That darn Vargas girl, that foolish smirk

This is only the second posting here at OutsideIn that you’ll find under the Ranting category because there are lots of other folks in the blog neighborhood who are more savvy, more charged up and do it so much better than I do. But here are a couple things I would like to get off my chest:

1- If I have to see that Elizabeth Vargas on ABC standing there with her hip slung out in front of a demolished million dollar home say, just one more time, “It looks like a Third World Country here” I think I’ll throw something. Right after she says that they flip to canned footage of the Convention Center or people comatose on a curb in downtown New Orleans. So first of all, she’s not going to go stand there– she’s staying on the social high ground in front of a home insured by State Farm. A01hp43c_4To add insult to injury, she says it as though she just can’t fathom- and neither can we- that here, in America, there could possibly be something resembling how half the world lives. As though all these impoverished, angry, hungry people just materialized out of the twilight zone. As though they haven’t been here all along. As though they don’t live life, prior to Katrina, on a day-to-day basis with no long view of the future. (And if you realize that this is how some of America lives then you understand why a fifteen year old youth could be thinking that, 3 or 4 days from now, it might be cool to have that X-Box that’s there for the taking. Why he might not be considering the implications of being homeless for the foreseeable future.) And just the way she says, with haughty distaste, “third world country.” GRRRRR. Personally, I think she’s setting her hot hips up for some bad karma in the next go-around.

2. I finally realized today why I dislike George W. Bush. (stop laughing) I mean REALLY dislike him. Why I have a visceral reaction, a churning in my gut, when I see him speak. I realized it on a day when I was thinking a lot about Bill in Iraq and a lot about the misery and loss suffered by the people of the Gulf Coast.
I watched him standing there, next to his father and Clinton, as the three of them were talking about aid to Katrina victims. And I realized it’s not about his politics. It’s about who he is at heart. He has not one single iota of empathy or compassion.10947790 I have never once sensed that this man has the capacity to relate to the suffering of others. I have never seen him utter a single sentence that would lead me to think he can relate to the hardship of our military personnel, to the pain of the Iraqi people or to the anguish of the citizens of New Orleans. The man cannot speak without smirking that anxious smile and I might even forgive him that if I felt that he had some condolence, some commiseration, some vague understanding of the suffering of others. Personally, I think that smirk is gonna get him some bum mojo the next time around.

(p.s., after CNN news: If the day ever comes that I’m homeless,
without food or water, unsure of where my family is- please help me. If
George W Bush shows up, puts his arm around me and kisses my forehead-
please- just shoot me.)

15 responses to “That darn Vargas girl, that foolish smirk

  1. My one-time boss, Oregon Governor Tom McCall said, “You know what’s wrong with Nixon? He grew up poor, and he never got over it. So he has to have and have.”

    This was before “the downfall.” McCall was pretty astute. I’ll bet he would have been able to pigeonhole Dubya, too.

  2. I must have missed Karma and Mojo in my Lutheran confirmation class. Are they part of the Augsburg Confession?

  3. There is such an odd, unmistakable racial/class undertone to the whole thing.

  4. You have nailed him completly, Vicki, and do I ever agree!

    Weren’t the zip lines fun? I really do wish I could do that everyday of my life! And I am sorry I cannot find the photos to prove I actually did it!

  5. If you’ve ever had the misfortune of knowing a smug, smarmy frat boy who had everything handed to him, who looked down on those who actually had to work for something as somehow “inferior”, who dismisses anyone whose “different” (i.e. rich & white) with a cruel sneer, who is mean and uncaring and arrogant – you’ve known Dubya.

  6. Vicki you made me laugh with this one. Your last line was priceless.

  7. I feel much less like the lone ranger after reading this Vicki! I’ve had my hands spatted for my rants of the last couple of days. “Be a nice little girl and keep your trap shut” etc.

    Love the shirt you gave Hossie! I’m gonna send him a UT orange one.

  8. I feel much less like the lone ranger after reading this Vicki! I’ve had my hands spatted for my rants of the last couple of days. “Be a nice little girl and keep your trap shut” etc.

    Love the shirt you gave Hossie! I’m gonna send him a UT orange one.

  9. Tell me it isn’t true. Please. I am so glad I don’t have a television. I think I would have put a chair through it over that one. And now that I’ve read this post, I guess I understand why I’ve always dispised him, too. Thank you. I’ve never known any of those … *what Jim said* … before. So I’m relieved to have the answer and now I get it.

  10. I can’t comment because I fear they will come and find me. šŸ™‚

  11. I will have to just disagree.

  12. I agree 100%. Duhbya is the worst thing to happen to the USA since Vietnam.

    RCS

  13. “*what Jim said*”

    šŸ˜€

    I can’t tell you what an honor that is!!!

    As for Hoss’s comment, I also recall Harry S. Truman saying, in regards to Nixon, “I just can’t trust that shifty-eyed son of a bitch.” Likewise, I think he’d say the same thing about Dubya.

    I’m also reminded of words by the late, great Hunter S. Thompson:
    “Let’s face it- the yo-yo president of the U.S.A. knows nothing. He is a dunce. He does what he is told to do- says what he is told to say- poses the way he is told to pose. He is a Fool.

    This is never an easy thing for the voters of this country to accept.

    No. Nonsense. The president cannot be a Fool. Not at this moment in time- when the last living vestiges of the American Dream are on the line. This is not the time to have a bogus rich kid in charge of the White House.

    Which is, after all, our house. That is our headquarters- it is where the heart of America lives. So if the president lies and acts giddy about other people’s lives- if he wantonly and stupidly endorses mass murder as a logical plan to make sure we are still Number One- he is a Jackass by definition- a loud and meaningless animal with no functional intelligence and no balls.

    To say that this goofy child president is looking more and more like Richard Nixon in the summer of 1974 would be a flagrant insult to Nixon.

    Whoops! Did I say that? Is it even vaguely possible that some New Age Republican whore-beast of a false president could actually make Richard Nixon look like a Liberal?”
    ————
    “We have become a Nazi monster in the eyes of the whole world- a nation of bullies and bastards who would rather kill than live peacefully. We are not just Whores for power and oil, but killer whores with hate and fear in our hearts. We are human scum, and that is how history will judge us…. No redeeming social value. Just whores. Get out of our way, or we’ll kill you.

    Well, shit on that dumbness. George W. Bush does not speak for me or my son or my mother or my friends or the people I respect in this world. We didn’t vote for these cheap, greedy little killers who speak for America today- and we will not vote for them again in 2002. Or 2004. Or ever.

    Who does vote for these dishonest shitheads? Who among us can be happy and proud of having all this innocent blood on our hands? Who are these swine? These flag-sucking half-wits who get fleeced and fooled by stupid little rich kids like George Bush?”

    As HST used to say, “Maholo.”

  14. Just shoot me too. However, he won’t be kissing my forehead unless he’s accused of ignoring brown-haired Italian women.

    Sorry it’s taken me awhile to get here…I’m blind with rage and just feeling my way around the blogosphere. One of the MOST BRILLIANT THINGS I have read is this: http://12thharmonic.com/wordpress/index.php/2005/09/07/americas-battered-wife-syndrome/#comment

    Read it and pass it on. I want something BIG to happen. I want him impeached, and then tried for the deaths of these thousands of people. Just like Saddam.

  15. Just shoot me too. However, he won’t be kissing my forehead unless he’s accused of ignoring brown-haired Italian women.

    Sorry it’s taken me awhile to get here…I’m blind with rage and just feeling my way around the blogosphere. One of the MOST BRILLIANT THINGS I have read is this: http://12thharmonic.com/wordpress/index.php/2005/09/07/americas-battered-wife-syndrome/#comment

    Read it and pass it on. I want something BIG to happen. I want him impeached, and then tried for the deaths of these thousands of people. Just like Saddam.

Leave a Reply

