Some people say things better than most of us

Like my brother-in-law, Jon, who posted a thoughtful comment on Cheesehead Conservation and I think ended up likening my writing to the cliche wit of Will Rogers. If it gets to the point where I’m characterized as producing the pap of Edgar Guest (see March 13 ) just shoot me. Jon is very intelligent, unassuming and sometimes wears a long flannel nightgown with a little kid alphabet print on it. I’m trying to get a picture.

Anyway, here are three that say it so much better than I do:

The animal shall not be measured by man.  In a world older and more complete than ours, they move finished and complete, gifted with extension of the senses we have lost or never attained, living by voices we shall never hear.  They are not brethren; they are not underlings; they are other nations, caught with ourselves in the net of life and time, fellow prisoners of the splendor and travail of the earth.  ~Henry Beston, The Outermost House, 1928

Though boys throw stones at frogs in sport, the frogs do not die in sport, but in earnest.  ~Bion, "Water and Land Animals," Plutarch

Get a feel for fur:  Slam your fingers in a car door.  ~Anonymous, on the use of steel traps to capture fur-bearing animals, cited in Audubon, November 1990

2 responses to “Some people say things better than most of us

  1. OOooo I LOVE that first quote!! I am stealing it and posting it on my page.

  2. Wellll I woulddd, except blogger is not responding – AGAIN. Curse you blogger. I will not give up.

Leave a Reply

