Do You Have a Secret?

Sometimes the most banal, trite, over-used expressions still have truth and/or relevance (I do not include "It takes a heap of living to make a house a home" in this category- see March 13, entry). I’ve seen more than several recovering alcoholics in this office who go to twelve step programs where they spout bushels of that stuff and one that’s always rung true to me is "You’re only as sick as your secrets." Lots of secrets are fine to keep, no problem, like Audrey’s recipe for that chocolate foamy cake thing.  But some are not secrets you can share with anyone you actually know and so they stay stashed in a small shoebox crammed full of guilt, desperation and self-loathing in the back of your brain. I follow a blog, 1stepahead,  because even though these kids are way too young, relatively speaking (Starter People), I enjoy their humor, insight, comments and out-of-focus cat pictures. Today they post a link to PostSecrets . If you have a few minutes click and have a glimpse at the (secret- yours and mine) human condition. Verrrry interesting.

2 responses to “Do You Have a Secret?

  1. Everyone has secrets and if it’s not of the chocolate cake recipe variety, they are a good measure of our individual sick barometers. I’m thankful for Vicki (she’s heard most of them),my two best friends, Peggy & Laurie, and the BCMA ladies who all laugh (with me) at my ‘stuff’ that ‘could’ be secrets. Thanks to all.
    ‘nuf said.
    Kristen

  2. I don’t know the answer to why your comments post twice- maybe because they are so nice that the department of redundancy department at TypePad thinks that’s appropriate. I will ask that smart young blogger, arron, what might be done about that. In the meantime, be careful- I might do a post on your visit to the doctor in Germany…

Leave a Reply

