Just Spit the Feathers Out…

There’s a big ruckus going on out in the oak tree in the front yard of the Florida house. As some of you know we have a Coopers Hawk and his missus nesting out there and right now they have two little hawksters. These are beautiful raptors. Messy, too. The area under their nest looks like some kind of birdie snuff film in production. Right at the moment there are a couple of blue jays squawking and screaming and the hawk is shrieking. FG just asked me how often I thought the hawks had blue jay for lunch and I said, “As often as possible.” Ah, mother nature!
Cooperhawk

Last night FG and I went on a date. That’s where you actually get tidied up and go to a movie and dinner. Hold hands. Make out a little in the theater. Walk with your arms around each other. What a concept! We saw Batman Begins. Good stupid fun movie after a slow start. I’m a sucker for special effects. That’s probably one of the reasons I like weather so much. BIG weather is like really good special effects, only real.

Speaking of Mother Nature, here are a couple of photos where it actually looks like I know what I’m doing with my camera. Jordan, our neighbor across the street,who looks out for the house in our absence,has one of my favorite kinds of gardens. The maintenance free kind. It’s just interesting wild flowers run amok. The only intention behind it was to encourage butterflies so most of the stuff growing over there does just that and they come in great numbers.
Butterfly3
Butterfly2Butterfly1

17 responses to “Just Spit the Feathers Out…

  1. My jaw was on the floor!! What wonderful pictures – and a raptor in your yard – lucky you.

  2. Oh , and DATES are GOOD – don’t ever stop!

  3. Beautiful photos, Vicki!

  4. I had a nature show at my office today, too. A pair of Orchard Orioles (My gosh, how beautiful they are) had built their wonderful woven nest in a pecan limb right outside the front door. Can’t imagine why so close to people! Little baby fledged this morning. From the nest limb, to the boxwood outside my window (I watched and have a photo) into a tea olive with a new mockingbird family. Comical but nearly tragic! Big brouhaha for a while. All is well, though, although I feel a little empty nest sadness.

  5. I know those butterflies! Those are Armenian Sapsuckers. I think. Maybe not.

    Beautiful hawk and bfly pix, Vickster. Looking forward to Oriole baby.

    There ain’t nuthin’ you can’t do if you set your mind to it, obviously.

  6. Those pictures are just beautiful! And I’m so happy you had a date!

  7. Love the butterflies.
    I presume the hawk is working on remains of the bluejay?

    Thanks for telling us about the date. This way those less fortunate can live vicariously through you. (The fun without any hassle.)

  8. Wonderful pics! I love them all.

    BTW, it is my BIL that is a weather man. My hubby works construction. 🙂

  9. Pictures are amazing, especially the raptor.

  10. OMG, you could be a professional photographer with those!! Excellent butterflies. We have a red-tailed hawk who lives in our woods. He hunts squirrels and snakes, and flies over our pool area daily, leaving a huge shadow on the deck when he passes over.

  11. You make out in a theater! That is so great. I’m just happy when we get to GO to a movie.

    The pictures are incredible!

  12. Friday Ark

    Cats, Dogs, Spiders and ? every Friday. We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals as I see them (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Leave a comment or trackback …

  13. Vicki, I’m laughing my butt off here, having just read your comment at Hoss’s today! If it’s hot and humid there, it must be the crotch of the nation – however – we are having identical weather, so the crotch has moved up a notch!

  14. Wow! Those photos are amazing! I love the butterflies! Makes me want to grow wildflowers!

  15. Oh. My. Goodness. Such glorious photos.

  16. Dating your spouse? What a novel idea!

  17. The butterflies are stunning! And I’m so jealous that you have a hawk in your yard! Very cool!!

Leave a Reply

