Life in Contrast

We’re getting a much needed gentle but steady rain here in southeastern Michigan- the fringe edge of a storm that has devasted whole States and destroyed so many lives. The images are unbelieveable. I’m on our local Red Cross Disaster Response team and today I’ll attend a meeting to find out what our community will do to respond to Katrina.

Also, in the past few days, Bill  has been sending photos from Iraq where he manages logistics for the 322d Civil Affairs Brigade. I’m going to post some of those here today- you’ll need to click to enlarge because I’m hogging way too much bandwidth- but they give a glimpse of a place that it is so foriegn and far away from most of us. I’m struck by the wealth and beauty of the Al Faw Palace and by contrast, the day-to-day life and hardship of our service people.

Tomorrow, I’ll write a bit more and it will be another SAY HI TO BILL and THE 322D CIVIL AFFAIRS BRIGADE! day  so be sure to come back then with your greetings and good wishes.Al_faw_lights_from_above_2Al_faw_stair_lightingAl_faw_palaceAnother_heroFt_bragg_lodgingCsd_prepares_for_missionChow_timeCamp_slayer_pool_2

15 responses to “Life in Contrast

  1. Katrina has left a city in ruins! I should have known that you would be affiliated with the Red Cross, Vicki!

    The opulence of that palace! An unknown act of military bravery is the eating of that meal. I’ll be back tomorrow to send best regards and appreciation to Bill and his brigade!

  2. Thanks, as always, for your good work, V.

    The redesign is great. It’s much easier to read.

    Sending prayers and thoughts to those in Iraq and on our Gulf coast.

  3. Thanks for coming by, AF and Bonnie! My good work didn’t extend to spelling- I just re-read this post, now that my eyes are open, and found three glaring errors, which stand corrected.
    As friends, you’re supposed to point out when I’m dragging TP on my shoe…

  4. Boy you sure keep busy. Red Cross has never been more needed, domestically, it seems to me. Good luck, kid.

  5. Now, if the food could only rival the accomodations…

  6. Dang…nice palace, huh? I’m looking around for a medical team to sign on with for Katrina relief. Good for you and the RC!

  7. I had a similar thought to bonnie when I saw the meal, ha! Can’t wait for tomorrow. My sorority and Circle K (kiwanis) are having an early meeting to see what we could contribute to the survivors, as we have strong ties with our counterparts south of the border. They need all the help they can get.

  8. that place is beautiful. Let me know if our Red Cross is taking non perishable donations. I try to do what I can.

  9. that place is beautiful. Let me know if our Red Cross is taking non perishable donations. I try to do what I can.

  10. Oops, I added my message to the old ones; I’ll be back tomorrow for sure!

  11. Love your new look! I haven’t been by for a while..crazy busy as you saw…thanks for the breathing tip…it definitely worked. Sounds silly, but I do forget to breathe sometimes. Hello to Bill…be back to read more.

  12. Love your new look! I haven’t been by for a while..crazy busy as you saw…thanks for the breathing tip…it definitely worked. Sounds silly, but I do forget to breathe sometimes. Hello to Bill…be back to read more.

  13. I can’t wait to say “hi!” – and to send another box of disks to you, if you want.

  14. How wonderful that you work with the Red Cross! They are sorely needed all over the world these days. I am impressed with how much of the money donated goes directly to the cause. Great photos of the palace.

  15. Do you have a list of DVDs that you already sent to Iraq? I was planning on heading over to Blockbuster and purchasing some of their used DVDs to send over but I didn’t want to duplicate what had already been sent. Let me know.

Leave a Reply

