with the death stares coming our way from the women folk.

Anyway, Toni is a great friend and we miss her. Here in Ann Arbor she had more friends than she knew what to do with. So I think the people in Napa must have neighborly problems. At first Toni called to say how lonely she was and then one week she called to announce that she had two new friends- the gardener who didn’t speak English and her hair dresser. Then she met a neighbor but a few days later he died. And the hair dresser left the salon to go back to school. Bob keeps her good company; he adores her and follows after her pretty close. Bob is a retired obstetrician and former director of U-M Women’s Hospital. He’s Japanese-American and spent his toddler years in an internment camp. Don’t get me started on that screw job. Years later the Quakers helped fund higher education for these Japanese-Americans and Bob went off to, hmm, I think Temple University and then ended up here at U-M. Being Japanese helps him in poker; he doesn’t show much about what he’s holding.

The rest of Toni’s e-mail this morning reads: I am off to my first Welcome Wagon
"newcomers" meeting at the clubhouse of the Napa Trailer Park.  The location alone is worth the trip.  I’ll report for the bookclub.  By the way, I’ve decided to be the BCMA roving reporter.  I did go to the first neighborhood party on Labor Day.  I don’t know if I had fun or not.  I drank so much wine to fortify myself before going that I have little memory of the party ,much less any people I met.  So much for first impressions.

So if you live in Napa and you’re one of the people- or even the half person- who comes by here every day- drop me a line and I’ll hook you up with Toni. Because
a) despite what you might think from this post, she’s not a lush. In fact, she rarely drinks or at least she didn’t all the years I knew her here in Michigan, and
b) she’s the cat’s pajamas. No kidding. Hi, Toni!

5 responses to “Idle Hands

  1. Help! Help! I can’t find the “group”. Is there a special place to meet? Let me know.

    So much has been going on. Nyssa called me and said she loves it still, but it feels like it has been longer than three weeks now. Much has gone on for her with her friends in MS and one who went to Tulane. I do find that in the first two weeks away she called multiple times, at least once a day, most days more often. Now, it’s down to once every three or four days, usually when she wants something. First it was the “left behind” brown top and now its her scientific calculator. Things will even out. I may have been “discharged” as healed from this but have many other issues too. So count me in. But, I don’t know how to play poker and I am a terrible liar. (have never been able to do it well)

  2. Help! Help! I can’t find the “group”. Is there a special place to meet? Let me know.

    So much has been going on. Nyssa called me and said she loves it still, but it feels like it has been longer than three weeks now. Much has gone on for her with her friends in MS and one who went to Tulane. I do find that in the first two weeks away she called multiple times, at least once a day, most days more often. Now, it’s down to once every three or four days, usually when she wants something. First it was the “left behind” brown top and now its her scientific calculator. Things will even out. I may have been “discharged” as healed from this but have many other issues too. So count me in. But, I don’t know how to play poker and I am a terrible liar. (have never been able to do it well)

  3. Toni would be a great friend of mine if she would just move to Washington. It is difficult to make new friends in middle-age. I don’t know why; it should be easier, not harder!

  4. Well I’m not in Napa, but if she needs someone to talk to, I’m near enough to tell her she’ll grow to love it here. You can e-mail me.

  5. You know that I wish I could join you… even if few (if any) of the evacuees are court-appointed…

Leave a Reply

