There’s a giant otter on my header

(There WAS a giant otter on my header. This photo was taking up the entire page of my site and scaring people, even though she’s quite lovely in proper perspective. I’m messing with my design today; if you’re here in the next five minutes its "Maize N Blue" but that won’t last. that’s just to get Bonnie’s  MSU goat. )Otter

I do not know how she got there. I mean, I must have done it in the process of trying to spiff up my blog. I knew it was a mistake to enter the "template zone." I took this picture in San Diego two years ago and it’s one of my favorites but I certainly didn’t mean for her to take over my whole page. I was just trying to get her somewhere on the top of the page along with the name of this place. Now it looks like you’ve reached
Invasion of the Otters.

I wish I knew someone who could tweak my Typepad site in exchange for, say, some handknit socks or a scarf or a hat. I do good work. Just not on web design. Genuine was going to take a stab at it but he wanted to make me a super heroine and I don’t have the mammaries for that. Besides, he’s been whining for a week about his blog being messed up. Jen was looking at it but Typepad is sort of a mystery to non-Typepad people and she’s swamped with work, droids darling boys and B4Baby. SRP has a beautiful page but she uses eBLogger and I’m not switching now unless I can move the entire contents of OutsideIn.

Any volunteers? I’m going for a simple but visually pleasing nature theme. Possibly incorporating guilt free taxidermy and psychotherapy.

18 responses to “There’s a giant otter on my header

  1. I love the otter. It’s a statement about the beauty of nature as a refuge from man’s inhumanity to man … or … something.

  2. I was going to say, NICE OTTER, only I couldnt tell it was an otter because I couldnt scroll right to see its face… but it was brown with whiskers so I really was going to say NICE BROWN THING WITH WHISKERS, and I hope it goes away because it scares me.

  3. I think all you need to do is resize the image, which I’d be glad to do for you. Just drop me an e-mail.

  4. Why do you think I went with Blogger? I know nothing about web design. I do autopsies for crying out loud. 🙂

    I agree with sp00kalot, it scares me. It took forever to load on our spastic dsl and then, I thought it was Tom Cruise attacking your website with all the wild eyed hairy stuff going on.

    I generally have fond feeling for otters but this one is sooooooooooooooo big. Maybe Hoss could include it in his book or write a screenplay..”The Attack of the 50 Foot Otter.”

  5. Maybe you could get a picture of your lily pond with the gorgeous flowers…not close up but with all the surrounding foliage…that would be soothing.

  6. Was going to offer to resize it…but Shylah is way, way, a better choice.

    Good luck!

  7. I can’t help you but that otter on your head is pretty cool! It certainly surprised me.

  8. I think if you whack the fanbuckle, gringe the knobfally and hacklebuck the rinseth you’ll be fine. If that doesn’t work….well, hell, it’s GOT to work. It always does for me.

    (P.S. Looking right pretty, Vickster.)

  9. May I make a suggestion? Don’t follow Hoss’s advice ;0) Your back to normal now I see…I like playing too…someday I’ll figure out how to do this myself!!

  10. May I make a suggestion? Don’t follow Hoss’s advice ;0) Your back to normal now I see…I like playing too…someday I’ll figure out how to do this myself!!

  11. It took all the courage I could muster this morning to cautiously take another peek here after I stopped by here last night and was sent fleeing by the gigantious otter (course, I had *no idea* WTH that thing was until now).

    Sorry I can’t offer any assistance with this one. I am severly technologically challenged.

  12. Whew! I thought it was supposed to make some profound statement or be analogous to the state of the world–and I didn’t get it! You’re not thinking of (GULP) stuffing that adorable creature are you, Vicki?!

  13. Friday Ark

    Cats, Dogs, Spiders and ? every Friday. We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, bee…

  14. Friday Ark

    Cats, Dogs, Spiders and ? every Friday. We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, bee…

  15. Friday Ark

    Cats, Dogs, Spiders and ? every Friday. We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, bee…

  16. Friday Ark

    Cats, Dogs, Spiders and ? every Friday. We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, bee…

  17. Friday Ark

    Cats, Dogs, Spiders and ? every Friday. We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, bee…

  18. How can you resist a face like that???

Leave a Reply

