Un-PC Monday

My favorite docs are taking time away from true romance to get back to business as usual. They have opened the door on an old but interesting discussion: the genetics of intelligence. You should definitely go check it out.  I’m eagerly awaiting the comments on this one. Here’s a thought I have and that is there are genetics involved in much of what makes us. Certainly we are predisposed to diseases such as Tay-Sachs and Sickle Cell on the basis of the same genes that also determine our race. I’ve avoided marrying royalty solely because I don’t want a run in with Hemophilia. So, I’ll be watching this one and looking for some scientific foundation for the arguments. I’m also going to read the original article that they reference.

And just because it’s the right moment (isn’t it always?) to be un-PC, I loved this billboard (makes me want to go all Independent):Jesus_billboard_2_1                                             

Jimmy Swaggert, that televangelist we love to hate, said "When the church is strong politically, it’s weak spiritually; when it’s strong spiritually, it’s weak politically." I’m definitely thinking the same could be said for our government.

16 responses to “Un-PC Monday

  1. Boy, am I with you on the last statement!

  2. bah, blogger is down and so I can’t read their post.

    As an adopted person whose ex-husband (and father of her children) is a psychopath, I tend to be of the nurture camp…

  3. Jen- read it when you get a chance. I pretty much took the nurture versus nature argument in my comments over there.

  4. Love the billboard!

  5. The billboard made me laugh, but please do not tell your favourite docs, it will spoil my VERY PC stance with him. Just stopping by to say hello and to add you to my blogroll…shame on me for not having done that sooner.

  6. All I know is that I never went into any mazes that I didn’t want to, which makes me stronger than white rats. I hope the scientists will take this into consideration.

    (Vickster: How the heck do you post so many entries behind my back? I leave off at one, then you blast off four more: 100 Things, Golf on TV, Picnics, and PC. I need some warning, so I can get in here and keep up. Geez.

    (Thanks for the nice words. Also, you have dynamite responses to Muzik. You are truly one of the best writers on my list of FAVS.

    (Finally, you really coming to Oregon? Oregon is blessed.)

  7. Is it S,C & A? I think the link is messed up…I’ll try to go there via your blogroll.

  8. Is it S,C & A? I think the link is messed up…I’ll try to go there via your blogroll.

  9. I agree on the church thing!

  10. just read your favorite doctors– not touching it with a ten-foot pole! Too UnPC for me!

  11. Again, we dance to the same tune… my post tonight was so close to this.

    It botheres me that both parties feel the need to appeal to this… “Render unto Caesar”? What happened to that? Not to mention the real intentions of the Founding Fathers…

  12. I didn’t choose royalty for the same reason…

  13. Your favorite docs have a nice post there. Funny to see it enraged a feminist because all the data is about men.

    And the whole, Hey I’m Religious, Too, Vote For Me thing is just so sickening it’s beyond comment.

    (*)>

  14. Hey congrats on being Muzik dudes Mystery Blog! I loved your interview…I tracked back to your Un PC-Monday in today’s controversy. Have a great day Vic!

  15. Hey congrats on being Muzik dudes Mystery Blog! I loved your interview…I tracked back to your Un PC-Monday in today’s controversy. Have a great day Vic!

  16. Muzik sent me – nice blog!

Leave a Reply

