The Problem with Picnics

1. There’s never enough yolk to stuff back into the deviled eggs even after you add the mayo.
2. Men- and yes, I’m making a broad, sweeping, sexist and true generalization here- think that the tarry gunk stuck to the grill from the last 18 cookouts ADDS flavor.
3. No one likes their meat as rare as I do.

11 responses to “The Problem with Picnics

  1. You forgot to mention bugs. Bugs are a big picnic problem.

    I hate that about deviled eggs! Hate it!

  2. Rare, that I can do. Deviled eggs… not.

  3. goshdarnitalltoheckandbackagain!

    jenorama stole my comment. i was gonna say:

    4. Ants

    dang her.
    😉

  4. Kathy, you can still say “ants” since I just said, “bugs.”

  5. Wind. Picnic in Oklahoma. 35 mph wind (normal day). Plates, cups, cutlery, tablecloth….won’t stay on the table that is under seige by ants and being dive bombed by flies. Turn your back to throw water on the grill fire that is adding more “flavor” to the now burnt meat and watch the deviled eggs fly off the table, never to be seen again.

  6. That’s when we start picnic-ing inside.

  7. It WAS a beautiful weekend for a BBQ. Rare as in is your meat still mooing at you??

  8. You have enough filling if you eat two of the unfilled white halves while you’re mixing the filling, though (or throw them away when no one’s looking…)

  9. Love eggs…hate black gunky stuff on my grille and I love rare meat..if it ain’t mooin’ it’s over cooked!!

  10. Love eggs…hate black gunky stuff on my grille and I love rare meat..if it ain’t mooin’ it’s over cooked!!

  11. You got that right! I say Mad Cow be damned!

Leave a Reply

