You listen to what???

Jim  passed me a music meme that he got from Steve, who I still blame for originating the punchbowl one. I didn’t post that one except anonymously on Amy’s  blog because I work to create the illusion of sensibility in case a client happens by. My taste in music goes beyond eclectic and is highly reflective of my splintered personality which is probably how I end up on people’s blog rolls in the "Defying Category."

Right off the bat I have a problem- I have to go ask FG how to find out what the volume is- oh! there it is, right at the bottom.

1.What is the total volume of musical files on your computer?

3.79 Gigs

2. What song are you listening to right now?

Beim Schlafengehen  from Four Last Songs by Richard Strauss, sung by Kiri Te Kanawa. I audioblogged this at the bottom of the post so you can enjoy it, too. Maybe. The lyrics were written by Hermann Hesse and translate to this:

Going to Sleep
Now that day wearies me,
my yearning desire
will receive more kindly,
like a tired child, the starry night.

Hands, leave off your deeds,
mind, forget all thoughts;
all of my forces
yearn only to sink into sleep.

And my soul, unguarded,
would soar on widespread wings,
to live in night’s magical sphere
more profoundly, more variously.

3. Last CD I bought?

Blue Valentine, Tom Waits. I bought it so I could listen to him sing "Somewhere." It’s no secret I love Tom Waits. I think the lyrics to "Emotional Weather Report" are pure early genius:

late night and early morning low clouds
with a chance of fog
chance of showers into the afternoon
with variable high cloudiness
and gusty winds, gusty winds
at times around the corner of
Sunset and Alvorado
things are tough all over
when the thunder storms start
increasing over the southeast
and south central portions
of my apartment, I get upset
and a line of thunderstorms was
developing in the early morning
ahead of a slow moving coldfront
cold blooded
with tornado watches issued shortly
before noon Sunday, for the areas
including, the western region
of my mental health
and the northern portions of my
ability to deal rationally with my
disconcerted precarious emotional
situation, it’s cold out there
colder than a ticket taker’s smile
at the Ivar Theatre, on a Saturday night
flash flood watches covered the
southern portion of my disposition
there was no severe weather well
into the afternoon, except for a lone gust of
wind in the bedroom
in a high pressure zone, covering the eastern
portion of a small suburban community
with a 103 and millibar high pressure zone
and a weak pressure ridge extending from
my eyes down to my cheeks cause since
you left me baby
and put the vice grips on my mental health
well the extended outlook for an
indefinite period of time until you
come back to me baby is high tonight
low tomorrow, and precipitation is
expected

4. Five songs you listen to a lot and which mean something to you:

Under African Skies–  Paul Simon, Graceland. Like a ‘lovely lullaby ringing round my nursery door’.

Sant Marti Del Canigo – Pau (Pablo) Casals. I love this particular piece because it is a strong and lovely demonstration of his virtuosity as a cellist.

Monkey’s Paw– Laurie Anderson. Who wouldn’t want stereo FM installed in their teeth ?

Low Symphony – Philip Glass, from the music of Brian Eno and David Bowie. Doesn’t that line-up tell you everything you need to know? These three, together.

A Long Time Ago – David Byrne. Loved him as a Talking Head; love him more solo. 

(Disclaimer: Music is in this family. Dan composes and plays avant jazz saxophone and performs with several prominent groups and his own trio. He has asked me not to promote his CDs or performances on my blog so I respect that. My favorite music?  His, of course.)

I get to pass this on, right? It’s going to Bonnie, Jen, Hoss, S,C & A,
and Raehan . Hoss will have to get them to crank up the Victrola and Bonnie will have to reappear (we’re missing you). S,C & A will need to do the collective conscious thing, I guess, and Jen will have to stop editing for a few minutes. Raehan, I want to know more about you! Have fun.

6 responses to “You listen to what???

  1. Very nice! Yes, that Philip Glass album is exceptional (more of an Eno fan, here, than a Bowie fan… which is not to say I don’t adore Bowie!).

    I had a feeling I’d love your entries!

  2. very cool answers…your tagged for mine on Tues…10 things you’ve never done…just cause you’re lucky I guess ;0)

  3. very cool answers…your tagged for mine on Tues…10 things you’ve never done…just cause you’re lucky I guess ;0)

  4. Hi. I love Tom Waits, too. I guess I’m tagged. I’ll do this sometime this week.

  5. I’ll do it when I get home from St. Louis. I am writing from Fulcrum Monkey’s computer this morning.

    This gives me a great excuse to finally take the plunge and get an audioblog account! 🙂

    Will you email me info about some of Dan’s stuff privately? 🙂

Leave a Reply

